Some Slim Pickins - Plants on Patrol!

in Amazing Nature3 years ago

No, but really I am happy to pick and choose a nice healthy fresh snack from the garden. I cannot complain.

image.png

It is very exciting to get my first healthy tomato ever! If I remember right, I had ordered chicken curry from the Vietnamese restaurant and it came with luscious cherry tomatoes in it. I remember saving half of one and germinating the seeds. This is what is resulting from that decision.

Plus many more in process!

image.png

I was already eating salad before winter ended. I have a small greenhouse inside to keep my carnivorous plant business going year around. So starting tomatoes and other plants indoors sometimes yields delicious rewards early.

I just plucked this radish from the garden. It is a bit small but there were some white flies that invaded and they prefer radish and cabbage leaves to sit on all day. I pulled the radishes up and got one very tasty one. I will start more radish inside until the pest problems are solved.

One solution? I hired a lady bug to come in and munch on the flies and any larva there may be hanging about.

image.png

It has been coming back every day since then and I am hoping it will bring its family to live in my hydroponic, wall dwelling, balcony garden. Fingers crossed.

image.png

While waiting for them to move in, I put another carnivore to work next to my lettuce and the gnats landed to rest on this one branch. They will not be leaving! Drosera Carpensis has little spikes that secrete sticky enzymes, bugs get come to eat it and get stuck, then digested. They can eat hundreds per day - this one is just a baby, only two months old, and it is having a field day out there.

I buy bugs for my plants to eat during the winter time. Then I have to hand feed them. Today is 70 and sunny out. I just let the plants do the work.

Isn't Nature Amazing?

spbobFooter.jpeg

Sort:  

We appreciate your work and your post has been manually curated by @redheadpei on behalf of Amazing Nature Community. It will be added to the weekly botany curation post. Keep up the good work!

Excellent article. I find gardening both indoor and outdoor to be very beneficial. This article subject of growing your own healthy snacks is great. I especially loved the part where you germinate the seed from a cherry tomato you got in you restaurant food.


Posted via proofofbrain.io