With The Rain Come These Critters

in Amazing Nature3 years ago

img_20210726_183836.jpg

It didn't rain today, Yaaay that called for a celebration. It's been raining for more than 20 days now right through the day.This evening I went up to my garden, everything there seems to have grown at a fast pace and with that have come the critters. The tender leaves on the lime has been the invitation they needed to invade my garden. I was shocked and surprised with what I saw. Hang in there I'll show you proof. This was the first time I got to see these creatures at such close quarters.

img_20210726_183745.jpg

My adenium plant which was looking so lush and green with buds and blooms fours days ago is now bare, even the tips of the stems have been eater up by this monster which is thicker than my finger. I am serious, I have never seen caterpillars this huge. Can you see how this guy chomping away at my lovely adenium bonsai?

img_20210726_183335.jpg

I picked him up with a leaf and put him on the parapet wall. Here he lying down with all his feet up in the air like he is asking for belly rub. If I had not seen him in this position I would have thought that his eyes were the dots behind. He is acting like he is my blue eyed boy after eating up my 8 year old adenium plant, boo hoo hoo I am in tears now. In all these years I have grown adeniums I have never seen caterpillars attack them. There is a first time for everything I guess.

img_20210726_182931.jpg

This caterpillar was on my lime bonsai. He has eaten up one side of the plant completely. Notice his eyes the marking between his eyes and on his head. I have never seen them this close and it looks like he is one of the monster you see in cartoons and animated movies. Now, I know where they get their inspiration from.

img_20210726_183241.jpg

He also has two red things like a snake's forked tongue, Can you see it here?

img_20210727_144228.jpg

Take a closer look at his eyes.They give me the chills. I am not afraid of these critters, I pick them up with my hands, but the looks in their eyes is creepy lol. Click on the image zoom it and you'll see what I mean.

img_20210727_144047.jpg

Look at this section of the head, it reminds me of a crocodile. Remember these words and 'if you see a crocodile don't forget to scream! ' Scream if you want to but take a look at a few more images I have for you before you row away from this post.

img_20210727_143955.jpg

A side view of the caterpillar, look at the pattern on his side that would help him blend with the stems of plants. I wonder what kind of butterflies would come from these. I have seen the common white cabbage here on the line bonsai so often. I am not very sure if the common white's babies are this big.

img_20210727_155822.jpg

Notice how well these blend in with their surroundings. It's really hard to see them unless you examine each plant closely.

img_20210726_182931.jpg

I picked all these caterpillars out, six in all, of various shapes and sizes, took them to the milk weed bush further down the road and left them to feed on those plants. These guys are huge and will soon turn into pupae before they metamorphose into butterflies.

I hope you were as amazed as I was taking a closer look at nature. Nature never fails to amaze me, and it the most common things that we take for granted that seem to be the best.

All images used here were photographed by me and are the sole property of @sofs-su

Thanks for stopping by.

Sort:  

Yeah but can you capture the rain? Cuz depending where you are in this country, you don't wanna stand under a moisture soaked cloud with your mouth open. They'll lock you up and throw away the key.

We are by law required to harvest rain water. so no I don't have to open my mouth to soak up the water lol. I didn't know that you couldn't collect rain water.. in some places in the world until I saw your map.

Pronouns are illegal in some of those states too. What'll they think of next?

Oh my they are so adorable!
Sorry for you adeniums... but look at them :D :D

They are always adorable on other plants lol. I hope my adeiums don't rot in this weather do to the wounds they have on them.
Nonetheless, I enjoyed them and hope they are doing well.

That's true!
I have some little ones eating my pelargoniums. Hate the little buggers :p

I knew that finally you came out with the truth. 😂
Thankfully these don't touch my pelargoniums/geraniums.

Yeaaaa
But mine are not as pretty as yours 😂

Lol should I send you some? 😂

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thanks for the support @qurator and @ewkaw. Much appreciated.

Hi, I have manually curated your content as you have posted a photo that I found interesting. Your post will be included in my Photophile series of posts and let me share you !PIZZA and !BEER for the curation!


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Connect

Trade


@sofs-su! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @photophile.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (1/10)

Thank you @photophile for the support, the mention and the pizza. Much appreciated.


Hey @sofs-su, here is a little bit of BEER from @photophile for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Congratulations @sofs-su! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 100 posts.
Your next target is to reach 150 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - August 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

Hmm it took me three months to get here. Wish I could pack more in.

The eyes are a bit scary, look like alien eyes in movies ..but the color combination is truly amazing. We call it caterpillar if I'm not mistaken, and "Mariposa" as they become a butterfly, very big beautiful butterfly but truly damaging even on vegetables and tree leaves they are eating it all well!

Supershots Ma'am @Sofs ..like nature, you are also not failing on giving us the best photos of the adorable nature!

For me, I love nature and is always the best..💚

Have a blessed evening!🌷❤

Yes, they are caterpillars as I have mentioned a few times in the post.
Agreed that their eyes are scary, perhaps like a dragon or a crocodile.
I just had my bit of fun taking pictures of these.
Thanks for stopping by

I am so amazed by the beautiful and unique patterns of these Critters. Nature is the biggest artist and it is even great to slow down a bit and appreciate the macro life :) Keep writing

Absolutely, the color , the designs, the shapes everything is so amazing. I wonder if we are really creative or just copy cats.
Thanks for stopping by @travelingcocoon

pleasure:) Hope to see more amazing posts from you

It's almost unreal
Like some alien bugs
So gorgeous though
Ok, the first one is super cute, but that second one - looks a little scary, cutely scary hahaha

These are really nice shots :D

Thank you @kaerpediem.
I did have fun looking at them closely, they do look like scary aliens.
The world seems so different when we take a closer look.
It just fascinates me to no end.
So I am just having some fun here.

The false eyes on those little things are incredible, especially the blue ones. Very captivating!

They are , aren't they? i was super fascinated by what I saw so I decided to share it here.
Thanks for stopping by @justinparke.

Thank you for sharing this amazing post on HIVE!
  • Your content got selected by our fellow curator @kaerpediem & you just received a little thank you via an upvote from our non-profit curation initiative!

  • You will be featured in one of our recurring curation compilations and on our pinterest boards! Both are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within and outside of the DIY scene of hive.

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work and feel free to connect with us and other DIYers via our discord server: https://discord.gg/mY5uCfQ !

If you want to support our goal to motivate other DIY/art/music/homesteading/... creators just delegate to us and earn 100% of your curation rewards!

Stay creative & hive on!

Thank you @diyhub for the support and @kaerpediem for the curation and support you always give.
I truly appreciate this.