The season ain't over before I've skied shirtless! - Meet me in my right element😎🎿

in Amazing Nature3 years ago (edited)

There is this saying about being in one's "right element". For some, that's when they're swimming in the sea because they love it so much. It generally refers to when one is at their best, feeling the best and looking the best.

I've always felt that I'm at a peak whenever I get to go skiing while it is warm enough that doing so shirtless is not only doable, but fantastic. Today was this year's first!

IMG_20210501_175141_056.jpg

Me skiing on Saturday this weekend about 1000 meters above sea level in Fidjeland, Norway. Feeling at my very best!


There's just something incredible about the whole experience. Feeling free. Feeling one with nature. Feeling refreshed. Feeling sporty and cool. Enjoying the heat and the weather while also enjoying the skiing and the sights. It's just amazing. Also, due to being so high up above sea level and also getting the sun reflecting off the snow to hit your body, this results in a way better and faster tanning than what you'll get om the beach in mid June.

I guessf or me I also just can't help but enjoy a bit of showing off as well since I tend to stay fit throughout the year... But that's just an added bonus 😜.

Screenshot_20210501_173828_com.instagram.android_edit_167294611941659.jpg

Me and my mother at our first stop of the trip to get a drink.

We're lucky to have a cabin at 700 meters above sea level with direct access to mountains right behind us that stays snowy until June. Meaning that all of May one can usually enjoy trips like these with warm and comfortable weather. Sure, some may say that 8 degrees Celsius is not that warm, but when the sun is as intense as it is at these altitudes this time of the year, then it still feels like summer.

IMG_20210501_124625.jpg

There's still plenty of snow up in the mountains, allowing for great cross-country skiing! But the heat also means that the snow is starting to collapse over the rivers as well, creating some beautiful spectacles (but also dangers) all over the place.

Needless to say, I've thus had yet another fantastic weekend. My last actually before returning back to Oslo noe that my post-covid symptoms are finally beginning to relax. So enjoying a few more late evenings in the sunny side of the cabin watching the sun come down later and later in the evening has been exactly what I've needed

IMG_20210501_215731.jpg

IMG_20210501_181719.jpg


How could anyone not enjoy spending time out like this enjoying the view with a good drink?!?

Anyway, that's it for me for now. While I know I'll be missing these days, I also can't wait to get back to work and also meetup with friends again in Oslo. Covid-related restrictions are finally starting to ease and the summer weather is always a month ahead there compared to Stavanger. So I'm sure I'll be leaving one great place for another!

Hope you've all had a fine weekend:)

Fredrik


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

Oh! That is life! When I was a teenager, we would ski in shorts and a barely-there shirt! We were never cold at that time of year, although we had more trouble finding snow than you!

It is life indeed!! Absolutely love it!
Nice to hear you used to enjoy it too and have fine memories of it:).

Where in the world did you use to ski then?


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Oh, yes! Colorado most times and Vermont, in New England. They used to have Spring snow and it was the best snow in my opinion and of years late, snow is not as much. :(

That is the best experiencie, friend to feel one with nature and enjoy the things that we like because the latter was very hard because of what we experienced during the confinements in our countries. And of course in a place like this you must have a great weekend.

You really should have made this NSFW. :-)
Photos of you shirtless in the snow are sure to send the ladies of Hive wild.

Haha! I don't think you want to boost my ego this much 😂


Posted via proofofbrain.io

That's called life . You are enjoying the most beautiful moment there.

That's for sure!

Wow what a beautiful day you had for it!! Perfect

Seeing that first picture made me realize it's squat o'clock. 😂

Looks like a great time!

Someone is in a really great shape and is really brave to get the clothes off in the snow eheheeh :P Glad to see you are having fun!