Moth Trap: 14th May 2022 - Plenty of Geometridae Tonight

in Amazing Nature2 years ago (edited)

Sharing the results from my latest Moth Trap Session. I have written posts about setting up a moth trap and on collecting the results if you want some more background info on how and why I use a Moth Trap

Hiveblog divider.png

moth trap 14-05-2022.png

Date: 14th May 2022

Weather:

Its been a week since the last Trapping Session... time to have another go!

Weatherwise, its been a beautiful day here, warm bright sunshine, clear blue skies. I managed to mow the lawn and do some long-overdue weeding of the patio, and it was lovely in the sunshine although with highs of 21C it was becoming a bit...er... sweaty near the end. Ahem

Anyway! Warm, dry and only a light southerly wind, it looks like tonight should be good!

Results: 27 moths of 14 species

image.png

Summary of Results:

And as you can see from the table above, it was the best night of the year so far.

Common Plume-0041PP.jpg
Common Plume- Emmelina monodactyla

This peculiar little moth is part of the family called Pterophoridae, and all have the same distinctive resting posture

Next in was another Small Phoenix (I did see one of these last night, but I know this is a different one to the one I saw last night as the markings on its wings are slightly different.

Small phoenix-9960.jpg
Small Phoenix - Ecliptopera silaceata

It maybe widespread, but its not common here in my garden. I have only seen 1 once before, and now I have 2 in consecutive nights! Its a handsome little moth I'm sure you'll agree!

You can see this is a different shape to the first moth, the Small Phoenix is member of the Geometridae Family, and are characterized with large wings which are usually held flat to the surface

Brimestone-0034PP.jpg
Brimstone Moth - Opisthograptis luteolata

This Brimstone shows the same resting posture and is also in the same Family. There turned out to be several species of Geometrids out tonight...

image.png
Green Carpet - Colostygia pectinataria Image Source

Including this wonderful Green Carpet. Slightly frustrating as I saw this resting on the side of the trap, ID'd it as a Green Carpet and subsequently let it fly away. Only when I came to write this post did I realize that I didn't have an image of this species from my Library of Images, so had to pinch this one from online.

Makes a note: next time I see this species I need to retain it for a quick photography session!

Common Pug-0022PP.jpg
Common Pug - Eupithecia vulgata

Shortly after seeing these I saw even more Geometrid Moths. The first was this Common Pug. Even though it is only half the size of the others, it still has the same resting posture (wings open and held flat to the surface).

A lot of these Pug Moths are quite plain and difficult to ID

Foxglove Pug-8191PP.jpg
Foxglove Pug - Eupithecia pulchellata

Whereas this Foxglove Pug is quite well marked in comparison.

It marked the 6th species of Geometrid Moths seen in this session, and the 14th species overall tonight, which is a pretty good haul for this time of year.

Bonus pictures for this week:

Common Cockchafer-0062PP.jpg
Common Cockchafer - Melolontha melolontha

The bonus tonight was this large chunky Cockchafer Beetle. I guess I'll be putting up with these large clumsy beetles now for the next 4-6 weeks... annoying as they have a habit of bashing around inside the moth trap disturbing all the moths inside.

That was a pretty decent session in the end. I am not sure if I will run the trap next weekend, as we are off up to Scotland the following week, and I'll be taking my trusty moth trap with me.

Hopefully a change in location will mean catching some new species of moths... I can't wait!

hive signiture doze logo.png


Notes on Pictures: Since I started moth trapping 5 years ago, I have been slowly building up collection of Library Images. The idea being that once I have taken a picture of a particular species of Moth, I don't need another picture of the same species a year later. It’s a waste of time and energy. I only take pictures of new species, or of moths that are difficult to ID, so I can get the records verified.


While in my care, all individuals are looked after, and after Photographs have been taken, they are all released safely outside.

All names confirmed and checked via Wikispieces
Further Research from UK Moths and NatureSpot

Hiveblog divider.png

Thank you for reading, I hope you found it interesting.

If you have any thoughts or opinions on this article then I'd love to see your comments.
And if you really like the content then maybe you would like to upvote or re-hive it.

logofooter.JPG

All Photos taken by @dannewton unless otherwise stated.
Check out my website for more of my work.

500px - Redbubble

Hiveblog divider.png

Sort:  

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

I didn't know "pug" moths existed until now. I like the name. I think we have the Common Plume over here, too, with their weird roll-up stick wings.

Common Cockchafer

😂 I'm so immature, I know. But maaaan. Better watch out for those.

I'm pretty sure we all giggle at at the name when we first hear it! 🤣🤣

Copied From Wikipedia

The name "cockchafer" derives from late 17th century usage of "cock" (in the sense of expressing size or vigour) + "chafer" which simply means an insect of this type, referring to its propensity for gnawing and damaging plants. The term "chafer" has its root in Old English ceafor or cefer, of Germanic origin and is related to the Dutch kever, all of which mean "gnawer" as it relates to the jaw. As such, the name "cockchafer" can be understood to mean "large plant-gnawing beetle" and is applicable to its history as a pest animal.

And even though I know this, I still snigger whenever I hear the name!

LOL I have no plans to stop giggling, Wikipedia.

We appreciate your work and your post has been manually curated by zoology team (oscurity,nelinoeva) on behalf of Amazing Nature Community. Keep up the good work!

Wonderful shots as always Dan, and informative. Will look forward to seeing some pics from Scotland. ENjoy.

Cheers Brian, its only a few nights away, but it'll be a much needed change of scenery

Hello @dannewton!

nice work, good content
We appreciate your work and your post was manually curated by @none! from the DNA team!

Reach us on Discord to learn more about the project!

Hi @dannewton,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

The Brimstone Moth is quite lovely! Liked the markings on the others too. Pretty good catch!

Congratulations @dannewton! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 11000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 12000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from May - Day 15