DNA SPECIES HUNT: Black Capped Chickadee

in Amazing Nature3 years ago (edited)


E2F82C72F4B2412DB487706FDD1C086F.jpeg



My entry to DNA’s Species Hunt announced by @medro-martin.


Black Capped Chickadee (Poecile Atricapillus)

98165A142BDD40FBB1CD03121C2C8E91.jpeg


The above species, Black Capped Chickadee, I have observed on Prince Edward Island, Canada.

This bird belongs to the Chickadee family. The black capped chickadees are common in North America while other species are called Tits.


Classification:

  • Kingdom: ...Animalia
  • Phylum: ...Chordata
  • Class: ...Aves
  • Order: ...Passeriformes
  • Family: ...Tit (Paridae)
  • Genus: ...Poecile
  • Species: ...Chickadees

There are seven species of the chickadees:

  • Black-capped chickadee, Poecile atricapillus
  • Boreal chickadee, Poecile hudsonicus
  • Carolina chickadee, Poecile carolinensis
  • Chestnut-backed chickadee, Poecile rufescens
  • Grey-headed chickadee, Poecile cinctus
  • Mexican chickadee, Poecile sclateri
  • Mountain chickadee, Poecile gambeli

source



Below photos taken February 15, 2021. Coordinates (46.0832° N, 62.6146° W).

Black Capped Chickadee-back view

2FADBC4EEF9C49E591D1B7A8494720CC.jpeg


These photos are of the black capped chickadee visiting my back deck in the wintertime. Normally this species stays in the forest but I noticed this one comes out to see what food might be left from what I put out for a feral cat and the Blue Jays in the cold winter.


CAF0EB1572B44091857FA27D3409238E.jpeg


The Black Caps are non-migratory birds and I often hear the delightful familiar chick-a- dee-dee-dee of their song all year. This song is also a warning if they see a predator. The greater the danger, the longer the dees.

61604EB7D9154B10845D5D4FD914EBFB.jpeg


Appearance:

  • Body: ...The little round body with the larger head and no neck makes this bird as cute as can be. The head has a black cap and the breast has a black bib. The underside of the body is white and the back and tail a dark gray. The dark colored beak is small and the tail long. The length of the bird is approximately five inches with a short wing span.

  • Eyes: tiny round dark eyes

  • Legs: short legs and claws that seem sufficient to grip branches and walk along level objects.

  • Other dominant visible characteristics: The male and female are about the same size. They look alike except the male has a bigger black bib on the chest.



Places of Spread


  • Mainly found in wooded areas of the forest and orchards throughout Canada and into some parts of the U.S.A. I have seen them in the deciduous trees, near the edge of the forest, in summer.
  • Also spread in winter to neighborhoods to feeders to help them survive the colder temperatures when their food is scarce.


    Diet

The black capped chickadee eats insects and in summer would eat seeds and berries also. This chickadee, I have observed the last three years, likes salt-free peanuts I put out for the squirrel and blue jays.

Although the peanut looks huge, he carries it away with him to store for later and probably hammers it with his beak to break up to eat. He also steals dry cat food from the feral cat’s food dish I leave outside on the deck.

He will pick at bread crumbs and the sunflower seeds found after the larger birds, such as, blue jays have their fill.

The Black Capped Chickadee with a peanut in his mouth. He looked so hilarious sitting on the deck railing I had to take a photo.


DC315045326640E1BF5DFB266846609E.jpeg



Peculiarities and Rarity


I have noticed this chickadee has a good memory as he has returned the last three years to my back deck in the colder winter weather to forge for food I leave out. In summer I only hear their call in the forest.

These little birds are quick moving and I noticed this one flies off immediately with food and then may return in a few minutes.


My observations are of the activities I see of one chickadee that has faithfully visited my back deck every winter for the last three years. I know they do gather in flocks but I haven’t seen more than one or two together.


Information Usage & Copyright Declaration:


The information provided in this post is provided based on my own observations. The pictures used in this post are original and taken by myself, @redheadpei, with a Canon EOS Rebel T6 camera. I allow DNA to use the images and the information provided for DNA work within their publicly visible projects.



DNA - Densifying Nature-Appreciation


Sort:  

Wow always the best friend. I really enjoyed it !

 3 years ago  

Thanks so much @tinta-tertuang. I do what I can. :)

Have a lovely Sunday.☀️

Love the the photos of the black capped chickadees, awesome.

 3 years ago  

Thanks so much @salexa5. I’m happy you enjoyed their photos. 🙂

Lovely photos of a really lovely little bird, Jo, and the first photo looks so cool 😃

You have collected a lot of information for the DNA Species Hunt, great work Jo 👍


Cheers with !BEER and !WINE
!invest_vote

 3 years ago  

Thanks Hannes for your kind comments and generosity. Much appreciated.

I wanted to try a post for the Species Hunt and the little visiting chickadee was fresh on my mind. Although the raccoon came by this afternoon and he may be the next one. LOL

Here he is coming out of the woods. he went around the back of the house and the little bandit didn’t raid Friday’s food dish on the deck. Maybe he will come back later to see if anything left.

03240270FCA6411EB377C8CB5390770D.jpeg

We are in shut down for 2 weeks as unknown COVID-19 cases have popped up on the Island. Will it ever end?

Have a lovely week ahead dear Hannes. 🤗☀️

Hi Jo,

you know it's always a pleasure for me 😁 and you have done a great job 👍

Friday and the little Raccoon might become friends 😹

A post about Raccoons would be interesting.

I believe this situation will stay the same for quite a while longer. We will get used of it though, even I am somehow already used of wearing a mask, but I have a neck scarf with a filter instead.

We are in quarantine for two weeks because my son was tested positive this morning, but we have to wait for the result of his second test. If this test is negative then everything is fine 😁

You have a wonderful week too dear Jo 🤗🌞


Cheers with !BEER and !WINE
!invest_vote

 3 years ago (edited) 

I can imagine how worried you and your wife are and I pray the second test is negative, Please let me know how your son is doing.

After this last outbreak here they tested many students and found no new cases.

Will you be working from home during the quarantine?

Blessings dear Hannes and thanks for your wonderful support.🤗🙏

Hi Jo,

no worries here, but thank you so much for carying. My son says it's only like a cold and my nose has also begun running. To me it feels like a beginning flu, but I'm not sure - last time I was ill is years ago ;)

We are in home office this week anyway, so we might work from home one more week after this one :)

Thank you very much, dear Jo, have a wonderful day and take care 🤗


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

 3 years ago (edited) 

True the virus doesn’t affect everyone the same. I saw a report on TV where 88 % of the casualties were people over 70 so I think you are at a percentage to be safe. I shouldn’t be joking about this.

I hope you are taking it easy and this all clears up quickly . I would use distilled water and apple cider vinegar (1/2 c water to tsp. vinegar) to rinse through the nostrils..a little bit at a time. It will help kill cold germs.

Wishing you a pleasant day and hopefully the sun is shining dear Hannes 🤗☀️

Of course, Jo, we are taking it easy and in a couple of days we will be back to "normal" life, I am sure.

We have just come back from our first testing and tomorrow or on Thursday we will know more.
My son Tim should get a text message tomorrow and maybe all he has is a cold 🤣

I have never heard of this vinegar cure but maybe I will try it ... if we have apple vinegar 😁

Thank you so much, dear Jo, I hope the sun is shining for you too 🌞


Cheers and !BEER
!invest_vote

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @redheadpei, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @redheadpei, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Congratulations, @johannpiber You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @redheadpei.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/3 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting
Total Purchase : 21738.785 WINE & Last Price : 0.290 HIVE
HURRY UP & GET YOUR SPOT IN WINE INITIAL TOKEN OFFERING -ITO-


WINE Current Market Price : 0.295 HIVE

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @redheadpei, here is a little bit of BEER from @johannpiber for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Congratulations, @johannpiber You Successfully Shared 0.200 WINE With @redheadpei.
You Earned 0.200 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 2/3 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting
Total Purchase : 21538.785 WINE & Last Price : 0.290 HIVE
HURRY UP & GET YOUR SPOT IN WINE INITIAL TOKEN OFFERING -ITO-


WINE Current Market Price : 0.295 HIVE

 3 years ago  

hello dear friend @redheadpei good afternoon
What a beautiful specimen, I really appreciate the great job you have done keeping track of this beautiful bird.
Thank you very much for these beautiful photographs and the data
have a prosperous week

 3 years ago  

You are most welcome. Thank you for your appreciation @jlufer.

Have a wonderful week my friend.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 46 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
6

 3 years ago  

Thanks Pix. Much appreciated!

Distinct markings, with clear call one would recognize when outdoors.

Lovely detailed information about this little bird with excellent photographic evidence in your backyard Jo.

 3 years ago  

I appreciate your wonderful assessment of my Chickadee info Joan.

Thanks so much for your generosity.❤️

Hoping your week is going pleasantly.

Definitely a great breakdown on this little bird, splendid detail!

So much happening I am glad to see you tested the template able to complete all the detail required.

Awesome post and photos Jo!! I never knew that there were so many different kinds of Chickadees. 😊 💖
Tip

 3 years ago  

Thanks Dee for your generosity. 💕Yes, there's quite a few different ones. Hard to believe this little one toughs it out here in the cold winter and doesn't migrate South.

You're very welcome! 🤗

@johannpiber denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@johannpiber thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Sorry, out of BEER, please retry later...