I am ready for HF26, but when?

in Ecency2 years ago

I have been a witness for over one year now. With this I have got some experience managing my server, migrating, upgrading and giving it general maintenance.

By the way, care to vote for me? Click here and vote me for witness on HiveSigner Or use your preferred signing tool to vote me:
https://vote.hive.uno/@igormuba

My Hive witness server is updated and ready for the Hard Fork 26, but when is it? As a witness, not even I can say.

Most of the development of Hive is, apparently, done by @blocktrades so they basically lead the development, although there are other few developers (I am willing to help if I can get some training, I looked at the code and it is not easy to get started with helping).

On their latest post, over 3 weeks ago, they have said that it would take a minimum of 2 weeks to delivery the software to witnesses (like me) and exchanges.

Personally I am ready for the upgrade, but as a witness and not a core developer (I develop Hive based apps, but not the blockchain itself) I have no idea about when the upgrade will take place.... I am in the dark trying to find information.

Let's get ready for the hardfork 26, whenever it comes.

Click here and vote me for witness on HiveSigner

Or use your preferred signing tool to vote me:


https://vote.hive.uno/@igormuba

Sort:  

Interesting that the current master branch of HiveD has not been updated for 8 months, so it is certain that there is no code inside referencing the Hard Fork. As for the most recent update on the Hardfork file of HiveD, it seems that it will take until block 100M to enable it or they are not ready yet.

I'm currently examining the files and testing a few changes by removing or replacing unix-only libraries in preprocessor conditions to make it portable to run natively on Windows or even create a graphical interface and complete installer(or linux package) for it in order to enable the common user to run their own nodes.

Also, I would like to remove a few things from HiveD that are bothering me, like the block signing attempts every fifth of a second instead of only generating the block when is the witness turn. And even after it is confirmed that it is not my turn to create a block, HiveD keeps running the loop. I know it is not a big deal as it is an almost empty loop, but I prefer to have those things working by event handling instead of trying through regular intervals over and over again. This makes sense if you are a "Top20", but for other witnesses I would prefer to work by event handling.

image.png

I am sure that block 100 million is a placeholder

Do you have your stuff open source? I could try to help on my free time, as I am trying to learn more about the protocol

Not right now as I was working with the minimal changes possible from the original code while trying different compilation approaches. Some of the changes I pushed directly to Gitlabs with all the rest of Hive code.

Also, HiveD is not compatible with IPv6 for the time being and this is another experiment I was considering to do.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @igormuba.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more