shield-bug macros #319

in Amazing Nature3 years ago (edited)

A few macros from this Summer shoot. All of this macro set dedicated to the same one subject: a little bug named shield bug, if I am not mistaken.

IMG_1836w2.jpg

They are very wide-spread. What is so amazing with it?

IMG_1836w1.jpg

I have encountered them a few times, and they look quite different (the shell was more dark and less fancy). That was cause I met a matured edition of a shield bug.

IMG_1838w1.jpg

As they grow, they have to change their shell... and they do it pretty often! After this process have finished, the bug just sit quitely somewhere in a hideous spot, and waiting till his new coat will harden. The new coat of a bug shield is soft and bright and very picturesque -- and I guess, the bug I met this time, was exactly this certain case.

IMG_1838w2.jpg

When I have read about it somewhere (which happened a while after I processed those photos!) I was fascinated, as I understood what I have seen with my own eyes... but have no proper understanding at the moment.

IMG_1840w.jpg

The bug was in no rush, he didnt run away from me. He was just sitting there, hardening his shield.... good boy! and he showed me his shadow!

IMG_1842w.jpg


And then we changed our position 20 cm right, to the mossy part of the bench.

IMG_1877w1.jpg

IMG_1877w2.jpg

Handsome guy! isnt he?

I guess this is the older, matured version of the same shieldbug specie:

2020-dach-bug-01122w.jpg


location: St.Petersburg, Russia July 2021 natural light
camera/lens: Canon 5D Sigma 150mm raw-conv
f 2.8 t 1/x ISO 160 --

sep1201.png

sep1201.png

aisrfr.png


I welcome @rocky1, @appreciator, @upmewhale, @darthknight, @ranchorelaxo to check the post and enjoy the visuals.

Thanks for visiting my blog!
All images taken by me, copyright (c) @qwerrie
Sort:  

We appreciate your work and your post has been manually curated by zoology team (oscurity,nelinoeva) on behalf of Amazing Nature Community. Keep up the good work!

Beautiful shots! the insects in their exoskeleton is composed of chitin this compound is capable of bouncing ultraviolet rays!

thank you! yes, those are nice ones -- I was lucky cause this bug decided to hide after the molting, right infront of me on a bench... on the top of it, it was a magic hour, the bench was well-lit with sun beams! all this brought me those pics.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 53 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
9