Cardinals And Some Bonus Birds

in Amazing Nature2 years ago

Title.JPG

     
     In my previous post, I introduced a couple of images that were edited using a color removal tool. The idea is to make an object really pop out by only keeping the colors I choose. I couldn't wait to try this on some bird images. I figured it would work the best with birds that have bright colors, like cardinals and blue jays. The blue jays haven't been around in a while, but, I've had plenty of visits from the cardinals. The results didn't disappoint.

     
Cardinal1.JPG
Cardinal1A.JPG

     
     
Cardinal2.JPG
Cardinal2A.JPG

     
     
Cardinal5.JPG
Cardinal5A.JPG

     
     
Cardinal6.JPG
Cardinal6A.JPG

     
     
Cardinal7.JPG
Cardinal7A.JPG

     
     
Cardinal8.JPG
Cardinal8A.JPG

     
     
Cardinal10.JPG
Cardinal10A.JPG

     
     
Cardinal17.JPG
Cardinal17A.JPG

     
     
Cardinal18.JPG
Cardinal18A.JPG

     
     It's true. The greater the contrast, the better the color edits work. I chose not to use it for the rest of the pictures in this post. These next two images are a rare time where I managed to capture the male and female cardinal together.

     
Cardinal3.JPG

Cardinal4.JPG

     
     When you spend as much time filming birds as I do, every once in a while you capture something on camera that is truly amazing. Many things have to come together for this to happen. It's not just about being in the right place at the right time. It's also having the camera pointed in the right spot with the proper focus. Most of the amazing footage I have is blurry and out of focus.

     Fortunately, this time was different. I happened to get a couple of good shots of a female cardinal in mid flight.

     
Cardinal11.JPG

Cardinal15.JPG

     
     Those might be my top two bird pictures. I have similar shots of a monarch butterfly which were posted previously. That's all I have for cardinals this time around. Now to finish this post with some bonus birds!

     First up is the bird, whose return, signifies the arrival of spring more than any other around here...the red-winged blackbird. The bright red and yellow feathers on their wings make me think of the tropics. Apparently I lied when I said I wasn't going to use color editing for the rest of this post. I did use it on one of the blackbird pictures. I liked the results, so I kept it in. Judge for yourself.

     
Red-winged Blackbird2.JPG

Red-winged Blackbird3.JPG
Red-winged Blackbird3A.JPG

     
     Up next, is a small bird I've posted about before. It grew to become on of my favorite birds over the winter. They are near the top when it comes to cuteness. I'm talking about the downy woodpecker.

     
Downy3.JPG

Downy4.JPG

     
     Next is a bird I haven't posted about before. I'm not entirely sure exactly what it is. I know it's a sparrow. There's so many different types of sparrows. I think this one is a fox sparrow, but don't quote me on that. Fox sparrows are one of the largest of the sparrows. And this one was quite, uh, plump.

     
FoxSparrow1.JPG

FoxSparrow2.JPG

     
     Finally, these two love birds kept me company all throughout the winter along with the downy couple. The mourning doves must have a nest right by my back porch because they are always right by the door. Usually, I don't even notice them until they fly away, giving me a little bit of a scare.

     Mourning doves are best known for their distinctive, mournful call. They are also known for the whistling sound their feathers make while taking off. Here is a picture of the happy couple.

     
Doves.JPG

     

LogoStripSmaller.gif

     
     Wherever we are, we are surrounded by nature. It's always trying to communicate with us. Take time to notice. #NoticeNature.
     


All gifs and images are my own unless otherwise stated.


     

LogoStripSmaller.gif

     


     

Collect/Trade cards! Battle in tournaments! Join a guild! Earn crypto! Explore The Splinterlands and join the fun! Click The Banner Below...
SplinterlandsLink.jpg

     


     

Join the family...