Do Ladybugs Really Like Jelly?

in Amazing Nature3 years ago (edited)

Let me know what, that which I can prove as real.

LogoStripSmaller.gif

     I'm not the type of person who just believes something because someone says it or I read it somewhere. Nope. I understand that every experience is unique, with it's own set of circumstances. I also have a decent understanding of human nature. So, it's always been important to me to verify, verify some more, and verify again.

     I hadn't planned on starting this out on such a deep note. This is a post about a ladybug, after all. But, it's due to that truth-seeking attitude that I find joy in discovering even the simplest of truths.


     Native ladybugs prefer to remain outdoors as winter approaches. But, the Asian Ladybugs will sometimes seek shelter in people's homes as the temperature drops. Asian Lady Beetles are common guests in my home.

     The Asian relatives of ladybugs are a little bigger and more aggressive than their counterparts. They are also orange in color instead of red. The easiest way to identify them, though, is by the black "W" or "M" just behind their heads.


The white spots create a "W" behind the head.



Another view of the mark behind the head.


     Because I get so many ladybugs in my home, I've done quite a bit of research on them. Most people are aware of how helpful they are to farmers and gardeners due to their appetite for aphids. But, I was curious if there were any foods that I could realistically  provide them. I read about two such foods...moistened raisins and jelly.

     A week ago, temperatures rose back up to 70 degrees. The warmer weather led to the appearance of this ladybug seen in my gifs. What a perfect opportunity to verify what I had read.

     After spreading a small amount of black raspberry jelly onto a saucer made for an espresso cup, I placed the dish next to my window sill.

     Once the beetle was on my finger, I had to position it so it's face was almost in the jelly. Ladybugs don't have very good vision. They find food using their antennae.

     Just a little taste was all it took. The ladybug eagerly crawled off of my finger and planted itself next to the viscous vittles.


     To an insect, legs are used for more than just walking around. A ladybug's legs help it to find food. Also, if a ladybug feels threatened, it will secrete a foul smelling and tasting ooze from it's legs, hoping to convince predators not to eat them.

     This Asian Lady Beetle must have gotten some jelly on it's front legs. It took a break from eating to clean them off.


     No good meal is complete without a good beverage. So, I took this opportunity to offer M'lady a drink.



     With it's thirst quenched, it was right back to the jelly for a second course.


     The cold weather returned this past weekend. I haven't seen my little friend since Saturday. Which is when I shot this video. It's possible I'll see one over the winter, but, I doubt it. I still have a lot to learn; but, at least, I'll be better prepared for when the ladybugs return in the Spring.

     I'll close with this fun fact...a group of Ladybugs is called "a loveliness of ladybugs".

LogoStripSmaller.gif

To learn more about Ladybugs, click HERE!


     Wherever we are, we are surrounded by nature. It's always trying to communicate with us. Take time to notice. #NoticeNature.


All gifs and images are my own unless otherwise stated.


Watch the full video below.

LogoStripSmaller.gif


Join the family...!


Keep up to date on everything #freewrite related!
Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png
Click the banner to join the fun!

Sort:  

That is very cool I wish I had one in my home right now! :)

Well, that was very informative!!! I've always like ladybugs. Now I know what to feed them.

Yeah. I've always felt bad when they get stuck inside because there are no bugs for them to eat. Which is probably good. :)

We appreciate your work and your post has been manually curated by @nelinoeva on behalf of Amazing Nature Community. Keep up the good work!