Moth Trap Report: 9th June 2021 - Moths on Holiday (Part 2/2)

in Amazing Nature3 years ago

Sharing the results from my latest Moth Trap Session. I have written posts about setting up a moth trap and on collecting the results if you want some more background info on how and why I use a Moth Trap

holiday moth blog-1.jpg

As I mentioned in the last couple of posts, I have very recently come back from holiday near the Lake District. We had a great time, and saw lots of cool stuff, but one of the best bits was that I took my Moth Trap on holiday with me. The main idea behind this is that due to it being a different location on the other side of the country it has a different habitat and that means a chance of seeing different species to what I would find back home.

Date: 9th June 2021

Weather:
For the 2nd day of trapping, the weather is different. It has been warm and muggy all day. The same high temp as yesterday with 22C but feels much warmer due to the overcast conditions. Rain had threatened all day, but nothing materialised until 6pm when 'heavy drizzle' started falling. It eased off at around 8pm, so I put the trap out in the same position as the previous night.

Thick cloud cover remained, with lows of 16C predicted and only a slight wind... conditions are better than last night so lets see what happens.

Results: 30 moths of 16 species

9thjunetrap.JPG

Summary of Results:

The trap was turned on at 10pm, and surprisingly within 10 minutes a Large Elephant Hawkmoth had appeared inside the trap

holiday moth blog-9.jpg
Large Elephant Hawkmoth - Deilephila elpenor

I love these moths, with the colours so bright and vibrant! It is a different species to the Small Elephant Hawkmoth I had seen last night, and I kinda of wished I had kept a hold of it now so I could do a picture with them both in.

Oh well, it was unlikely that I would get a Small Elephant 2 nights in a row...

Flame Shoulder-0034PP.jpg
Next in was a Flame Shoulder (Ochropleura plecta), and then a couple of Garden Carpets, nothing overly interesting until...

holiday moth blog-7.jpg
Ingrailed Clay - Diarsia mendica

...aha! Here is something interesting! This is an Ingrailed Clay, a species that is common and abundant and widespread across the UK, and yet in my 5 years of looking at home I had neve seen it... it was great to finally tick it off.

Pale Tussock-0019PP.jpg
Pale Tussock - Calliteara pudibunda

There were 3 of these Pale Tussocks seen that night. A lovely chunky moth, and always a pleasure to see each year.

holiday moth blog-10.jpg
Small Elephant Hawkmoth - Deilephila porcellus

And then the best moment of the session. After seeing the Large Elephant Hawkmoth earlier, I was ecstatic to see a Small Elephant Hawkmoth resting by the trap near the end of the session. Truly the Moth Gods were blessing me that night!

And this meant I could get a comparison shot:

holiday moth blog-11.jpg

Comparison shot of the Large and Small Elephant Hawkmoths. Note the different patterns on the wings, and on the abdomen the Large one has a pink dashed line, whereas the Small one doesn't.

Poplar Hawkmothsmall.jpg
Poplar Hawkmoth - Laothoe populi

Crikey! The Moth Gods hadn't finished yet! Right at the last minute, just as I was preparing to turn the light off, one more moth appeared, and it was another Hawkmoth!

Content and happy with two days of moth trapping, and seeing lots of interesting species, I turned of the trap and packed it away.

Bonus pictures for this week:

holiday moth blog-8.jpg

The bonus for this session was this shot of all 3 Hawkmoths in one frame. I had never seen more than 2 species of Hawkmoth in one session so this was a great moment. It also gives me a chance to see the three of them side by side

Two nights of trapping done, and as you can see, it was well worth squeezing the trap in the car and bringing it on holiday with us. When I do these sessions, I never know what I am going to get. Sometimes it can be disappointing, but it is always worth it when I get nights like these. Absolutely fantastic.


Notes on Pictures: Since I started moth trapping 4 years ago, I have been slowly building up collection of Library Images. The idea being that once I have taken a picture of a particular species of Moth, I don't need another picture of the same species a year later. It’s a waste of time and energy. I only take pictures of new species, or of moths that are difficult to ID, so I can get the records verified.

While in my care, all individuals are looked after, and after Photographs have been taken, they are all released safely outside.

All names confirmed and checked via Wikispieces

Hiveblog divider.png

Thank you for reading, I hope you found it interesting.

If you have any thoughts or opinions on this article then I'd love to see your comments.
And if you really like the content then maybe you would like to upvote or re-hive it.

logofooter.JPG

All Photos taken by @dannewton unless otherwise stated.
Check out my website for more of my work.

500px - Redbubble

Hiveblog divider.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @dannewton! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Very cool you got the very ones you were hoping for! Loved the comparison shot of the large and small ones.

Hi @dannewton,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

We appreciate your work and your post has been manually curated by zoology team (oscurity,nelinoeva) on behalf of Amazing Nature Community. Keep up the good work!

As always thanks for the good content!

As always, thanks for your support! 😉

Thanks for continuing to make Hive awesome.