Of Mountains and Sun Halos!

in Amazing Nature3 years ago (edited)

236.JPG

Always a surprise in photo transfers from camera to PC.
Can you see the moon in this photo?

When I took the photo above I wanted to capture the late afternoon color mix on the mountains and I didn't even see the moon. But when I opened the photo on my PC,I saw the moon in the middle, right at the top of the photo.
Now for some sun halos!

The following 3 photos will show you the effect of icicles in the air that the sun shines through!
They are called Sun Halos!

069.JPG

"Halo (from Greek ἅλως, halōs) is the name for a family of optical phenomena produced by light (typically from the Sun or Moon) interacting with ice crystals suspended in the atmosphere. Halos can have many forms, ranging from colored or white rings to arcs and spots in the sky".

075.JPG

"Many of these appear near the Sun or Moon, but others occur elsewhere or even in the opposite part of the sky. Among the best known halo types are the circular halo (properly called the 22° halo), light pillars, and sun dogs, but many others occur; some are fairly common while others are (extremely) rare".
Source

078.JPG

Here below you can see our early morning mountain!
070.JPG

These are our afternoon mountains!
The person in the photo is my wife taking our little dog for a walk.
329.JPG

Finally just an evening sundown photo!
679.JPG

We are having some wet weather here in the Western Cape Province and it might be the last of the winter rainy season, as we are now entering the early summer stage.
Like always my eyes are on the sky and it hardly ever offers up any disappointments.
The mountains sing their own song of strength and the clouds here look like they are setting a table cloth on the mountains for the lunch of the sun halo visitors!

And That's All Friends!

Note: All photos are my own and I used a Canon Powershot SX60HS camera!

Thank you for visiting a post by @papilloncharity

Disclaimer:
The articles, trademarks, and photos appearing on this @papilloncharity site may not be used in any advertising or publicity, or affiliation with any product or service, or for private purposes, without the author's prior written permission.
All posts are placed without prejudice!
PLEASE DO NOT COPY

Sort:  

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you for the kind support @qurator and @ackhoo

Congratulations @papilloncharity! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 150000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 160000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Trick or Treat - Share your scariest story and get your Halloween badge
Hivebuzz support the Papillon Foundation Charity project

Wow! Those are huge numbers and thank you for shocking me pleasantly!

I have never seen round Halo's - they look amazing Zac, and the clouds covering the mountain range is spectacular 😃


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

Thank you Hannes.

Did you see the surprise moon at the top of the clouds?
Had I known that the moon was in sight, I would rather have concentrated on getting a moon-cloud shot. I didn't see the moon when I took the the picture, as it was at a distance on the zoom.

Glad that I could show you the Halos my friend.
One nation here thinks that one of their chiefs will die when there's a halo around the sun.
This is what I was told!

Cheers and thanks!

You're most welcome Zac 😊
Yes, I have seen the moon, but in this image I like the cloud formation over the mountains more to be honest :)

We also have a lot of such sayings which some people believe, and sometimes it comes true. If a chief dies within the next weeks or even months, people will say they have seen a halo ;)


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

Thank you and yes, I am also a cloud lover and that's why I concentrated so much on the cloud that I didn't even see the moon lol.

I heard today that Sean Connery died at age 90 today and maybe that was the halo signal.
He was my favorite James Bond actor.
But of course you and I don't believe in those things.

Cheers and thanks!

I only believe in such things if they promise a big win for me 😜

Sean Connery was the best and I liked him very much.


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

Promises of big wins are getting scarcer by the day my friend, unless you count the offers of the scammers lol.
I received a "big airdrop" scam in the comments of my post today!

Totally agreed about Connery!

Cheers and thanks!

That's true, and there are a lot scammers around. I get such scams via e-mail almost every day.


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @papilloncharity, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

O the pleasures of God's creation. Stunning

Indeed and thank you kindly my friend!