Walking, Breathing, Feeling, Living

in Reflections11 months ago (edited)

image.png

I walk a lot. When I was a kid, I was forced to do so in order to get to school, because there was no public transportation to and from my house, so it was about two kilometers up steep streets first thing in the morning, then the same downstream to get back home. Sometimes it could be double that if I had to get to the nearest subway station and couldn't wait for the bus. It wasn't particularly fun back then, just an unavoidable fact of life. Still, I developed a habit of walking everywhere if I could, realizing that it was the best way to get to know whole areas in the city. Since I've never owned a car or even know how to drive (yet), I often have a hard time remembering directions when I'm riding one, so I prefer to use my feet. Muscle memory for the win!

The necessity to walk in order to get to certain places on time remained for many years. My pace was often rushed and I didn't have a habit of taking in the landscapes or the events around me. Like most other city dwellers, I lived in the paradox of being oblivious to the places I walked through and stressed out because I might get robbed. I walked so fast, never considering how exhausting it was for me, how much I was missing in my surroundings. My physical condition wasn't great back then, I got easily tired, didn't drink enough water, had poor flexibility, reflexes and strength. It was around my mid twenties that these things started to change, my social life was much better and I frequently spent a lot of time with friends, visiting places and talking. I was still mostly blind to the areas I passed through, but at least I enjoyed myself better. I also got my DSLR camera and took it with me sometimes, carefully and sometimes apprehensively, to take pictures of certain places, mostly indoors.


image.png

image.png


The true shift, however, took place when I got to my 30s. I began working from home, so I could decide when to go out and for how long. I finally discovered the real pleasure of walking, admiring buildings, trees, the flow of people, the scenes my eyes picked up in public areas, the activity. During those days, my social life had declined somewhat and the city was emptying out due to the exodus of people chased away by the country's situation, so the nights were sadly forbidden and I was restricted to daylight, but my physical condition improved and I started feeling personally better than ever, as this also coincided with the beginning of my spiritual process. Walking gained a different dimension with that added information, too. Every step on a street or a park was also another step in my journey of self-discovery; new wonders surfaced and the magic of each day increased. In time, I planned long walks such as pilgrimages through the city's churches during Holy Week for specific purposes, challenges to reach faraway locations in parts of the city that I don't normally visit and, most recently, tours through certain areas where I leave my carved stones for posterity.


image.png

image.png


Most people are somewhat aware that physical activity is great for the mind and the emotions, even if the majority of us disregard it out of laziness or any other reason that we can think of. Taking long walks is one of the easiest ways to keep ourselves fit and in good connection with our breathing, particularly if we do them slowly, with a focus on the trip rather than to get to a destination quickly. A stressful situation at home or at work? Take a walk at any hour, buy some ice cream or a cold drink, sit in a coffee shop for a few minutes, observe the people, the buildings or read a book. A difficult emotional context? Jog for a while, let the sweat burn up some of the anxiety, strive to remain open for the opportunities that may arise along the way. Any given moment can surprise us with the blissful smile of a stranger, the jolly sound of music pouring out of a window, the smell of flowers and trees in a square, the fluttering and singing of birds up above, the accomplishment of urbanism and architecture as testaments of human creativity. Even memories coming unbidden when we cross a street or sit on a bench are worth cherishing.

Life isn't a race, if it feels that way, we're probably doing something we shouldn't be doing, or forcing stuff too much. A good walk is a reflection of a good life where keen intellects, high curiosity and deep emotions can find more and more reasons to appreciate existence in all its forms and colors. And if perchance we can't physically walk, we can still roam with our minds through the endless worlds we have within, enriching our spirits in the exploration of our philosophies and beliefs.

With every beat, a step; with every step, a breath; with every breath the awareness that we're alive and, as long as we are, we can embrace the joy that this world has to offer.


IMG_20230526_120622.jpg

Rune of the day: Ehwaz

Do not stress overmuch if the process does not seem to advance, the solution may require merely a simple change in position; a small maladjusted piece can cause great dysfunctions in the system. Regulate your speed or you may leave behind the turn that you must make without realizing it, the rush reduces your attention. If a door opens before you inviting you to enter, do not refuse it, take some time to rest and recover your strength before getting back on the road. Tend to your muscles and joints, improve the circulation of air and blood through your body, do not make excessive effort, beware of possible injuries; if you can sustain the march for longer, you will cover a greater distance even if you go slow. Remember, the idea is to reach your destination, you do not have to compete with anyone.

Sort:  

Have you ever read Zen and the Art of Walking?

No. Who's the author?

I can't find the book
Probably left it in my house that I sold, two years ago
and when googling, it seems like the title is slightly different, so I can't find it.

It basically talks about famous people/ deep thinkers, who used to go on daily ( long ) walks. and about their walks

With a destination 2 hours into the mountains with only a few hours of daylight left, my walk the other day wasn’t exactly what I’d call relaxed but I found the experience really enlightening.

I realized what life is like without our technology and social structures. It’s actually quiet terrifying. I never have to think about getting somewhere before sunset or what to carry because in the city there are convenience stores everywhere and in my hometown I use a car to get everywhere.

I realized that I had no knowledge whatsoever about what the actual dangers were and their probability. I only knew bears and boars exist and have seen videos before. So I had lots of questions when I met the people I met. I didn’t realize you are supposed to make more noise to keep them away, I thought noise would peak their curiosity but even bears are scared of the unknown (and that fact is a whole other thread to untangle!)

Interesting realizations. What about the beauty and the enjoyment, though? Surely there's more than terror and danger.