My mums oleanders ~ white pride #alwaysaflower

in Amazing Nature3 years ago
Authored by @Britt

19F60BF5-3F93-4770-BAD3-F9B1C9826408.jpeg

This blog is about OLEANDERS

5F911393-A239-4BE1-A97C-E7DABCDC3C36.jpeg

3025427E-615F-40A7-8A1D-125CE0C30D9F.jpeg

9C411E34-97A8-4FA7-99C2-B3B8A5749540.jpeg

In her small garden here in Italy my mum has her white pride. Her oleanders are on the side near the lake. They are white and pink. Today I share the white ones.
Oleanders are a main feature here and on many Mediterranean gardens, widely used for screen planting, on hillsides and alongside roads or in our case near the lake. Flowering in summer, the large open clusters can be single or double, and come in many colours including white, pink, red and peach. My mum has pink and white. Upright stems are clothed with evergreen leaves which are long, slender, and an attractive shade of silvery-green. Like silk. And at night they even attrack insects. I tried to capture it with the nightlight.

36F2533C-A342-4490-8766-296285565B26.jpeg

Oleander, the Nerium oleander, comes in a wide range of color varieties although plants are usually sold just by colour rather than name. White, red and pink flowered forms are most widely available.
Here you see them everywhere and the fact that they are extremely poisonous was something I didn’t know!

5ECEB3DC-25B9-4483-B3AE-672F2B08B75A.jpeg

Every part of the oleander plant is extremely poisonous and consuming even a small amount can be fatal, so it’s wise not to grow oleanders where there are children and pets. So this time with the baby of my brother that part of the small garden is off limits. Also the foliage may cause skin irritations. Wash hands thoroughly after handling or pruning, and ideally wear gloves.

( I had to look this up on internet:
https://www.directplant.nl/tuintips/oleander )

435C7C37-023A-4DEE-B7B0-3A37FC2151D7.jpeg

F2AB432C-DB0B-4B51-92C8-BE14865F486E.jpeg

Good light is essential for oleanders to produce flowers. I brought a few branches last year to plant in our garden at home, but it didn’t work. Holland has to little sun I think. And they died really quick. Maybe I will try again this year.

12ED3542-94AB-470D-B34E-267E7CC51405.jpeg

Oleanders need regular watering from spring to autumn to keep the compost evenly moist , with water so near from the lake and the fact that it also rains very often for a small period of minutes and heavenly that helps to let them florish. It’s especially important that plants don’t go short of water in spring when flower buds are forming. And if they don’t florish this year than they will problably will not form flowers next year. So the plant stays green leaved.

65889FC8-EBD1-4CD0-9E7D-DA229E74CDF2.jpeg

Some of the flowers on this oleander are affected by the fungus Ascochyta: brown spots development in the leaf axils and in the leaves and the young shoots wither, but also in the flowers. The fungus apparently spreads through water droplets. So with rain that is very hard to stop. The plant must immediately put out of the rain. That is not possible with this one because it is a bush in the earth. Fortunately, it is not with all the bush but according to my mother you can cut those flowers off but she won't because the overall bush is very beautiful.

So yes they are in the pictures. I uses night light and flash. I will add some pink ones this week to only that oleander is different for some reason the pink flowers are only at the top.

D373D2F6-D640-4F1E-8B1C-17970DE96C6C.jpeg

For more information and know how :

https://www.tuinadvies.be/artikels/oleander_nerium_oleander

BA280886-752D-4A13-82DD-4B817AF03C0F.jpeg

Pictures are all mine made in my parents garden at lake Garda.

55E3C498-5DB1-48E3-A20E-BD69856F679C.jpeg

Thanks for stopping by,
its appreciated and remember always focus on being creative
instead of being bee-zy.
Consistent Actions Create Consistent Results.
Not everyone is a blogger but everyone has something great to offer.

Lover of Life and L❤️ve in General - @brittandjosie

I am a proud member off the #theTerminal #lifestylelounge #needleworkmonday and #ladiesofhive and #amazingnature .
Co founder for @theterminal, @heyhaveyamet and
@steem-aide

(c)

All images and photographs, unless otherwise specified, are created and owned by me. @brittandjosie originals.

Sources used : It is mentioned in my blog.
When the source is missing, please tell me I am only human and don’t want to do anything wrong or even plagiarise. I do make mistakes. I only use a canon camera and my iPhone for my images.

I would like to thank you for reading my blog, feel free to leave me any feedback, if not, read you next time. #BENICE

8205D2879A51422FB7FA7022B0B05CB7.png

921C1B4E-384B-47AA-8D25-7ABA0FD8D8D9.jpeg


Your personal Discord terminal invite : https://discord.gg/XZGPGpz

F72B9719-6BBC-4F54-A37B-241020E0CC21.jpeg

68330669-4161-421E-9CB9-137A18FB51E7.jpeg

8832E72EB53349F8A5FA60BF39257B97.jpeg


80F1E1E5C54E4ADE9E3ABA8707E46312.png

Date : 18 July 2021

Sort:  
Loading...

I'm sharing my response to a Discord comment from @azircon at his request:

@azircon:

Look folks: don't overdo the 'rules' the rules are made by us and we are all human. If we just do rules, we can have one of our guys to write a bot and that bot will DV. Britt is not my friend and I DV a lot of people and I counter malicious DV to many of you. Whether I help cross a granny the road or not, doesn't give me right to bullshit. What I request you not to do, is act like a bunch of thugs. Because, believe me, you are all nice individuals. There are many content to DV on hive, and a lot of them flies under the radar and quite malicious. If you follow 'rules' you will never touch them, and they will do more damage. HW is a classic example of rule following and having limited success (still I am a supporter of HW, as I do believe they provide a service). My pledge to you is please use your judgement as a human. I can't influence any of you and I am not trying. It is my personal opinion.

Me:

I agree with you about the humanity, @azircon. However, I think there also needs to be accountability, especially from someone who acts as a community leader.

She's been (as far as I know) reported to HW three times -

~ The first (back at the beginning of the year), she laughed off.

~ The second (last week), she argued it wasn't plagiarism, despite screencaps/links confirming it.

~ The third, she maintained she hadn't done anything wrong and accused me of having a vendetta against her.

This wasn't something I went looking for - all three posts were put in front of me by other people. But instead of a "mea culpa" she's chosen to frame this as an unwarranted attack.

That being said, I've only downvoted the two recently reported posts, and have no intentions of continuing to downvote her, which I'd do if this were anyone else. So there's my humanity - I hope her accountability comes along soon.

Tracy asked my permission to post this conversation and I agreed.

Brit. I hope you don’t spin content in future. You are a valuable member of the community but that doesn’t give you right to spin content. Also there is no point arguing if the content is spun or not because it is. So, I hope you don’t do this in future. Many thanks.

Thanks for allowing to add the convo to the comment string. Cause all is there now. But the blacklist is permanent now so.

Portions of your writing do not appear to be original. Your text appears to originate from the following article that was posted sometime in March 9, 2021: How to grow oleander

I have listed an example below, but there are others. I feel a little sick.

Your ArticleSourceOriginal Author
Flowering in summer, the large open clusters can be single or double, and come in many colours including white, pink, red and peach. My mum has pink and white. Upright stems are clothed with evergreen leaves which are long, slender, and an attractive shade of silvery-green. Like silk. And at night they even attrack insects. I tried to capture it with the nightlight.How to grow oleanderFlowering in summer, the large open clusters can be single or double, and come in many colours including white, pink, red and peach. Upright stems are clothed with evergreen leaves which are long, slender, and an attractive shade of silvery-green.
Oleander, the Nerium oleander, comes in a wide range of color varieties although plants are usually sold just by colour rather than name. White, red and pink flowered forms are most widely available.How to grow oleanderOleander, Nerium oleander, comes in a wide range of varieties although plants are usually sold just by colour rather than name. White, red and pink flowered forms are most widely available. Most oleanders have plain silvery-green leaves although variegated forms may be found.
Every part of the oleander plant is extremely poisonous and consuming even a small amount can be fatal, so it’s wise not to grow oleanders where there are children and pets. So this time with the baby of my brother that part of the small garden is off limits. Also the foliage may cause skin irritations. Wash hands thoroughly after handling or pruning, and ideally wear gloves.How to grow oleanderEvery part of the oleander plant is extremely poisonous and consuming even a small amount can be fatal, so it’s wise not to grow oleanders where there are children and pets. The foliage may cause skin irritations. Wash hands thoroughly after handling or pruning, and ideally wear gloves.

Posted via proofofbrain.io

Source of plagiarism

Direct translation without giving credit to the original author is Plagiarism. Repeated plagiarism is considered fraud. Fraud is discouraged by the community and may result in the account being Blacklisted.
Guide: Why and How People Abuse and Plagiarise

Please note that direct translations including attribution or source with no original content are considered spam.

If you believe this comment is in error, please contact us in #appeals in Discord.

Oh my!!! How lucky you are to have all these gorgeous flowers in your life!! It's interesting that something so beautiful is also so dangerous. Are they fragrant?

Hahahah not mine but my mums hahaha but yes they are lovely. They smell a bit but the ground is not that rich here they say with better soil the smell geta better , I don’t know if that’s true you see insects though so they must be smelling

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 66 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
1


Hey @brittandjosie, here is a little bit of BEER from @pixresteemer for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

My mom has oleanders also! They are so beautiful and the flowers are abundant! I was not familiar with the fungus, but, I am happy to hear that it will go away.

I did know that they were poisonous, but, not while my kids and dogs were young and I was visiting. It wasn't until they were out of the baby stage that someone told me. Yikes.

Italy is such a nice place to live! I loved it there. Thank you for the beautiful flowers and for using the tag #alwaysaflower ! Have a wonderful day!

We didn't know either , my sister in law said it because they brought their 9 month old son this time and the kidschair was infront of the flowers😬 but it's good to know indeed. But it's such a great addition to the garden. Italy is great, and even we can forget the Covid here being tested and among family. I am fortunate

Italy is very pretty!
Oleanders are beautiful and are said to be poisonous. Luckily animals here do not touch them, hehehe. They grow to as high as 10 feet!
Enjoying yourself, @brittandjosie!

Luckily animals here do not touch them, hehehe.

Maybe they know that it is poisonous.
Animals may know (or feel) more than we think.
For example some of them can predict earthquakes.

Oh yes!!!
Like, a sixth sense (that is if they have five... hehehe!)

I just didn't know they were. But my brothers brought the baby and his wife told us😬 and yes the bush is now two and a bit meters high. It grows very fast.
Again they are mums treasures

They have beautiful flowers and thick foliage.
And make good hedgers or people use them here to totally block their homes from view.
Actually, they are very popular here in Northern California 👍😀

We don't see them a lot in the Netherlands either to wet ir To cold I guess

wow beautiful photography..I think it is the evening flower. My guess is if it really is, it spreads its fragrance from evening to night, spreading the depths of the night even further. Its fragrance is very beautiful.

Really? Wow I didn't know ! Cool, maybe the other hivers didn't know either. I did see insects there and thought that must be because of the scent , thanks for clearing that up! Hive is also Education now 😉

sorry i have a some mistake.
Yes, if that is the evening flower.In the evening the flower starts blooming in the evening which spreads its fragrance till late at night and during the day it slowly falls in the sunlight

Hasnahena or Hasnuhana (scientific name- Cestrum nocturnum) is a flower belonging to the Solanaceae family. ... names are lady of the night, night-blooming jessamine, night-scented jessamine, night-scented cestrum or poisonberry. This flower is native to the West Indies, but it is well adapted to the natural environment of South Asia..link

Cool native to the West Indies, and imported to Europe I guess. In the Netherlands you don't see them often and the fact they are poison I never knew but with the baby that is information that we didn't want to miss. So by doing the blog we learned something and your information gave even more insight

Congratulations @brittandjosie! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Thank you for the upvote as always it’s appreciated

These white ones look so beautiful. I think you made pictures from your home

That moment when the racist mega biatch gets slammed for actual plagiarism after she misrepresented sourcing etiquette to Africans and latinos so she could openly bash them and accuse them of plagiarism.

Funny tho how she harbored white plagiarists and helped them skirt the blacklist.

Was wondering where I'm gonna park some downvotes in the near future.

You'll do.