You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Amazing Nature thematic challenge - 'natural macro' (12 foto)

in Amazing Nature2 years ago (edited)

60mm or 150mm - that does make sense in the key of capturing shy creatures... true.

BUT on another hand, it provides me serious problems with timings. tele has to use timings accordingly... i.e. 150mm means I should use 1/150 or so... not less. otherwise I got all the bad consequences (as I am using it without tripod. just handy work). 150mm also means it is extremely weighty. less then 1kg but... apparently so. more than 1kg with the f-f camera. I dont want to say it is bad - no! its a great lens I am in love with, it became my everyday... it has a great bokeh and light-power. but it does have pros and contras, and after trying 60mm and 150mm, I want to get 100 or 90mm.. . which will be less weighty, and allow me doing shorter timings from hands.

extra lens can be used to get 2:1 instead of 1:1 magnification. (I was considering getting from ebay the Raynox DCR-150 ... and would love to try it still... maybe, someday.. when HIVE arises to 3-4 dollars ) combining that with a bigger distance from object, you may be getting a less narrow DOF.

reducing the aperture doesnt allow to increase DOF sufficiently... it is still 1-2-3mm, not 10-15mm.

60, 100, 150mm lens - they all have the same 1:1 magnification.

are you in the know of #Laova lens? they have some manual telephotos having 2:1! which is superb for macro on a good full-frame camera. I didnt have a chance to test this even once.