Falling for #treetuesday

in Inner Blocks3 years ago

I love trees! At least, when they are standing. Not so much when they fall. And especially when they fall from my property onto a neighbor's property.

The above photo shows the tree. On the right side of the path is a mass of shrubs — roses, hydrangea, honeysuckle, yellow jessamine, etc. and the base of the tree was in the middle. On the left of the path is a hedgerow of Forsythia ("Yellow Bell") bushes that provides a privacy barrier between this property and the neighbor's property.

I'm not necessarily a good estimator of the height /length of very large things, but I would guess this tree was somewhere around 40–50 feet (12–15 metres) tall. It came down sometime overnight, and I am surprised that I did not hear it, especially since I heard the loud 'THUD!' of a large limb that fell a week ago. 😕 Perhaps the fact that it fell mostly over bushes kept it from making quite so much noise.

Because of the tall privacy bushes, I had to walk down to the road and over to the neighbor's property to survey their side of things. Thankfully, there was very little damage! Only a bit of the neighbor's fence was compromised, as well as one large storage box in their backyard seating area. I am so glad it wasn't any more than that!

The neighbor originally asked for my insurance information, but I asked if we could just handle it without the insurance company becoming involved, as my insurance costs would skyrocket, otherwise. 😬 They seemed agreeable, so I will pay, out of pocket, to have the tree removed (probably USD $150–$300), replace the storage box (USD $100), and repair the fence (not sure how much that will be, but not too much).

There was no damage on my side of the event, just the trunk of the tree blocking the path, but there are other ways around the area. The tree also served as an anchor point for the electrical line going to the outbuildings, but there's another tree nearby where I can tack the line. I am amazed that it still seems to be connected on both ends, or at least it seemed to be when I looked up. Maybe I should have gone into one of the outbuildings and tested it. Perhaps I will do that tomorrow.

The final shot shows my hand on the trunk of the tree that fell, just for size comparison. It was fairly large at the base, but tapered quite a bit over its length. The tree had died and I figured I was going to have to have it removed soon; it just wanted to be down faster than I expected. The absence of bark in the view above was caused by woodpeckers, going for ants and such on the tree, and might have led to the tree's demise. Another tree on the property had been completely stripped of bark by Pileated Woodpeckers many years ago and had to be cut down, so I think that's what happened to this one, too. I see the woodpeckers flying overhead sometimes and can hear them calling from quite a distance, as they're very loud. But I have yet to have one pose for me so I can photograph it. Perhaps someday it will happen, and hopefully before they kill another tree!

 😊


       



13-Jul-2021

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 65 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
5


Hey @thekittygirl, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

I also love trees very much Trees are very beautiful

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

The bushes must have cushioned the noise of the fall as you've said. It's great that your neighbour was willing to compromise like that. I hope everything goes smoothly.

Nature goes by it's own flow, doesn't recognize things like human timing or property lines.

it just wanted to be down faster than I expected.

I love to see you catch pictures of the woodpeckers. I remember the incessant noise of them in one place I visited in BC, along with the destruction of trees.

Looks like a lot of clean up work you have, hopefully you don't mess your pretty nails up.

It will be great if you can get a few photo's of the woodpeckers! They are very busy birds and challenging to photograph. 🐦😀