What's in a Tree

in Picture A Day4 years ago

August 1st, 2020

Fallen, but Surviving in the Mind

It's an odd picture, lots of pictures are odd. The value of the image is what the view finds.

Is it Still Alive

To many the Photo title Is it Still Alive would be answered no. It is now just a piece of driftwood on a hillock. When I look at it I see the struggle to survive its death. I see it transformed into a creature crawling to try and restart its life.

Yes it is just a drift log that washed up on the beach, that a wave sent part way up a small hill where it came to rest. In my minds eye I see a lot more. I hope you enjoyed my picture.


Tiny Picture links back to my blog:

Sort:  

I have to wonder what river it washed down, and how long ago. Was it a victim of a flood, or did it just one day fall in the river due to steady erosion?

It's a good picture, and if you look at it right, it provokes thought. Which makes it a great picture.

There are a few rivers north that dump into the inlet, but also rivers on the other side, and to the south. the tide is pretty strong it could have even come up from Kodiak Island or around the bend from Seward or one of the other locations along the shores.

I do enjoy seeing things that have character in them.

I have to wonder what river it washed down

The river of broken dreams judging by the sorry state of it.

Awesome photo ❤ @bashadow! I see a big bird shadow
in the middle of the driftwood and he even has
his mouth open! :-)

It is a cool piece of driftwood. Lots of things to see in it. That is what is nice about picture.

I think it is pointing at something on the ground. 😄

it is alive in the way of, now that you put it on the block, it will live forever and can't ever be totally forgotten.

No and perhaps it will one day spawn a story of how it lived, where it came from where it is going and how it will renew itself in time.

It reminds me of a dying Skeksi - perhaps a reference most won't get :)

I get it! A fellow old fucker! Lol.

:D I knew you would :)

What can I say...I'm wise old. Still rockin' it though.

When was the last time you saw it? I watched it about 15 years back for fun. Kira was the hot one ;D

Been a while, longer than 15...Maybe 25? Long time.

I had to look it up, I love how pictures of just make the mind see things, A struggle to survive is what I see most.

I wonder if there are people who aren't able to imagine like this?

There are people that have never seen a face or an animal in a cloud formation, so I think there are. At least I have met some that say they don't see anything other than a cloud.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 19 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
2

Thank you.

Gosh! This piece looks very emotional for me! Such a lot of pain and drama!

Be well!

It strives to survive, or so it seems to me.

Yep! You are right! And this is very heart rendering. Never seen anything like this before! Beyond intensed!

It's amazing how sometimes a simple inanimate object can take on life. I suppose it's more about our minds perceiving it a certain way but still...Pretty cool I think. This could make a very dramatic shot and I wonder what it would look like in B&W.

Black and white looked kind of blah, but:
purple grass drift log

As I adjusted the ultraviolet setting on my binoculars I was able to see what was causing the ruckus in the field. Slinking along bragging its weathered and worn back side was a creature that I can not explain. Some alien thing from another place another time. perhaps it had crawled out from some deep depth of hell, all I know is it was strange looking.

That one looks kind of cool! I think maybe it wouldn't have had enough contrast to look good in black and white.

It really did not make a good black and white, but the purple grass, maybe just maybe its a one eyed one horned purple grass eater. LoL.

Lol...A most elusive beast, only captured once on film...The credit is all yours!