Amazing Nature Contest - Walk on the water with a member of the Pleuston 'community'

in Amazing Nature4 years ago

1001.jpg

Perhaps it is not an oddity for someone to try to imagine that he can walk on water when he sees these insects walking easily on water - wasn't it a fun fact when it was said that scientists study them in the hope of finding hydrophobic materials and helping things move faster on water (I read that here).

In fact, the insects not only walk easily, but also they slide very fast there. Science has found that they often move at a speed of 1 meter per second or even faster. It is actually an observable reality, so I also have a very hard time getting their picture clearly. But the few times I come across them, I always try to take pictures of them. I took these pictures when they were swarming in still water or a very slow current along a river bank.

1001.jpg

1005.jpg

1007.jpg
(The black spots visible on the surface of the water are the Water Striders taking shelter under bamboo leaves in a calm stream.)

It was amazing to watch the three sets of legs of them skate to and fro. The three sets of legs are front, middle and back. These legs allow them to evenly distribute body weight over a large surface area and adapt to water movement. The longer hind legs are like a rudder. The middle legs are used for rowing, while the front legs are for catching the prey of various insects that fall into the water as well as sensors for various vibrations of water ripples. Those legs are actually the secret of the Water Striders ability to walk on water. On their legs there are small hairs that are hydrophobic, which repel water and catch air. One more thing they use to walk on water is the surface tension of the water above which there is only air where a very fine membrane is formed and that is used by the Water Striders to walk.

1003.jpg

1002.jpg

With such abilities, they always managed to dodge when I approached, and returned to where they were when I was away. I've also noticed they don't like heat. They often take shelter in the shade of tree leaves. Once I was able to shoot them up a little closer was the exception, and that too nearly failed.

1004.jpg
(And this is a river in Aceh where I take pictures of them.)


"My blog is my journal" (short notes containing experiences about various things).

Thank you for visiting.

Sort:  

that is a damn good macro! how did you shoot it (which lens) ?.. are those insects of a decent size? I ask cause we have another specie which is less then 1cm long, and getting a decent macro of it was... extremely difficult!

You are exaggerating it too much, @qwerrie! 😃 Those are still poor quality pictures that I took with a normal smartphone camera. We've both seen macro photos that are much better than that. But that's okay, I take it as a compliment. 😁 Thank you very much. After all, the size of the species I photographed was more than two centimeters. So, the difficulty for me is actually not small, but in that they move very fast and almost never stop. I shot them dozens of times, but only a few photos I can use.😅

I totally understand! when the object is small, decent macro is harder to get than in case when it is medium-size. good lighting and stand-stillness are key factors too. thats why I asked about the size. and I know these beasts are damn fast!! and scary, they do not let you come close for a decent macro.
this summer I got a few pics too - on a pure occasion! I was lying on my belly near pond - meditatively took photos of lillies - and suddenly a strider arrived and standed in water right behind my lens! I made ideal shots - but all of them are .... hmmm... in comparison with yours... well, lets say it this way: your is more intresting in colour and detalisation. and I was using something better then a smartphone, I should confess
:)

let me show you the certain pic I shared here before:

img_1827w.jpg

I was proud of it very much, but I think yours is better.
uh? what will you say?

Wow! 😍 Everyone will know for sure your photo is much better. No doubt. Perfect from all sides, and even describes objects without having to say anything. See how the legs press against the surface of the water. So wonderful! Coupled with a compelling story of your experience, it becomes absolutely perfect. 😍

hmm... well, if you say so... still, my strider is grey and dull, no fancy details. maybe the photo is perfect but your strider I like very much -- for it has more details to enjoy in his outlook. and the tip was not needed here, to pay for my exaggerated emotions :)

See how the legs press against the surface of the water. So wonderful!

Don't get me wrong, that tip is actually for your strider legs (haha). I describe in my writing how they use the fine membrane over the surface of the water to walk, but I don't provide pictures for! Your strider has helped explain my description. I think, because of that, we have created a post together. So, thank you very much for that. I really like and appreciate the comments that contributed to the explanation. :)

Hi friend.
Enjoying your posts. The engineering of these insects as you explain it, was the object of investigation to offer experimental results. My brother once told me that these types of insects select the places where the current flows to attract the attention of the female, I think it worked for him because there was mention in your speech about it.
I continue to support you and enjoy your journal.

Always glad with your comments, and thanks a lot. :). This freshwater insect from the Hemiptera order does have many amazing things besides being able to walk on water. I only highlight from that side only. While another thing that is very interesting regarding what your brother said, that in their mating behavior they communicate using ripples. Ripple communication! How amazing is that! The ripple frequency produced by the male is a signal to inform and obtain the necessary information, then, if the information obtained is as desired, it will send another signal to invite, then there will be acceptance or rejection from the other side. :D So, isn't this some very romantic silence in still water, in amazing nature?

Hello @keuudeip, how interesting what you say about these insects I did not know they were subjects of study, I imagine that in the great ambition that man to walk on water, if we can fly because we do not walk on water.

Beautiful photography, its legs look like tubes, I liked your post very much, for the images, information and how you tell the story.

You are a strong competitor in the contest for me this week, thanks for making it difficult for me hehehe is a compliment.

Hi, @soyunasantacruz!

Hahaha..Thank you very much for your very nice words for my post. I am very happy to be your competitor.. haha. You are a formidable opponent, and more than that, very beautiful. Thank you a lot!

Thank you for the compliment, even though you have not seen me made up and fixed 🤪

If she sees me like this she falls in love 😘😬, thanks @keuudeip