A New Take On One Of My Favorite Dishes // Fried Potatoes

in Inner Blocks4 years ago

You could used the word 'hooked', or maybe even 'addicted', when you try to describe my love for fried potatoes. Over the course of my life the potatoes have changed, but they have always been one of my favorite things to eat. I guess you could say that potatoes in general are one of my favorites. It could be a tie between friend potatoes and bowling alley potato wedges.

When I was younger my parents would use grease to fry the potatoes. They would probably start with frying up some bacon and then using the left over grease. It always had a very distinct taste, but it is something that I can barely remember now. The evolution of my food has been a long and radical journey. I have not eaten meat since 2011, and haven't eaten dairy for over three years. Being 100% plant based, it really effects what the dishes actually look like.

Over the last few years I have been making more food for myself. Stacie D is a very skilled cook and has taught me many things. I decided that I didn't want to eat the same old cold breakfast, so I started branching out with different hot breakfasts. It didn't take too long for the potatoes to be a staple.

The thing with the way I eat is the nutrients. I wanted to make sure that I am getting enough nutrients to really take care of my body. I know that potatoes actually pack a real wallop, but I am always looking for more. This has lead to this classic dish almost looking like Chinese food, which I also love.

I start with some oil in my 12" cast iron and begin with onions. Once I get them to start turning brown I add the potatoes. I make sure that I cut the potatoes into small enough pieces that they cook evenly and quickly. Sometimes it takes a bit to cook them so I cover the pan with a cookie sheet so it will hold the heat in.

The trick to this dish is adding in all of the left overs in the fridge. Since we eat alot of rice and beans, we often have some amazing leftovers. Maybe it is a bit of something from a dinner, or other veggies that I can find. I also go out and pick through the garden for whatever is fresh.

I have had some odd combinations over the past few weeks. I have added different peppers, different nuts, different rices, different beans, some taco filling, some solids from a soup. It always seems to come together into something that is amazing. I like to share it with the family, and we just call it Hot Breakfast.

po.jpg

If you like fried potatoes or variations of of them, let's hear about it in the comment section!

Be well
~The Yeti

Join me on Inner Blocks Discord https://discord.gg/zyqFjJ3

Sort:  

Nom nom nom.....I can still remember the mason jar attached to the bottom of the griddle to catch all the bacon grease. My mom used all that bacon grease runoff to cook most of our foods. That was so unhealthy.