🔥 I've read the CoinGecko Quarterly Report - This is what I learnt

in HODL4 years ago (edited)

Hello!

Today I received an email from CoinGecko inviting me to download their Cryptocurrency Quaterly Report for the Q2 of 2020.

CoinGecko is one of my favorite websites to track the price of my crypto portfolio, they also showed some simpathy for our HIVE community (previously Steem).
They describe themselves as:

CoinGecko provides a fundamental analysis of the crypto market. In addition to tracking price, volume and market capitalization, CoinGecko tracks community growth, open-source code development, major events and on-chain metrics.

Last week they launched a new promotion on their website and smartphone app. If you log in daily you can collect "candies" and then redeem them for some products of their shop. I use to check it daily so it will be easy to me to accumulate those candies and receive my gift.

I encourage you to download that report, it is really easy to read and have some valuable information for crypto investors. You can find a link to the file here.

image.png

Market cap is on the rise but not the trading volume

The best slide of the report is the one that is showing an uncorrelation between the Market Capitalization (prices) and the Trading volume.
We usually think that we are on a bull market when the prices are on the rise and the trading volume rises too, and this is not the case, at least for the Q2 of 2020.

In my opinion this is another indicator that a correction is going to happen soon, I am waiting for that since May and the more resarch I am doing the more I think that it is closer.

It is really late and I am going to end here, you can also see the slide that summarizes this below:

image.png

Enjoy! 😊

hive hive.jpg


Follow me on Twitter

Sort:  

It is obvious that spot trading is not trending anymore, all traders are on futures

Last quarter (Q1) they were on futures too, no?

Binance has increased the number of future pairs available, 3 months ago there were only 6 pairs or so, now we have more than 20.

Interesting info! Thanks.

Shared on twitter #posh: