Pellucid Hawk Moth

in Amazing Nature4 years ago

9196HawkMoth.JPG

Cephonodes hylas - Pellucid Hawk Moth of the family Sphingidae found in Africa south of the Sahara, Asia and Australia.

Never having seen a Hawk moth previously it was a matter of taking photography on the first day finding it on the ground. Is it a butterfly or is it a moth sprang to mind.

9230HawkMoth.JPG

Transparent wings on this hawk moth with unusual fuzzy colours on the body definitely stands out as being something totally different. Next was what amazing eyes, my very first impression looking at this moth.

SA_Hive_LineBreak.png

Retreating indoors to find out more about what I had observed, and obviously keep learning more. Helpful interesting content found

9245HawkMoth.JPG

The following day it was in the same place, realizing research on previous day indicated end of life with this behaviour (between 10 to 30 days),

I gently lifted him onto a fibre cloth for closer inspection and measurement to record the size more accurately.

9249HawkMothMeasurement.JPG

On leaving the moth back in the garden a day later is was no more so hopefully soon I will see caterpillar resembling ones displayed in content researched to watch a cycle in the life of another of natures little secrets.

9262HawkMoth.JPG

Having some plants in the garden mentioned they enjoy, I am hopeful of seeing more in the coming years.

SA_Hive_LineBreak.png

Entry for #amazingnature August contest with @adalger

All photography is my own, any queries or requests please drop a comment below, have a wonderful day! Photography without tripod go with the flow wherever life takes you.

Thought for Today: "The insect that eats the leaf is under the leaf." - African Proverb

Places to Enjoy On Hive: #powerhousecreatives hive-114105, #qurator hive-102880, #featheredfriends @melinda010100 in hive-106444, #wednesdaywalk @tattoodjay in hive-155530, #amazingnature @adalger in hive-127788, #alwaysaflower @dswigle in hive-154065, #feelgood community @barbara-orenya in hive-19093, #theterminal learn Hive @thekittygirl @brittandjosie in hive-101265

!pinmapple -30.0836005 lat 30.8678566 long Sapphire Coast South Africa D3SCR

QuriteS.png

QuratorLogo.png

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Thanks for mapping @pinmapple appreciated.

I love these insects (or are they not insects?) in nature. Reminds me of the first hummingbird moth that I saw and I actually thought it was a hummingbird at first. She is so deceptive, nature is. :))

I too am fascinated by the cycles of life - so many changes in such a short period of time.

Thank you always for your awesome posts! Have a great night!

!tip

I recall the hummingbird moth you photographed and thought how unusual it was this one drinks from flowers in a similar way to the hummingbird or our sunbird.

Now I am aware of them I will be more on the lookout, apparently more of a night flying insect, those wings and eyes, wow they are so amazing!

Got you bright and early in the morning over here, it is our Heritage day so later off to my brother to see his new puppy. (Not such a new arrival, found destitute on the side of a road just before our lock down. They took him to the vet where he remained for two months while getting his health back.) Now on full road to recovery and adopted into their home.

Will catch you later or tomorrow, have a wonderful day when you arrive Denise.

!BEER


Hey @dswigle, here is a little bit of BEER from @joanstewart for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

🎁 Hi @joanstewart! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

 4 years ago  

How are you dear friend @joanstewart good afternoon
What a beautiful find, I must admit that I was completely unaware of its existence, I appreciate very much that you let us know and offered us all this information
I take this opportunity to wish you a wonderful afternoon

Some most unusual beauties waiting for us to see them, never understood how anyone can become bored in life, ah nature my solace my refuge always @jlufer

Have a wonderful day and thank you for visiting.

 4 years ago  

You are very right dear friend @joanstewart
Nature is incredible, there are thousands of beautiful things to see and discover, I don't know how there can be people who want to damage them
have a wonderful night

 4 years ago  

The Hawk moth was a nice find Joan. I have one that comes here a few days every summer.- maybe not always the same one. It makes one wonder at first if it is a butterfly. They look to be part bee and part butterfly.
!tip

One article I read author in Australia made me smile suggesting moth, butterfly or cicada. Always fun finding intriguing insects, sadly very short life cycle.

I had a young Natal bush snake visiting my verandah yesterday, green snake with black spots sunning itself where I left it to enjoy first very hot day at 37 deg C, today back down to 20 deg C, bouncy weather with change in seasons.

 4 years ago  

OMG Joan, you were brave letting that snake sun itself on your veranda. I would have run screaming miles away as if the devil himself stopped for a visit. Crazy phobia! We have no poisonous snakes here but that doesn’t matter to me, they are all frightening.

I blame my mother for my phobia (got to blame someone).😀 If she saw a snake in the garden she would scream and yell run ! She was also afraid of mice but I never picked up that fear.

🎁 Hi @joanstewart! You have received 0.1 HBD tip from @redheadpei!

@redheadpei wrote lately about: Tails, Tea And Thor Feel free to follow @redheadpei if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.