February BlockFi Rewards Are In

in HODL3 years ago

bitcoin.JPG

A couple of things before I keep going here:

  • My 2021 cryptocurrency strategy is to dollar cost average each week in three crypto assets
  • The coins are Bitcoin, Ethereum, and Litecoin
  • I stack these purchases on Blockfi to generate passive income
  • I'm not a financial advisor...therefore I have no idea what I'm talking about

After doing some research on Blockfi, I finally decided to open an account on January 1 to earn some passive returns on my three crypto assets. I know, I know...it's not FDIC insured, and you aren't in control of your keys. It's also not decentralized. Listen, I know the risks; but at the same time, I'm also making an aggressive move to get more passive income in 2021, so I decided to take a chance and use the Blockfi service to generate more crypto. The rates I'm currently getting are as follows :

  • Bitcoin - 6% interest income paid out in Bitcoin
  • Ethereum - 5.25% interest income paid out in Ethereum (starting in February)
  • Litecoin - 6.50% interest income paid out in Litecoin

I know it's not some crazy staking rewards on the hottest new coin on Binance or Kucoin, but I'm trying to keep life simple this year. I also know this strategy isn't timing anything; that's ok too, because I suck at timing markets. I always have, and I always will...so why fight it?

With that said, my updated 2021 dollar cost averaging strategy has gotten me to the following unrealized gains/losses on must my purchases alone:

SnipImage.JPG

SnipImage.JPG

SnipImage.JPG

No real surprise my Litecoin is currently sucking it up.

Yet to be honest, I'm not selling any of these positions, and more importantly, I'm getting dividends/interest payments back to me by keeping these positions on Blockfi.

image.png

Adjusted for the USD, at current market rates for BTC, ETH, and LTC, I'm getting a 7.28 % passive income on my USD investment for BTC, 2.31% for ETH, and 1.78 % for LTC. All of these are better than what I'm currently getting at my local credit union. All of this now puts me at a roughly $.46 / day interest income rate. Again, it's not like I'm staking my cash into some insane DEFI project; I'm just not nimble enough for that type of investment currently. Instead, I'm focusing on the long game. More importantly, I believe that BTC, ETH and LTC will still appreciate vs the USD over the next few years, and with it, my Blockfi investment.

What do you think? Am I making a mistake? Should I be putting all of this money on something else? Is Blockfi a concern to others? Or are others using the service? Let me know below!

Sort:  

Not your keys is the biggest scare for me. As well as...

Your biggest gain is BTC at 7%, the others, to me anyway, are negligible for the risk. Maybe depends on how much you have staked as well...

I’ve leased 10K HP to @leofinance and I’m getting about 1-2 LEO a day. Which at current rate is like $1.20....and I still “own” my Hive.

If you’re bullish on Hive and in turn, LEO, then it’s a no brainer. Stack your HP and rake in LEO.

But that’s just me...

yeah i'm all about Hive for sure; Leo muted me a bit ago as I posted a comic book / art work spec piece, so I've avoided the centralized motif of that (just being a baby, I guess)

I do like lots of other staking gcoins too, but I wanted to be lazy this year and focus on the big three (ish). I'd like to start adding cardano to the mix too...but man. so many damn, good projects. I need more money to spread around!