The Firewood Drama Ends

in Ecency2 years ago

Hello everyone! 😎

The heat is not letting up here. Such a drought, say the old people, they do not remember. I would like to see cooling down.

Even though my family and I were on the coast for almost a month, where I could cool off in the sea (with a cold glass of beer in my hand 🍻😎), I'd like to go there again. Unfortunately for me, that won't be possible for at least another four weeks because of my job commitments here.

Well, if I have to be at home, and even though it's quite hot, I have to finish one thing.
This is a follow on from my posts Cleaning The Orchard and Cutting Firewood and the end of the story.

Why the drama?
Well, it's more of a marketing thing. If you write drama in the title of your post, you'll definitely attract more attention than if you write the end of firewood preparation for winter or something like that :) 😁

Basically, a couple of months ago, I cut down some old trees in one of my mother's orchards, cut them to the appropriate length, and stacked them in front of the woodshed to dry.


Now everything had to be chopped up to go into her central heating stove. Yes, she has oil too, but heating oil is quite expensive these days, so firewood is a cheaper solution for heating in winter.
Well, I have electric panel heating in my flat, and electricity is even more expensive, (hopefully we won't go bankrupt because of heating in the winter that will come in a couple of months...).

I quickly set up a place for chopping firewood in the orchard next to the woodshed. It's lucky I have a wood log splitter, I can't imagine having to chop it all up with an ax :)


📷 😎 📷

There is nothing to do but roll up my sleeves and act. I'm off to a good start.


📷 😎 📷


That was enough for today.
I mustn't stay too long because this electrohydraulic machine could break down. By the way, this wood splitter is bloody heavy, I can't even move it myself, I need help to get it out of the garage and back in...

📷 😎 📷

How does it work? Here's the animation, from the phone recording. 😁


I continue the next day, in the late afternoon, when the heat has dropped a little.


Thank God, there is less and less of it.


On the other side, the stack is getting bigger.


It's slowly coming to an end. I just need to pack the firewood a little better.


As there is still some firewood left from last winter, I hope there will be enough for this winter. The firewood will continue to dry here, but if it rains (I don't think it will for a while), we'll cover it with something. Then they will go into the woodshed. I'll get my boys to do it.

Finally, the end of this drama! :) 😁

Thank you for your attention.

📷 😎 📷

Stay Healthy!
logosecko.gif
@seckorama
My NFT Showroom Gallery
Watch my 3Speak Channel
Beer Tasting
Live Music playlist
VJing playlist

Ready for Web3
hive_nft_200x200.gif

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @seckorama ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Woho you also saved a lot of money and trained your body !ALIVE

@seckorama! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @beeber. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Not really, he got a machine. 😅
!LOL

Did you hear about the cartoonist being investigated?
Police on the case say he has a sketchy past.

Credit: reddit
@beeber, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @chaosmagic23
LOLZ staking coming August 14! Please read our latest update for details on how it will impact you.
(2/10)

Yes, you're right. A bloody heavy machine! 😎

Nice, must be satisfying to watch a machine doing the work. 🤘
!ALIVE

@seckorama! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @chaosmagic23. (2/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Unfortunately, the machine itself still does nothing. You have to bring firewood and start it to cut. Then you go and get new firewood. And so on ... !BEER

Sound like an endless firewood story. 😅


Hey @chaosmagic23, here is a little bit of BEER from @seckorama for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Chopping wood... its nice to have a machine that does the cutting. I used to help my dad cut some logs back in Georgia with an axe.

At first it was fun. Kinda feels like great stress reliever and yelling "Hulk smash!"

About 15mins later it gets a bit tiring and sweat is starting to activate.

30mins... hands hurt, arms aching, and realized wow I am really out of shape. But still needed to finish what was started.

Props to you~ cause I know its really a lot of work. But pays off when its used for a good warm needed fire. :)

It's true. The axe is fun for the first few minutes, but when you have that amount of firewood, and the logs are still quite thick, I'd lose my soul. My late father bought this about 10 years ago and it still works well.

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you, @indiaunited and @bhattg! 😎👏

It's a good exercise for your body 😁

You're right. Physical work, of any kind, is always hard but also useful.

Solid work done, congrats.

ps:

Yesterday in the afternoon. Thankfully our logs were chopped already.

Good job. You still have to stack them, which also takes time. But will you have enough firewood?

It was a family effort. Six meters of piled logs stacked in good three hours.

These is some left from the winter and I'll order three meters more. It should be enough.

I don't know how big your house is or how insulated it is, but my mother lives in a quite big, older, single-story house and burns over 20 meters of firewood per winter. I'll have to cut some more or buy ...

20 meters is a lot.

A small house and an old apartment. Both are poorly insulated.

We don't need that much. The apartment is our home away from home. Thick old walls, the ceiling is too high. I was seriously thinking of lowering the ceiling with some planks and insulation on them :)

We only have one oven to heat the place so it's actually cold yet we like it this way. We are young :)

Ja, vi ste mladi :)
Jaz imam stanovanje 80m2, not panele za gretje in dve ogromni stari hiši od mojih in ženinih staršev za vzdrževat, ki pozimi porabijo ogromno drv. Edina sreča je, da imamo nekaj svojega gozda....

Ja, te ogromne stare hiše so kot da denar z lopato skoz okno mečeš.