Thematic Challenge - #3/11/21 - Spathiphyllum. Transferring to a new Pot

in Amazing Nature2 years ago

IMG_9862.jpg

Now I am at the stage of creating coziness in my new home, so I partially buy some things. So a few days ago I bought a new houseplant. I went to the flower shop for a long time in search of an interesting plant for my home. In the end, I noticed a plant called "Spathiphyllum" (the name is rather complicated and difficult to pronounce the first time). Now, this plant has only long green leaves, but very soon I think it will bloom its first flowers.

I decided to try to participate in the competition organized by the community Amazing Nature - Thematic Challenge - #3/11/21

IMG_9856.jpg

I want to show you some pictures of my house plant. You will see the whole process of transplanting Spathiphyllum into a new pot, since the pot in which I bought it is too small. I hope you will be interested in the whole process. There are many photos waiting for you.

IMG_9742.jpg

IMG_9744.jpg

I settled down in a convenient place for me in the middle of the room. Even when I was in a flower shop, I was also advised to buy drainage and special soil for Spathiphyllum.

IMG_9752.jpg

IMG_9759.jpg

I chose the beige transplant pot as it was the perfect color scheme for my home.

IMG_9777.jpg

So at the very beginning, I put the drainage on the bottom of the pot, which is necessary for the plants in the pot. If you don't already know, drainage maintains the moisture level in the soil and removes excess moisture.

IMG_9794.jpg

IMG_9789.jpg

IMG_9807.jpg

Then I switched to a special soil for Spathiphyllum. As I noticed, this soil contains small white stones and also dry roots.

IMG_9809.jpg

IMG_9814.jpg

I used an iron spatula so as not to get my hands dirty and to carefully cover all the areas in the pot.

IMG_9821.jpg

The most dangerous thing for me was to get the plant out of the pot in which he lived for a long time. Fortunately for me, it turned out pretty quickly and easily and I did not damage the roots of Spathiphyllum.

IMG_9818.jpg

IMG_9823.jpg

IMG_9824.jpg

I added some earth to the bottom of the pot to create the necessary height for the Spathiphyllum. Then the flower was already in the center of the pot and I just had to fill in the soil around the edges.

IMG_9827.jpg

IMG_9828.jpg

IMG_9830.jpg

IMG_9832.jpg

It took me a few minutes and the flower was completely filled with soil. Then I just pressed the ground lightly with my fingers for better shrinkage.

IMG_9835.jpg

IMG_9836.jpg

I was left with a little mess with the scattered earth, but I was satisfied with the whole process of transplanting Spathiphyllum.

IMG_9838.jpg

IMG_9842.jpg

I could not resist and took the first few pictures of Spathiphyllum in a new pot on the spot.

IMG_9844.jpg

IMG_9847.jpg

IMG_9848.jpg

And this is already the place where my Spathiphyllum will live. I think he decorated my window perfectly.

IMG_9850.jpg

IMG_9857.jpg

I hope you were interested in watching the whole process of transplanting Spathiphyllum into a new pot and a large number of photos did not bore you (I liked them all).

IMG_9852.jpg

I was glad to take part in the competition from Amazing Nature

IMG_9865.jpg

IMG_9868.jpg


**

All photos are mine and the work done belongs to me.



Camera: Canon EOS 70D
Camera Lens: Canon EF 50mm f/1.8
Camera Settings: Diaphragm f/2| Excerpt 1/160s | ISO 800


**


Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Thank you for entering the competition.
Informative instruction on how to transplant a plant :-).

mod.png

It was interesting for me to take part in your competition :)

 2 years ago  

:-)

I call them Peace Lilies. They are great plants to have in the home and the flowers are simple and beautiful. I find it needs more water than my other plants, but it looks like you have a little helper already giving it a drink.. so no worries there! Too cute and sweet photography too! You have an eye for it. Best wishes on your new home and take care of that plant!!! hehe.

Thanks for your comment:), and I am also delighted with this plant and look forward to when it blooms with white flowers.🏵