Autumn pictures & reflections on aging/dying

in Amazing Nature2 years ago (edited)

image.png


It's one of those days, where I have more pictures --of Fall, in Washington DC-- than words to share.


image.png


image.png


image.png


As the leaves change color and drop to the ground, the mind turns to mortality (how could it not?)


image.png


image.png


image.png


Which is why I thought to share with you this exchange, that I overheard while out taking a walk. Two teenage girls, nearly skipping in the rain behind me:

It must suck to grow old then die... and before that, lie on a table and have strangers feeding you... That's just weird - I don't wanna die like that. 'I turned around, smiling, and nodded as fellow mortal.

I was half tempted to turn around and ask them: how would you like to die? But, they're children, I thought, let them be... Time will teach them.

Meantime, in closing, I thought to share with you this meditation on Autumn by poet Rilke, translated by a friend of mine, Paul T. Hopper:

The leaves are falling, falling as from afar,
as if far-off gardens withered in the skies;
they’re falling with a gesture of denial.

And the heavy earth falls in the nights
toward loneliness away from every star.

We all are falling. This hand here drops.
And look at others: it’s in all of them.

And yet there is One who holds this falling
infinitely softly in His hands.


image.png

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.