Bunnies Squirrels Snakes Turtles Oh My!

in Amazing Nature3 years ago (edited)

What in the the world do all of these things have in common? Well, let me tell you, all of these and more are found in my yard, yes I live in the city, but I have a wonderful nature habitat for all. I am an equal opportunity animal and nature lover. All birds, rabbits, squirrels, snakes, turtles are all welcome in my yard. I have many large mature trees in my backyard, so in the summer here it is well shaded for animals. I also have lots of honeysuckle bushes surrounding my back yard for shelter and nests for the birds. Then there is my never ending bush/branch pile (from all the said trees and bushes) that hide my rabbits and turtle.

So let me show you some of the animals who live here. Let's start with the bunnies, because who can resist those big ears and soft fur. I have Eastern Cottontails living and breeding in the back yard and in my front yard under my ornamental maple tree in the summer.

B2C7C2FE-E744-4760-86CE-14DE02493D05.jpeg

The Eastern Cottontail is a medium sized rabbit with long ears. There size is about 14 to 19 inches and they weigh about 2-3 lbs. They like to live in brush or forest border, they rest in a form or dense clump of grass. In my yard as I said they have my brush pile to live in and under my ornamental maple in the summer. They are most active early in the morning and at dusk. The female can have up to 8 liters per breeding season which is from February through September. Most liters will contain 1-9 young, at birth they are about 5 inches and mostly naked. They are fully ready to be on their own by 13 to 16 days. Unfortunately, they do not have a long life or high survival rate. In the wild rabbits will live up to 5 years on average. You can find more about these adorable cottontails here

0E59AAD5-793C-45F0-B0E7-4F0EF74FAB93.jpeg

A2A9D06F-6673-4A5C-ABD4-F03E0D70E43C_1_201_a.jpeg
My first baby cottontail

D50B5BA8-7C0F-495E-9B6B-7D8D4C666E5F_1_201_a.jpeg
And off he goes!

Next are the Squirrels and boy do I have them, there are at least 10 to 15 in my yard all day. I guess it helps that I love to feed the birds and offer many treats for them to survive the winters into the spring as they breed. You can find my squirrels eating under the bird feeders every day all day into the dusk. I will put ears of dried corn out for them when it's really cold out during the winter months. This year we had a very mild winter so the squirrels didn't really hibernate, all they did was eat and get really fat.

D85DC432-7D31-478F-B2FA-6658EFCC5DDE.jpeg

I have noticed recently there are some smaller squirrels in the group who are not one bit afraid of me. When I am outside getting my garden cleaned up they just hang around looking to see if I have anything for them. Squirrels are cute and have a fun little personality. They are extremely agile they totally amaze me at how fast they can figure the distance between two object when jumping. The other day I had the dogs out and my little one treed a squirrel and just sat at the bottom of the tree waiting for the squirrel, well he showed her, he jumped from the tree to the roof of the house in on jump. I was totally impressed by that move. Here are some of my many pictures of my squirrels.

4118924B-AE1C-4935-876E-7CFD5630DAF1.jpeg

E8783F5E-C51B-4061-BC5C-051E7AFACD6F.jpeg

A08EF404-BCF1-4035-B72F-AA22980BD09A.jpeg

And to finish up with the other nature in my yard I will show you a red sided garter snake and my 3 toed box turtle.

Red-Sided Garter Snake
02E88346-C484-45FB-AF26-59420BC92B3B_1_201_a.jpeg

DABF8AC0-D643-4F38-B301-F335B7AD8799_1_201_a.jpeg

3 Toed Box Turtle

A38F4B5A-A4AF-40D5-A89E-C29EA698BA24_1_201_a.jpeg

2D095D90-CFCE-462F-A49F-0C16AEF32F8F_1_201_a.jpeg

I know that the box turtle can live 50 to 80 years and they have about a 5 acre range they live on. If you see one leave them be they can find their way home.

Thank you for reading and looking through my photos, I hope you can find the wild in your yards also.

All content is mine exception on sourced material
All photos are mine taken with my Cannon EOS Rebel T2i or my iPhone.
@pinkdragonfly

Sort:  

That turtle is very cool. Amazing how old they live.

Yes it is incredible at how long they live, that is why it is so important not to move them when you see them. Many people also take them home to make them pets and they do not do well. I'm lucky to have one living in my yard, I see him about once a year.

Yep; Humans tend to destroy everything they see sadly.

Unfortunately they do whether intentional or unintentional.

Yes mostly unintentional out of curiosity.

Hello Pink dragonfly. You have a great assortment of animals there, what a pleasure! Those cottontail babies must be so adorable to watch as they grow.

What did the garter snake catch in the first pic? I know a lot of snakes will eat other snakes, I was just wondering if it's another species of snake or if it's also a garter snake?

Reading your post about the squirrels reminded me of a video I watched about a squirrel obstacle course to test their agility and see if they could beat the obstacle course to get to the squirrel feeder, instead of the bird feeder. It was so funny and squirrels are actually very clever animals. If you want to watch it, you can find it under Mark Rover's YT channel.

Thanks for sharing, you've inspired me to make our garden more habitable for mammals, but not sure how many types there are here with it being so dry all the time.

Enjoy, will definitely be watching for your future posts :)

Thank you for your comment, yes the garter snake was eating another garter snake, I happened to disturb the poor creature. I have seen that video of the squirrels it is pretty amazing on how a squirrel can figure out distance and angles within seconds of a move. It is fun having many different creatures in my yard.

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Congratulations @pinkdragonfly! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 600 replies.
Your next target is to reach 700 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

I really like the Clickable Blue Text part. 🤣

😂😂😂

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @solominer & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

What gorgeous beautiful bun bun (bunny rabbits!)

They are pretty cute @aagabriel

Post-Up-emoji-Discord-MSP-Waves

👍🏽 Thank you for sharing your content with us on 📌 Post Up.

Be sure to check out our curation and support other content creators.

Thursdays on @msp-waves 11PM UTC.

Join us again next week.

We appreciate your work and your post has been manually curated by @nelinoeva on behalf of Amazing Nature Community. Keep up the good work!

Thank you very much!

Congratulations @pinkdragonfly! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the April 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

Thats a great collection of photos!

@sallybeth23 thank you, these are only some of the creatures in my yard 😊

Aww cute I missed this post, I love those box turtles.