Hive, a toxic place?

in Queer Art Café3 years ago

Today, @ecoinstant brought a live stream from @girlgonecrypto to my attention and along with it, a high level of toxicity on the Hive blockchain. It inspired me to use my voice against the likes of Bernie whose bullying ways have been impeding mass adoption from the very beginning. I refuse to live my life in fear so I will speak up against him, but more importantly about a community struggling to come to terms with the fact that they display a very real Stockholm syndrome. They have indeed fallen in love with the entity keeping them hostage.

First off, I understand that shill culture is necessary, along with the work Cryptofinally used to do for this chain but I am not a fan. I find it spammy and extremely annoying. That being said, from her Live broadcast alone, I can see that Cryptofinally is much more than that, she has incredible journalistic acumen and objectivity. She is able to compartmentalize shilling and content creation.


This is my own Live (which nobody watched but it helped to do things this way) on the drama at hand.

What I saw was an abundance of misogynistic slurs, threats and disgusting behaviour, backed by other players' silence and complacency. This is not my Hive. Let me be clear, I have no intention on leaving this platform but boy am I ever glad I don't garner a lot of attention and grateful for being a relatively content creator.

Before women obtained the vote, people would tell them that "this is the way things are" and that "nothing can be done". Well, look how history repeats itself. The internet can't possibly provide a safe space, this is just the way things are after all.

I won't get into what @justineh said on slack, I am sure she meant it to be private, but I still think she should be kinder and more polite, it doesn't seem like she thinks highly of content creators in general.

@theycallmedan , for all his big ideas on free speech, can't even take a firm stance help @cryptofinally out. I'm a bit disappointed, it's a missed opportunity in my book.

Mr. number 2 here (blocktrades) is saying that social media is not for the recipient of the Binance influencer of the year. Because CZ MUST be messing around with his accolades, of course.

The only hiver I feel comfortable naming in this piece is @lordbutterfly because he is such a wild card. I rather like his impetuous style and he can get away with more because of his social media talent.

At the end of the day, Cryptofinally is right that the community is wayyyyy small and that in 4 years, there has to be reasons why it hasn't expanded.

My dream for Hive is to have a healthy 2SLGBTQQIA+ community, left alone by detractors of the rainbow ideology, especially since this is an international platform and that we all know some queer folks could use support.

Help me make it happen, speak up for the oppressed, empower women to become rich through cryptocurrency and most of all, be pertinent! I understand that this is subjective but bullying is certainly not the way.

Did Cryptofinally deserve this wrath in some way shape or form probably, but from her exposé I only see wrongs everywhere else. And so what if she is a martyr? Shouldn't we tech people revel in negative feedback from which we can learn from and grow.

It's a sad day for Hive when a cute intelligent woman leaves us, along with @coruscate who puts a lot of effort in everything she does and brings beautiful energy wherever she goes. Good luck you two, I will miss you. You will be added to the list of people who left because of bullying along with the beautiful @veryspider without whom things have never been quiet the same.

I really believe that most of whom are embracing the toxic culture can and should do better and show more humanity and empathy. Tech and finance can become boring and all will love you as a content creator, for allowing your audience to witness vulnerability and being authentic.

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

At the time, I was dealing with personal issues, health, and the eventual death of my mom. I remember this event vaguely when it was happening. When I had time to get back to myself, I went over what was said, and many had reached out to her and told her a way to handle it. You can mute whoever you want, and downvotes are a part of Hive. Looking back, I'm sure I would have called someone out for the harsh treatment towards her, but my advice would have been the same as many that gave it to her. In the end, it seems she didnt want to take the advice, which is fair she was probably pissed. But that isn't something anyone can "fix." its a decentralized space, all we can do is use the tools like mute and move on. There is no central management to tell you anything else. And nothing anyone said would have stopped any of that from happening, the people involved will do whatever they want regardless.

And for what it is I did reach out, tried to help, it was after the fact but I did.

That is super sweet of you! Thank you for a healing reply. It's true we can only do so much with these kind of issues and I wanted to speak up but not necessarily point fingers. I can't tell you how much respect I have for you just dropping this comment! Thank you!