Hunting Auroras in the Arctic – My thrilling experience seeing the Northern lights

in Amazing Nature2 years ago (edited)

I’m sure you have all seen stunning images and time-lapses of auroras in the arctic. Seeing them is high on many people’s list of things they would like to do, and that’s easy to understand given how dream-like it seems in the pictures and videos. But auroras can be quite rare, as quite a few conditions need to be met in order to see them.

First, you'll need to be above the Arctic circle, then you'll need to be there during winter, as in the summer-half of the year you'll have the midnight sun instead. Then there needs to be a cloudless day, which itself can be rare at times, especially on the coasts of Norway. Even then, the chances of auras forming are typically just 25% on any given day. Thus, you may need to spend a few weeks if you plan on going there in order to see the aurora.

But if you do, you may be rewarded with this experience that I had this last week:

IMG_20220216_215219.jpg

An Aurora Borealis that I saw right outside Bardufoss in Northern Norway.


Travelling to Northern Norway

This last week was mostly spent at Bardufoss, a tiny place in Northern Norway. Its proclaimed 2500 inhabitants are even too much, as many don't reside there on a permanent basis. With a city center so small that you'll miss it if you blink whilst driving past, and a local taxi service where "the guy" who is running it may be at home watching TV when you call to ask for a cab, and ask you to wait 15 minutes for him to watch the end before getting in the car, it is seemingly in the middle of nowhere. Just perfect for seeing auroras though! Although small, it is home to a lot of Norway's military where my company also has a presence.

Arriving in a cold, calm, and cloud-free winter-wonderland was also a sight and experience to behold. I had never been to the arctic during winter before, only during summer. My planned holidays there are usually meant for long days of hiking, where having the midnight-sun and comfortable temperatures for hiking is more ideal than short days, pitch-black nights, and negative 25-30 degrees.

But the cold creates a unique atmosphere different from what I usually get at my cabin in southwest Norway. So immediately upon exiting the plane, I felt like being in "adventure-mode"😎.

IMG_20220215_165739.jpg

An Aurora Borealis that I saw right outside Bardufoss in Northern Norway.


Anticipation and effort is half the enjoyment

It must be said that while it felt magical to see the lights come and go while moving across the skies, the sight itself was only half the experience. The real thrill lied in the anticipation, preparation and adventure of going out to see it, not knowing whether I would get lucky or not.

Immediately after I had picked up the rental car (wasn't going to rely on the taxi-guy!) and checked into the Hotel, my mind was set that I would do whatever I could to see the Northern lights.

So I downloaded an app to help track the conditions for seeing them and began asking the locals as well as my colleagues who currently live and work in Bardufoss about what locations nearby would be good with regards to light conditions, view and access.

Spending this time to prepare and make plans of course helped set up expectations. To then drive out into the pitch black night in an unknown place

I was recommended to drive a road going up towards a mountain-side right out of town as that would both get me away from light pollution while also giving a decent view. It was fun to find the snow-covered road leading up and wondering if my car would make it. Of course the road was not lit, so heading up the hills among 2 meter tall snow fans and snow-covered trees on each side made you feel like going out into nowhere . I eventually found a decent place to park the car and wait to see if the Northern lights would appear.

An hour went by and nothing happened. Despite the perfect conditions, I didn't get to see anything the first day/night. Reluctantly I went back to the hotel to get some sleep, as I was going to have an early meeting the next day. Of course, I couldn't help but look around while I was driving back, looking for any signs that the auroras could come after all.

While disappointing, that made me even more eager to see it the next day. As the clock passed 20:00, the app signaler that there was a good chance of seeing it! Having been only 18% likelihood the previous day, it now showed 33%.

So I went back to the same place that I had been the day before. And sure enough, I got lucky!

IMG_20220216_215350.jpg

IMG_20220216_232120.jpg

IMG_20220216_231254.jpg


3 other pictures I took of the Auroras I saw while at Bardufoss in Northern Norway.

While the sight was fascinating, it was the excitement of seeing them suddenly arrive after having been waiting and anticipating them for so long that proved to be the real experience. I doubt I would have enjoyed it as much had I simply been there at a cabin and someone told me to look outside to see it. Working for it and being uncertain about whether or not I would get to see it made it feel so much more special.

It must be said that while the pictures look spectacular, in reality the colors were not quite as green as seen in the image. That's because the cameras are more senstitive to those portions of the spectrum of the light while also taking in more light to generate the image. So while the colors are what make the pictures look amazing, the sight and experience was made special more by the fascination of seeing them come and go seemingly out of nowhere, and the excitement of finally seeing them after searching and waiting.

Myself, I enjoyed the stay at the idyllic resort perhaps even more. With a beautiful view from the hotel-cabins, perfect ski-tracks right outside leading straight into a well lit up path for cross country skiing, as well as a pool, sauna and outdoor jacuzzi. I could have stayed here for a while!

IMG_20220216_073941.jpg

The view from Bardufosstun hotel in Northern Norway from one of the hotel-cabins outside.


How about you? have you ever seen the northern lights?

Sort:  

I have been in Kiruna, but never managed to see them. The photo with the Ground Stations in the background would have been so cool.
The closest point to be lucky was some brightness under some clouds. I will definitely have to keep trying.

That's beautiful! I've only caught a climbs of them but I'm hoping from the new homestead property that I'll be able to see them more often. No more city and sub pollution. Just beautiful landscapes and mountains 😍

Yep! I visited every year with my family in Lapland for skiing holidays and saw them multiple times.

That's cool! Never been to northern Finland. Guess it's really cold?

Well yeah, coldest that I experienced was -40 degrees. But usually -15 or -20 is typical

It is one of my dreams. In fact, I keep writing Aurora Borealis in my notebook because I believe one day I can see it thru my own 2 eyes. Thanks for sharing.

If its your dream then you should probably try and set aside 2-3 weeks to have a good chance of seeing it! :)

cool shots. the first one is especially majestic, I have never seen Northern Lights...someday..

Thanks! Yeah I loved that one too. Hope I can get another opportunity where I have more time and are in a place with cooler surroundings. Although the "Hunt" itself was half the fun 😛.

You should try and book a 2 week trip to Lofoten if you really want an epic experience!

Wow, I am envious on you about this experience! Looks stunning and I bet it’s even more breathtaking when you see it in person!

The experience is of course better in person, but honestly the pictures look better as you don't see as much of the green color with your eyes.

wow! it's a dream of mine to go and visit the northern lights.. Great pics!

Thanks! Then you should make sure to go and stay for a few weeks😉

The real thrill lied in the anticipation, preparation and adventure of going out to see it, not knowing whether I would get lucky or not.

Remarkable photography and a great story to go accompany the visualss! I enjoyed how you describe the journey being [slightly] greater than witnessing the actual event @fredrikaa

Phenomena in nature such the Aurora Borealis give me hope and inspiration for the days ahead, something to look forward to experiencing.

Though I have never seen the Northern Lights it is high on my bucketlist as part of a vacation to Denali National Park. If I time things right and get lucky maybe the skies will bless me with an Aurora Borealis!🌙🌌 💫🔭

Hope you have a great week!

wow! it must be a wonderful experience, I haven't had a chance to see a northern lights but they look very nice in the picture, you took great pictures, I would have loved to see a short video of Bardufoss. Thank you for sharing this magnificent experience.

Wonderful aurora images!

I have never had that joy of seeing snow, much less the northern lights, but I hope to be able to achieve that goal in a little while since seeing the snow and playing with it is one of my most desired wishes.

The landscape that you show is incredible, it is great to be able to see the northern lights, this is only possible in some places nothing else.

Thanks for sharing.

Auroras?... I'm not sure I know what it is, talk more of seeing one.

It looks like a rainbow of one colour... Lol

What brings about this?
Does it come out in just one part of the earth?

Looks fantastic.

It’s simply beautiful! I always found this fascinating. I do hope I also get to see this in person😅

I hope life gives me the opportunity to see this beauty. Great job.

Que bendicion poder estar ante un maravilloso espectaculo de esa magnitud. Aunque mut lejos me encuentre de Noruega siempre he guardado la posibilidad de poder vivir la hermosa experiencia de poder ver de cerca la Aurora Boreal, gracias por compartir.

Wow!! You are so lucky to witness the northern lights😍😍 I hope I can also witness them soon with my naked eyes🙏

Nice pictures Fredrik! Whereas they are beautiful and I have never seen them, I am not attracted that much in seeing these in person. I don't mean that I don't want to see auroras, but just that this is not a "must do" on my list. This is just mere plasma physics after all ... ;)

The physicist in me must however react to one of the sentences you wrote. Whereas it is very often said that auroras can only be seen above the Arctic circle, this is not entirely true. Auroras are generated where solar winds enter the magnetosphere of the planet, that is close to Earth's magnetic poles. Therefore, any places around Earth's magnetic poles are natural place to hunt for auroras. Anywhere else solar winds would just be deflected without ever reaching the atmosphere (and thus without generating any aurora).

This means that the region around Earth's south magnetic pole is a great place to see auroras. This region extends all within the Arctic circle, and actually slightly below it too. As a matter of fact, areas just outside the Arctic circle are amongst the preferred ones to see auroras (northern Scotland, northern Ireland, Iceland).

Now, it is not so known that in periods of very intense solar activity, the magnetic field around the planet is modified quite deeply, and auroras can therefore sometimes be seen way further south. By south, I mean it. For instance, there are records of auroras being seen in New Orleans, to mention an example. This is however quite a rare event.

Sorry for messing up with your blog, and I hope you enjoyed me doing it... at least a little ;)

Earth really has its unique features. 😍

This is beautiful! I managed to see them too but just like you said, they looked better on camera than in real life.

My bucket list 😍 @fredrikaa

I’ve not Seen the northern Norway lights before , but from the pictures you took they really look awesome. The beauty of the adventure is that the auroras don’t come often so when they appear it’s always a sight to behold and cherish.

Very nice post :)

I live in Iceland so I'm used to them but they never stop amaze me. Since I was a kid, always when somebody in the house shouted „það eru Norðurljós,“ I ran outside to look at them in wonder, and I still do :)

This is a dream that has been sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo long in my bucket list... I don't know if I ever will be able to fulfil it as life this decade has become a little by dystopian for me
I often dream of them, and paint them and even have made a full song about them
*Oh Northern Lights
Cleave this deathless night
lingering above embroidering the sky"
This is my song "Northern Lights"

Lucky you, and thanks for sharing

What a wonderful experience and adventure 😄 I dream to see the auroras one day. Also the scenery in the last picture looks so magical, I'm in awe.

Congratulations @fredrikaa! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 26000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 27000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from February day 22
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Wow looks great. I would love to see them. I am from Ireland and only just last week , you could see them in Northern Donegal vaguely but its on the bucket list.