Something blue - Jasione montana

in Amazing Nature2 years ago

Jasione montana blue wildlower 4.jpg


There is not so many blue wildflowers around. Comparing to yellow and pink at least. So it wasn't very hard to notice the little blue balls even from a distance. There quite a few of them growing among slowly drying up grass. And even though the wild area where plants grow freely, they only appeared in one small spot under some trees (can't remember what tree it was now... pine or cork).

Jasione montana


Jasione montana blue wildlower 3.jpg


This small blue flowers, also known as Sheepbit can be found in most part of the Europe. It does like warmer climate a little bit more though according to observation map.

The ones I found were growing in an open space not far from the coastline full of grasses and smaller bushes. The soil there is very sandy and the area heats up quite a bit during the summer.


Jasione montana blue wildlower 1.jpg


Flowers are about 2 cm across and start to bloom as early as in April. The season for them ends with the end of Summer.

If you take a closer look on the photos you will see some tiny little white start among the blue petals.

And here is a fun fact:

The flowers are visible under ultraviolet light and it is believed that this makes them attractive to pollinating insects.
source

Jasione montana blue wildlower 8.jpg


I also got a little bonus on them :)


Jasione montana blue wildlower 6.jpg


This little black fly and some spidermites were the only creatures I found on the flowers.


Jasione montana blue wildlower 5.jpg


Stay still!


Jasione montana blue wildlower 7.jpg

Jasione montana blue wildlower 2.jpg


Here is a cool graphic of the plant from 1796:

image.png
image source

Next time I see them I will pick some seeds and dump them in one of my big post with mixed flowers :) Oh yeaaaa..

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.



separator flowers.jpg

Sort:  

Very beautiful and delicate flower color!

It is lovely! I'll try to grow them myself :)

I wish you success!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @jlinaresp ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Oh blue flowers can be seldom seen and I think I haven't seen that kind of flowers here. It's cute in size and unique in color.

I really liked it too! Thanks for stopping by :)

Yes, it's true as you said, there are fewer blue flowers compared to other red or yellow flowers. For me this flower also has beauty with a good flower posture and seems to have a high stem. In my area, I have also seen a type of wild blue flower that lives around a small forest,The wild blue flower is also almost similar to this flower but there is still a difference on the side of the stem because the flower that I saw has a short stem.

Pretty sure it is equally pretty :)

Of course, even though the flowers have different colors, they also look very beautiful.😀👍

Very beautiful and rate flowers and great shots. I know this is totally unrelated but I had to think of a blue moth and the blue footed boobies I saw in Ecaudor. I think blue is just a special and rare colour in nature.

I agree. I think there is a lot less blue flowers out there than other colours (white, pink, yellow..). It was really cool to see this one.

I think so too. I can imagine it was nice to see and photograph them.

I appreciate your work and your post has been manually curated by Botanic team @oscurity on behalf of Amazing Nature Community. Keep up the good work!

Hello @ewkaw!

thanks for the contribution
We appreciate your work and your post was manually curated by @none! from the DNA team!

Reach us on Discord to learn more about the project!

Wow, your photography is very beautiful.
This flower looks really cool.

That is a very beautiful flower. Looks very much like something to share with love one.