The sky as a canvas for our thoughts

It’s easy to admire the beautiful land and sea here on the southernmost shores of Africa, they are epic and naturally attractive. And there is an abundance of wide open empty space as far as the eye can see when you’re on these shores. However, today I want to add to this the appreciation for the sky.

20220514_095852.jpg
The focus here is on the sky rather than the land or sea, which are merely frames attempting to contain the boundless heavens

I know we all have land and a few also have sea, and of course we all have sky wherever we are on the planet. Yet the sky is not the same for everyone due to local conditions being so diverse. You may see your sky as mostly grey or pale or smoggy if you are in a cold climate or big city.

I am sure the sky does not get as much appreciation as the land and sea. Perhaps we take it for granted. I must have been a bit spaced out when I took these photos at one of my favorite little hidden places on the cliff edge recently. My head was in the clouds. Nevertheless, I want to share these abstract sky photos with you today.

20220514_100120.jpg
Here I try to capture the sky once more, this time in pools of water, held by earth, and yet the sky remains elusive

When you are an admirer of clouds, then it takes a little reminding sometimes to keep your feet on the ground. Fortunately it does incline you to keep looking up. And when life is looking up, I am inspired. Little things like random clouds are not for everyone, of course. You could say small things amuse small minds.

20220514_100750.jpg
A fly-by by the rulers of the sky

Well these may be small issues but they are giant clouds in a limitless sky – or so it appears from my earth-bound point of reference. I envy the birds who are the only ones to really own the sky and make it there own. What a sense of freedom they have. I feel liberated just watching how they glide effortlessly along these cliffs, catching the up-draughts with ease. With not even a single flap of a wing, they can glide vast distances in a moment.

20220514_100748.jpg
The sky continues to evade capture as the earth pushes into view

That is such a feeling of Zen lightness, from my heavy earthy point of view. The effortless way, the art of doing less to achieve more. The skill of harnessing the almost limitless energy which is all around us to achieve all you could wish for and more... that is what I see in these rulers of the sky as they glide on by.

20220514_100819.jpg
Inhaling the sky has left me high - since oxygen is like love, or is it the other way around?

If you listen to rock music, you may have heard of the Foo Fighters, a world famous rock band – from Seattle if I remember correctly - that used to be called Nirvana before their legendary lead singer Kurt Cobain left the building. They have a song called “The Sky is a Neighborhood”.
Listen here

These photos today made me think of their song. You might know of some other songs about the sky. Add them below in the comments and let’s see what we have for a playlist while we admire the clouds passing by on a dreamy day or the stars on a clear night. Perhaps the Beatles song “Lucy in the Sky with Diamonds” might be more appropriate for today’s cloud watching dreamscapes.

20220514_100841.jpg
As long as you are skyclad, you are never without shelter as the arms of Nuit embrace you

The sky here in distant spaced out South Africa is so bright and clear, thanks to the overall conditions and it looks crisp and clear and clean. I must be an airhead today, chasing clouds across the landscape and capturing them in my cloud box to post here for your viewing pleasure. Have as much of it as you want, I have loads.

(photos my own)

Sort:  

Me too.

That's all.

Me too!

Except this is a next level post and photos

You're definitely inspired and in flow at present 💗☝️

Hahaha many thanks Nicky.

Breaking out of the traditional land-locked paradigm and flying high.

I spend more tike gazing up at the sky than anywhere else on earth

I get it in full :D

It puts everything into perspective!

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

We appreciate your work and your publication has been hand selected by the geography curation team on behalf of the Amazing Nature Community. Keep up the good work!

Awesome thank you so much geography team, I feel a sense of belonging for my posts in your curation trail.