~Amazing Nature~

My entry for the ~
Amazing Nature Contest hosted by @adalger
August-2020-01

I was very excited and pleased to see this beautiful Pickerel frog up close late this afternoon.
I do see toads and bullfrogs near my cabin but rarely a Pickerel frog.

20200810_095625.jpg

My cabin is very close to a large marsh/pond. A wonderful habit for many amphibians and aquatic plants.
I'm thinking this Pickerel frog was on it's way up from the marsh to visit my garden.
I surprised it and it jumped up on the stonewall.
I was pleased to get a couple of fairly decent pictures before it disappeared down into a gap between the stones.

20200810_095404.jpg

Pickerel frogs are sometimes confused with the northern leopard frog.
Leopard frogs spots are round and random. Pickerel frogs have parallel rows of square-ish spots.

20200810_094816.jpg

Pickerel frogs produce and secrete and foul tasting toxin. A natural defense system that helps protects from some predators.

They are herbivorous in the tadpole stage. Then become carnivorous as adults. A few examples of what they eat. Worms, ants, beetles spiders and various other insects .

20200810_095942.jpg

I see Pickerel frogs often when I'm kayaking or walking along the edge of the marsh.
Seeing one close up on land is always wonderful...!!!
They really are very beautiful and impressive. The design pattern on them is most amazing and exquisite.

Photography by
@annephilbrick
🍃🍃

Amazing Nature Contest
⤵️🐾🐸
https://hive.blog/hive-127788/@adalger/amazing-nature-contests-august-2020-01

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 18 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
2

🤗🐸
Thank You..!!!!!
@pixresteemer

 4 years ago  

Wow, thats a great capture ! I really like this color pattern ^^ .. I actually did not know that they are born as herbivores and become carnivores as adults .. That a really interesting fact ;)

😊
Thank You..!!
@adalger
I truly didn't know either. I was reading up on them and came across the information. Most interesting !!
Being able to take an okay picture with my Android phone made my day..!!!🐸
And I thought sure it would disappear before I could.
:-D

 4 years ago  

Hello dear friend @annephilbrick good afternoon
I see that you have a lot of knowledge about this frog, I must admit that I was ignorant of all this information about them, I appreciate that you let us know
Beautiful photographs
Have a great afternoon