Hostile ground?

in Amazing Nature2 years ago (edited)

IMG_20220901_100439.jpg

Hey, so today is the first of September - I exclaimed happily. But just a few moments later I wondered why I was so happy at that knowledge. No logic here as I will have to start working just in a few days. Yes, Monday is the end of my two-month summer vacation, and I can't be really happy and excited about that.

These days that I am enjoying now, going to those places I really like will cease. I will still have time, yes, but half of my days will have to be spent in a classroom and not in the mountain, forest or at beach. You see, nothing to celebrate about the start of the new month hahaha. However, to use these last free days to the maximum we go almost every day to a different place on our Mediterranean seashore. Not so far, though.

IMG_20220901_101005.jpg

To arrive at this hidden beach (which can't be called a real beach, as it is a huge rocky formation with two small coves on each side of it) we need around 20 minutes of driving. Then a narrow path that leads us down to the shore, which is sometimes a bit dangerous as from the dense vegetation you don't see if another vehicle is coming your way. Once you park and start to walk to the rock, all this is forgotten and just the anticipation of a great time is in your mind.

IMG_20220901_100738.jpg

The water here is clear and deep, surrounded just by other cliffs and stones. You could think that the stones are destined to live alone, that the surface is so hostile that nothing can grow there.

But...

That is wrong.

I saw that there are plants that like to live in this combination of salty water and rocky surface.
So, let me introduce you to:

Crithmum maritimum

IMG_20220901_100842.jpg

This plant is also known as rock samphire.
It grows exactly in these circumstances, where the wind is a constant guest and the waves from the sea are not missing either. Seems that this plant doesn't need much more to live its happy life, just a crack in the stone.

IMG_20220901_100517.jpg

IMG_20220901_100506_BURST1.jpg

At first, I thought that it is a kind of a succulent, then I concluded that it isn't. {edit: But in reality, it IS an edible succulent}. Both leaves and stems can be consumed, and it is common to prepare them with vinegar, water and salt.

IMG_20220901_100704.jpg

Although I didn't pick any leave of it to take home and put into some of the dishes, I still liked to observe this plant and be amazed at how it grows in these tiny cracks of the rocks. But knowing that it contains iodine, mineral salts, carotenoids, and even vitamin C among others, maybe I should have to take a few branches with me.

IMG_20220901_100325.jpg

Rock samphire is blooming right now, from the beginning of September until the end of October. I think I was lucky to see it right now when the lovely yellow flowers were adoring the fleshy leaves and branches.

IMG_20220901_100900_BURST1.jpg

As the place is not that far away, maybe I still visit it this autumn and pick a piece of it. Also, the view is not so bad, so it definitely will not be the last time I am here. It wasn't the first, either. Who would not love to come here and jump from the stone to the fresh water on a warm day?

IMG_20220901_171337.jpg

mipiano_-_MP.png

Sort:  

hi @mipiano ! Amazing post and even more surprising as we apparently did the same discover at few days of distance ^^ I made a post about it too haha !

I tried it, it’s quite good, tasting a bit like carrot :)

Seems like you had a nice time there ! Take care 🍀

What a coincidence, indeed!

I promise, I didn't copy your discovery hahaha

We went this morning and I saw them all around those stones. Didn't try it, but you say it tastes like a carrot? Sweet? I would like it then! :)

Hahaha ! I find it nice precisely :)
To see the same thing under an other but close perspective !

I hope you'll like it.. Can't wait to try a dish with it, but I'm currently in the train going the opposite, typing an other article ^^

Have a sweet evening @mipiano !

Ha! I just remember I saw then in your post too :)

Seems they are blooming right now everywhere :)))

hehe ;-) but I've to say the pictures looks better... Haha ! Differences come from the location, South or North seas maybe !?

indeed ! time to harvest some... too late, I’m already back in Paris ^^

Enjoy your Sunday dear, I hope you’re doing well 🤞🏼

Oh, back in Paris! 😎

Hahah, too late for me too, lol, already at work now (well, if playing the piano at one place could be called work 😉 )

next time near the see ;-)
Ohh, it’s sounds like work for me, depends of the intensity and intention of it, but for you it definitely seems to be the case !!

We have them here too. I was sure (though never checked) they are a type of succulent too. The leaves look like that.

Such a cool, rocky shore...

Yes, the leaves are so fleshy. I should have picked some and tasted it.

That rocky place... will miss these free days soon 😭

Edit: in the end, seems that it IS an edible succulent 😂 edited in the post too hahaha

Not a beach at all. It is a cliff and something that speaks doom! 😂

And even down it's still missing the sand to become a beach. But it does look like an interesting place to go and contemplate life and the sea.

I think I saw that plant once in a post about edible plants but it was someone growing it in their garden.

So, vacations are almost over, huh? I see you've done a lot during this summer break. Such beautiful and deep posts! But there will come the classes and the posts will keep coming and have a different setting.

But exactly that is why I like it, just stones and deep and clean water! Also, a variety of so nice fish (I was snorkelling a bit today too) so one of the top places on my liking list!

Yes, vacations are in the fading phase. The summer was great, with some hiccups but in general, I would repeat it right now hahahaha. Lessons start on Monday...

You've been on full blown adventure mode! That's great. Enjoy these last bits of freedom! Lessons starting on Monday brings me back to end of vacations when I was at school. 😂

when I was at school. 😂

It's my doom until I work as a teacher lol

Ha, ha, ha. I bet 😂

How amazing how wonderful symbiosis is. These plants are adapted to this environment that would be impossible for other plants to resist. It really looks beautiful.

I am back to work today and I feel like you haha missing my vacation 🤦🏻♀️ I wish you the best on your return beautiful. Greetings 🤗

Oh, you are back to work too? Well, I guess we both had nice vacations and now we can start with charged batteries :D (I still have a few days, until Monday 😇 )
Exitos para ti también, espero nos acostrumbramos rápido a trabajar, de nuevo :))

I returned today after two years away hahaha is that since the pandemic we were sent home, until now is that we are returning in person. Blessings to you. Greetings 🤗

Ah, that's a lot of time!!!

I imagine that can be hard then, indeed.
We returned after the strict lockdowns but worked with masks. Just at the end of the last trimester, we went without them.

Sending you some hugs then, so the start is not hurting that much hahaha

When I saw the opening line, I was excited with you cos I thought your excitement had something to do with September being your birth month like me. Sorry about the end of your holidays, I hope the semester is exciting to make up for it:)

Does the rock samphire only grow near rocky beaches, I think I’ve seen something like it around here, but here is as far as far is from a beach lol so I’m not sure if that’s it.

Well, then happy birthday, somewhere in September for you :))

It's the end of the summer break, and yes, I also hope that the semester would be enough interesting to make up for not having these free days :D

As I read, this type is living just near the sea, in the cracks of the stones, so maybe you have seen a different type of plant that looked like this one.

Ah yes. I thought that much. I haven’t been around the sea before, I live far from it actually. First time is going to be so much fun(I hope)🙂.

Going back to work after the holiday, sometimes it's hard to take it easy. The preparation of a plant to eat caught my attention. Because in Turkey, we ripen some of our vegetables and fruits in a mixture prepared with rock salt, water and vinegar to prepare for winter. Thanks for this post.😊

I know, after such a great summer it is not easy to accept that I have to go back and work hahaha. But let's stay positive about it :))

Yes, there are many veggies that can be prepared in that way for the winter, my mom and grandmother also used to do it. I am a bit lazy for that though 😉

Thank you for your visit @tuba777 :))

Thank you for your nice comment :))

it is common to prepare them with vinegar, water and salt.

And it is delicious!
I think though that after it blooms it is pretty hard and unpleasant to eat. Maybe you'll get some next time :)

The common fennel is also better before it has flowers. It makes sense that it is the same case with this plant too :)

I appreciate your work and your post has been manually curated by Botanic team @oscurity on behalf of Amazing Nature Community. Keep up the good work!

If you want to receive votes from our DNA team, I invite you to create scientific content identifying the species photographed and using bibliographic sources!

Thank you for your support @oscurity and Amazing Nature Community :))

Manually curated by brumest from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Much appreciated the support 😇

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Thank you very much for this support @bhattg 😇

To be or not to be a succulent that is the question and @ewkaw might know the answer. They're interesting flora regardless. With a little vinegar, water and salt as you suggested I might need some fish and chippies to go along with with it.

When did it become September? Oh that's right, today 😀

Yeah, seems that it is a succulent, but you are right, without some fish and chips we would stay... hungry 🤪

Yeah, September is here already 😭

Hermoso tu post 😍 las fotos trasmiten calma y serenidad. Y la flor encierra una gran lección: Aguante ante las circunstancias más difíciles.
Eres una excelente escritora♥️☺️
Éxito en tu jornada laboral.

Saludos @mipiano

Oh, pues tienes razón y sacas un mensaje más profundo!! Aguante ante las circunstancias más difíciles!
Gracias por tu sabiduría @elizpc 😇

😍☺️♥️ Gracias a Dios que nos la regala a través de la naturaleza.🙏

Saludos 😘🤗

🤗🍀

Such an interesting plant @mipiano I saw another post too from @anttn about it 😉😎
Almost back to normal again… a new routine for a while.
Enjoy the last days. 👋🏻😊
Great captures.

Yes, he made a post too ;))
Just a few days earlier 😉
Yes, I will have to get used to the new routine 😂
And Monday for you means also a bit step. Successful moving 🤞

Yep, new routines for the both of us.
It does… good luck also going back to the class room, have fun… if I don’t speak to you before that 🤞🏻🤞🏻😉😊👋🏻
But probably will.

Night night @mipiano time to go 🥱😴😴😴
Sleep well!

Thank you, I will try to have fun :D

Good night to you too, and yes, probably we will talk somewhere here around anyway until Monday hahaha 😉

You are welcome 🤗
Thanks 🙏🏻 We probably will 😉👋🏻

A beautiful and amazing nature indeed!
Love the shots mam😍

Hey, thank you @mitch18

Nature is amazing, we just have to see it 😇

The photos look inviting, the rocks are so smooth and not so steep. The plants I have also heard about and when I was told that they are edible I was completely surprise. The colours of green and beige rock make a great combination :)

So you also heard this plant is edible. That's great, we learn something new every day :)
The rocks there are cool, I like them a lot! Thank you for stopping by 👋

Congratulations @mipiano! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-08 - Winners List
Be ready for the 9th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2022

🥳🥳🥳

Happy Hive PUD @mipiano 💪🐝

I had to tell you about this post, I loved that plant (a succulent that can be eaten? really?) growing on the rocks, I had never seen such a beautiful one, blooming on a rock 😍, how amazing it looks and it is really provoking to jump into the water hehe, if there are people who do it there from the top 🤔?

That place is beautiful to sit there on the rocks and watch a sunset, what a beauty!!!! 🙌😀💛

PS: I love all the pictures... You photographically Rockkkk!!!! 👍😉🔥📷❤️🌟🥂💥💫💯

Yes, an edible plant growing there in the rocks where nothing else can grow. How amazing, isn't it?

The place is so cool, I like it, but I do not jump hahaha, I just find my way to the water and then find the way out from it hahaha. The other day I actually fell, that day I took these photos. I stepped on some slippery algae on a rock as I was entering the water, and I slipped. I just crashed a bit my hands, but all good now :))

Thank you so much don Fer for checking out my posts 😇

Very cool that's how it is and hey, I wouldn't jump out of there either hahaha it's a little scary!!!!!

Glad you are ok and didn't get hurt, that seaweed will always be to be wary of!!! Keep on rocking with your wonderful tours, you make these posts so cool that one feels like we are with you in those landscapes 🙌😀💛!!!!!

See you on the road my dear @mipiano 🌹💖..... You Rockkk!!! 👍😉🔥📷❤️🌟🥂💥💫💯

Thanks for sharing your adventure with us. Its a tough call being a teacher and I think thats why we all love teachers but I believe the fun you had through the summer will be enough to see you through. Goodluck

Thank you for your encouragement. You are right, it is not that easy to be a teacher, it has some difficult parts but also it is sometimes very rewarding to see that someone is learning from us. :)