A Strawberry Kind Of Weekend - And A Bunch Of Other Stuff Too

1621887500707.png

Isn't Nature Amazing?!

Yeah.. Exactly what I was thinking this weekend when the temperature was soring into the 90's (F). Hot hot hot hot... It was Hot. At least the nights are a bit cooler this time of year, so that much is bearable. So the weekend started off Hot, so hot that Molly spent as much time as she could in front of the bedroom fan. I can't lie.. I did too!

IMG_0694.JPG

Friday Sucked.. We went to a viewing/funeral for support to our neighbor friends down the street. Their son died tragically loosing his life early last week when he accidentally drown in Myrtle Beach South Carolina. Their only child.. 20 Years old is just too young to be gone from this world. So heartbreaking and sad. We were devastated for our friends as they go through this dark time in their lives.

Come Saturday.. We were preparing for a Niece and Nephew sleepover. We planned a nice dinner, games, and fire complete with smores! I spent some of my time Saturday cutting wood in the heat. I had a few pallets I brought home from work, and have been wanting to cut them up to burn. So that is just what I did..

1621886960968.png

Of Course I took time out from my chores to hydrate! Much needed hydration was found in the garage refrigerator and consumed on site.

IMG_0698.JPG

The kids requested grilled pineapple as one of the dinner sides, so I cut one of those up to. A slice here, a slice there, and one down the middle. A little brown sugar rub and then grilled to a light golden brown. That's how ya do it. yuuuuummmmm...

I'll plant that top in the garden when I am done. It will root and by the end of the summer will be ready for a pot. I have a friend that wanted me to get one started for them, so when this roots, it's theirs!

IMG_0696.JPG

Kids came over.. We ate, spent time by the fire, roasted marshmallows, ate smores, played games, watched a movie and then headed to bed around 1 am. ugggg.. too old for this stuff. lol. I survived and was up earlier than I thought.

IMG_0280.JPG

Up And At It.. early with the birds. I spent a few minutes out in nature again this morning. Walking around the yard and watering what needed a drink. We must be going on two weeks without rain! Things are so dry around here. Everyone is still sleeping, so it is the perfect time to get a little watering in.

Molly took the time to sit in the shade.. She was hot even this morning, so she headed back to her spot in the back of the yard, where the most shade can be found.

IMG_0700.JPG

She's so nosy. She'll just sit there and watch the neighbors place for as long as you'll let her. Just sits there and stares waiting for any signs of movement.

IMG_0701.JPG

WHOOPS! Busted taking pictures. She caught me and turned around to give me the stink eye for documenting the situation.

IMG_0705.JPG

Alright then.. It's selfie Time!!! Come in here Molly, lets take a photo for our Hive audience :-) Nope! She's too busy staring off into the distance, to take a moment for her old man.

IMG_0706.JPG

Kid's are up and Molly is now happy that the attention arrived.

IMG_0711.JPG

Later That Same Day..

It was time to check out what nature has provided us. When I was watering the strawberries earlier, I notice that they needed picked in the worst way. So I headed out after the sun dipped down and began to get picking.

IMG_0713.JPG

There were more berries than I had thought! The plants are loaded.

IMG_0714.JPG

The berries are beautiful too.. Nice and sweet. Yeah, I ate a few while I was picking. Is there anything wrong with that?

IMG_0715.JPG

I ended up calling the neighbors over to pick some for themselves. We picked two huge bowl fulls. I know there will be enough to fill another big bowl tomorrow as well.

RGMA8233.JPG

**Well.. That was my weekend in a nut shell. Lots of stuff got done and happened, but it was nice spending a little time out in beautiful nature! She was HOT and DRY, but she did PROVIDE. We will most definitely be enjoying those delicious Strawberries!

Hive text divider.png

984579843598743509843.JPG

“Do you remember the Shire, Mr. Frodo? It'll be spring soon. And the orchards will be in blossom. And the birds will be nesting in the hazel thicket. And they'll be sowing the summer barley in the lower fields... and eating the first of the strawberries with cream. Do you remember the taste of strawberries?”
― J.R.R. Tolkien, The Return of the King

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Hive text divider.png

NFT Showroom Member

Are you interested in creating an NFT for your art AND using a HIVE based project???

Here Is A Link, in case your interested in listing something yourself!.. NFT Showroom

Are You Ready To Tokenize Your Art???

Come Check Us Out To Find Out How and To Get Started Selling YOUR Art as NFT’s!
NFT Showroom Thumbnail.PNG

Hive text divider.png

The Orchid Lovers Community!

Love Orchids? Consider joining our community. We look forward to seeing you there!!!

The Orchid Lovers Community

A place for people who Love Orchids!

Sort:  

Very nice! I have been getting some nice blueberries lately. I am not sure where they come from, but they are as good as we used to get from the farms around my parents house. I still have to take my wife blueberry picking some day. She has never been. We are heading camping this weekend. Taking our nephew with us. Should be a good time. We finally got some rain an that cut the temps. It was actually chilly in the low 50's yesterday, so you might have some relief in sight.

Yesterday and today are on the cooler side.. low 70's. Camping sounds great and I knew that trip was coming up soon. Enjoy it! I am sure you will without a doubt.

We live a mile or two outside The Blueberry Capital of the World!!! haha.. It (Hammonton NJ) was dubbed that many years ago. Most of the worlds blueberries come out of this area. The sandy soils are apparently the best for growing them in. I don't drive too far without passing a farm.

Right from Google!:

1-87324787145.JPG

Do they have a festival though? That is the true test! Maybe festivals aren't a thing there like they are in Michigan. I live within about an hour of the corn festival, potato festival, pickle festival, walleye festival, polish festival, cheeseburger festival, and fish sandwich festival. They get a bit carried away out here...

Oh yeah! There is always some sort of festival happening around these parts. Let me see if I can find something about it..

Hammonton is known as the "Blueberry Capital of the World". Since the 1980s, the Red, White and Blueberry Festival has celebrated Hammonton's status as the nation's blueberry capital. A 1300-acre farm there is considered to be the largest producer of blueberries in the Northeast. Every year Hammonton hosts the Red, White and Blueberry festival, Our Lady of Mount Carmel festival and the Hammonton wine festival. Mount Carmel's Italian Festival dates back to 1875 and is considered the oldest such continuously run festival in the United States.[130] Other festivals include; Hammonton Fall Beer Festival,[131] Teen Arts Festival,[132] Hammonton Food Truck Festival,[133] Hammonton Green Day Festival,[134] and Crusin Main Street.[135]
Source - Wikipedia

Nice! Sounds like a lot of awesome things in one town!

Fish Sandwich Festival ... Sponsored by McDonalds??!! lol. I bet it's really cool though.

How tragic! It's so sad, and I'm so sorry for your neighbor's loss.
But what a fun day.
Pineapple seems good! On my way home today, I'll pick up one.
It is great to live in spacious surroundings.
What is up with dogs? My Sweetpea does the same thing... she'd stare for hours into nothingness!

Yeah, it was a terrible accident and will be a rough road ahead for them. Otherwise the weekend was a fun one for us.. and that Pineapple was delicious 🤗 Will you be eating yours strait up or grilling it? We like the space and the view of the lake.. it's very relaxing. I have no clue why she likes to stare off at the neighbors, but if I do it, I would be considered a wacko! 😆

Hi @bdmillergallery, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @rem-steem!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON

Thank you @rem-steem and the entire @bdcommunity for the support and curation 😁

So sorry for your neighbors 😔 . What a tragedy.

A little hard break now but way to go to tease me with smores, Guinness, strawberries and Molly...W-A-Y- T-O- G-O! Would have made a great "Weekend" post btw ;)

I was thinking about posting it there and then hit post before I noticed that I didn't change the community tag. Oh well. I have more material.. lol.

Yeah the loss of our neighbors son was such a tragedy. I don't know how they are going to cope with it, but know they will somehow.

Molly and I wanted to pack enough good things into one post to try and make you and Joy jealous 😆 😁

You had an incredible weekend, the strawberry bushes are loaded, you can make a delicious jam or syrup to go with ice cream and resist the heat.

Great idea on the jam and or syrup. I have never made such a thing, but maybe I should try! I need something to beat the heat for sure!!! 😁

I am so sorry for your neighbors. It is so tragic to lose anybody, but, a parent should never have to bury their child... and their only child makes it even more devastating.

Your strawberries are popping and isn't Molly so nosy! We need to call her Mrs. Kravits. :))

Fun post!!

hahaha.. Mrs Kravits it is!!! 😆 She loves to just sit back there and stare off from her shady spot. It's about 300 feet from the house, so we get nervous, but just join her until she's ready to head inside to the comforts she knows are waiting for her.

It was a sad event.. Our hearts still break for them. uggg...

Me too, Brad @bdmillergallery, and I don't even know them. I feel for them and knowing they will leave this earth with their broken heart pokes a hole in mine just a little. So much promise and hope at 20. I'll stop otherwise, I just might bawl at the unfairness of it all.

Le sigh.

You truly do have a Mrs. Kravits and it makes me smile just thinking about it. You have such interesting dogs and I love her personality. Thanks again. I dreamt of orchids last night. I say that is your fault.

Hahaha.. My Fault it is! Orchid fever is what you have now. Don't try and stop it.. that won't work.. just go for the ride! hehe

Thanks for all of those compliments 😊

Everything goes better with fire and s'mores. Add in some strawberries and it's a party!

This looks like a legit weekend, all except the Friday thing.

Yeah.. minus Friday and it was superb. I'll send you some of those Strawberries. By the time they get to you, and after being flagged by customs, they should be a nice Jelly. hehehe. Sorry for not posting it into your community. @bulldog-joy pointed that out and it was a click of the post button when I realized it had happened.. next time! Thanks for stopping bye 😁

Strawberries in any form are good! 😁

No worries on the community thing, there's always next time. ✅

That is so tragic, a loss that cannot be comprehended or come to terms with.
I like Molly giving you the stinky eye.
Yummmm those strawberries.

Loss is tough, regardless of the circumstances. I know you are all to familiar with it as well. Molly with the side eye! she knows me all too well I think. I'll send you some berries.. hmmmm, let see.. where do you live? Oh yeah! "The Little Blue Planet"! hehe. They are on their way!!!

How sweet of you to send me the strawberries.
Well, I just discovered that you've delegated 100 HP to my account.
I am pretty dumb when it comes to crypto and I have no clue what I am doing here at Hive. Been active here for three weeks now.
I just write what I feel like and don't check anything else.
Thank you so much for your generosity to a complete stranger like me.
I am so ashamed that I didn't notice this earlier, I accidentally clicked on the HP amount now and discovered this a few minutes ago.
I hope you didn't conclude that I am an ingrate.
Oh I am from Bangalore, India.
Thank you so much once again.

Don't worry about it. I mentioned it in a comment a while back, but doesn't matter.. it's fine. I just know its hard to do anything around here without resource credits. I hope it helps a little. We dog lovers have to stick together.. hehe. Bangalore India?! Cool. India is on my short list of places to visit, but after the Covid scare has gone away. 😊

I am sorry I missed it. Thankfully I have had generous people on my side who helped me without me even having to ask for it and that includes you.
Hmm.. India is a scary place now. This too shall pass and we will emerge covid free some day soon... until then it would be 'stay home, stay safe and write all you can.'
Have a wonderful day. Goodnight from Bangalore.

Yes.. 11:30pm there and only 2:30PM here.. Go To Bed!!! lol Have a good night 😊

Oh God! We are born so that our children bury us and not the opposite, what sad news. For the rest of the publication, the images are very nice, that pet is quite a show. :)

She is quite the pup. We love her lots and she's a good friend. I can't imagine my world without her.

We are born so that our children bury us and not the opposite

So very sad, but so very true. It shouldn't be this way.

Thanks for the support and for the comment 😊

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you @qurator and of course my good friend @ackhoo for thinking enough of my rambling to suggest it for curation 😁