Nature's own defense system and water tanks - Thorny Cacti and Succulents

in Amazing Nature4 years ago (edited)

Dynamite comes in small packages, so the saying goes about people of small stature; many whose tongues are just as sharp as the tiny Cactus below with razor-sharp thorns!

CACTI

Those thorns, prickles and spines that are found on the Cactus plants have a number of important functions:

  • Defense mechanism, as they deter predators from eating the plant.
  • Collects fluids like water and dew.
  • Provides shade and insulation, protecting the plants from extreme temperatures.

20200930_123033.jpg
Parodia rutilans
This little Cactus is a perfect little water tank and its brown spines look real threatening. It does flower and apparently produces a stunning yellow or purplish flower; mine has not flowered yet, so I'm curious to know which colour flower it will produce.

Prickles and prickly people
This is one plant I certainly won't be touching with bare hands; just like some would put on boxing gloves to tackle those prickly people, but I prefer to charm them into submission, works a hundred fold better than boxing gloves!


IMG_20180710_115155.jpg
Aloe Arborescens
Also known as the Candelabra Plant or the Krantz Aloe, this medicinal plant aids in the healing of wounds in animals, and also used by humans for burn wounds. It grows to a height of over 5 feet and has beautiful bright red flowers.


20200705_125602.jpg
Aloe Ferox
The gel extracted from this plant, commonly known as the Cape Aloe, is dried into crystal form and used as a natural detox and also as an alkaline; beneficial for those afflicted with Gout and GERD.
The oil found in the seeds contains the fatty acids linoleic, stearic and oleic which is widely used in cosmetic manufacturing.


20200927_113304.jpg

Triangle Cactus
I call these my spiky guardian pillars as I have two at the entrance of our front patio, so tread carefully when you enter ;)
Their spines are razor sharp and super thin so although it's not poisonous, it can penetrate deeply and as it can have bacteria, it can also cause an infection.


20200927_113401.jpg

Aloe Vera
This valued Cactus has many health benefits:
Excellent for heartburn, digestion, constipation,liver health and also used topically for skin ailments, sunburn and in cosmetics.


Aloe Dorotheae
The stiff, jagged, orange-red leaves of the Sunset Aloe form around a lime green centre, offering mounds of colour all year. Spikes of green-tipped, yellow flowers appear in winter.

20200529_102942.jpg
My plant appears to have a disease, so the leaves are not as colourful as they should be.


SUCCULENTS

20200930_152834.jpg

IMG_20180227_1644131632x920.jpg
Haworthia margaritifera
Also known as the Pearl Plant, this slow-growing, attractive succulent resembles an Aloe, and is perfect for growing in a container. It grows in rosettes and is covered with white tubercles or pearls.


IMG_20170608_145250.jpg
String of Pearls
This succulent looks like pearls, hence the name, and bears tiny flowers that have a heady, intoxicating spicy scent reminiscent of cloves and cinnamon; really lovely especially in the early evening.
We run a BnB and one young guest enquired whether this was a Pea Plant, thinking this was how Peas grow:)


20200815_132315.jpg
TROPICA - Hottentots Fig
This succulent, creeping plant has medical value and also is an ornamental plant with bright coloured flowers. The fruits are edible and resemble smaller figs.


IMG_20190518_070919.jpg
Senecio kleiniiformis
Commonly known as a Spear Head, this is a valuable ground cover that produces very pretty clusters of tiny orange flowers, and is super easy to propagate.


20200627_163604.jpg
Begonia
Begonias have succulent stems which stores water that the plant uses during the dry periods of the year. They almost die off in winter, becoming dormant but as soon as spring arrives, they come to life and produce the most stunning flowers.


20200612_131750.jpg
Sedum morganianum
Also known as Burro's Tail Cactus, this is not technically a cactus but a succulent.
This succulent is a graceful decorative plant to grow in a hanging pot.


20200408_135713.jpg
Pachypodium lamerei
I was totally off the mark thinking this is a Euphorbia of sorts, but thanks to @nikv of the Succulent Growers Community I now know that it actually is called a Pachypodium lamerei, also known as a Madagascan Palm as they are found on the island of Madagascar on the East Coast of Africa.
It has a thick stem for storing water, has razor sharp spines and requires very little care but makes an interesting show in a container. They produce large fragrant flowers, so I'm looking forward to seeing that!


IMG_20180119_094956.jpg
A pretty hanging basket filled with various succulents; the Desert Roses trying their best to outdo and overpower all the other plants; just like some people I know ;)


The reason I chose Cacti and Succulents as My Amazing Nature entry, is that these plants really fascinate me:

  • The fact that they have their own defense mechanism and water storage system and that many of the species are able to survive in arid regions. Aren't most of us like that as well, when times are tough?
  • As in my opening paragraph, the similarity of those thorns and spines that protect them reminds me of us humans who develop our own defense mechanism against the knocks of life! I've met a number of people who have the same kind of thorns on the outside, but a heart full of gold inside.
  • Further, the medicinal and cosmetic value is absolutely amazing; nature still provides the very best medicine!

While doing research for my blog, I found it really interesting to learn that although all cacti are succulents, not all succulents are cacti!


This is my entry into the awesome Amazing Nature Community DNA project: Amazing Nature Contest - September 2020 - #04.

AMazing Nature Banner.jpg

Clickable Banner for free usage. Redirects to the Amazing Nature Community

AMazing Nature Barbara Orenya.png
Clickable Banner by @barbara-orenya

Heart page break.png
Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by
Copyright @lizelle – All Rights Reserved


Banner created by @derangedvisions


Banner created by @zord189

Sort:  

My mom always said she visited Durban in winter for colour, when nearly all these cactus and succulents flower, some only once in a lifetime! Once you start taking note of how many it is staggering @lizelle nice informative share!

Your Mom was a wise woman, I find there's way more colour in our winter garden generally, plus our weather is so good here in winter! I honestly wouldn't survive in the colder provinces, thought of that again over the weekend with that cold spell!
I'm so glad I found this tag, think on one of your posts actually, and that there's a Succulents Community as well.
You're so tight, walking around the garden, I keep on spotting dozens more, they're such interesting plants!
Thank you so much for visiting!

Humidity starting now after the rain is what gets me, we are escaping up to the mountains for a week from Friday. I will try pop in now and again, doubt I will post content up there going to relax and enjoy the views. Look after yourselves and take care.

Hi @lizelle Your "Euphorbia" isn't a euphorbia at all, its Pachypodium lamerei, also called Madagascan palm. Some people also call them "halfmens" although that isn't a true Halfmens, those look similar but are found in Namibia.

Your Aloe Dorothea isn't looking good because it is infested with Agave running bug. Spray all the leaves and especially near the crown with Malasol spray and repeat after 2 weeks to get rid of it

Thank you so much, I really appreciate your help in identifying it; searched high and low for the correct name!
I'm going to have to edit my post to correct that, you're a star!
I will follow your advice as that poor Aloe really looks sick, they're usually so gorgeous.

Pleasure!

Yes, do spray it: those agave running bugs are a curse and can kill aloes if the infestation gets bad enough

 4 years ago  

This collection is absolutely beautiful,well described and characterized and reads like a compendium, hehe .. Amazing post @lizelle ^^ .. I am going to forward you to the AN-OCD channel with this one ;)

Thank you so very much for the nice comments and the curation @adalger, much appreciated;)
I'm so glad I found this community!

Excellent article @lizelle.
Beautiful photos, great info. I love the pearl plant and chuckled at the guest asking if it was peas, cute.
Have a wonderful day !!

Thank you @farm-mom, she was such a cutey pie as well;)
Hope you're all keeping well and Covid-free my friend, it's so nice seeing you again!

Hey @lizelle, yes praise God we are all well here. It's nerve wrecking some days, but I am getting better at keeping my mind clear of the covid crud.
Nice seeing you too!!

Wow. Some of them we have, and some we don't. Just generally speaking we probably have something close.

We have the amazing Saguaro cactus (It's the state plant of Arizona) that lives to be 100 years old or more. They will get 10 meters tall and often have a ton of water on board.

We have several Aloe but I'm not sure if A Vera is native or just an 'everybody has one' transplant. I know I rub the gel on a lot of topical spots...

Thanks Lizelle. It's a truly wonderful post.

I'm so glad you enjoyed it, funny I never liked succulents and Cacti when I was young, but now that I'm older; note the difference between older and old, which I'm not;)...I really enjoy these plants as they're just so interesting!
Thank you for popping in @bigtom13, have yourself a wonderful weekend!

I too know the difference between older and old. Ahahahahaha.

I told a friend the other day "Generally speaking I don't like old people and I AM one."

Haha that's so funny, I know exactly what you mean! Some of 'them' can be so grumpy and miserable and I really hope I don't get like that;)
But I think it's often their inability to cope with the blows life has dealt tbem, or loneliness too.
We're still young methinks @bigtom13;)

Aging is mandatory, becoming old is almost entirely optional. That's my story and I'm sticking to it!