Fungi finds in Mushroom Alley

in Amazing Nature3 years ago

8821D085-BAF9-4B50-8891-AA464C17FED6.png

It’s mushroom season here in the Cape and Pam got her 1 month mushroom license for the month of April. I’m not as passionate about mushrooms but it’s quite cool to learn about these different fungi’s while out on our hikes on the mountain.

6991F548-269C-4938-B468-BD7F1939A371.jpeg

We tend to walk in the Newlands Forest along the contours of Table Mountain once a week as Pam leads us along the many paths. I’m pretty sure I’d get lost on my own, but she seems to know every single little path that there is.

Due to the high number of folk collecting mushrooms at this time of year, the city decided to instate mushroom permits to prevent certain individuals hoarding the edible delicacies.

987AB59D-9D89-4E5B-B08A-8E820F67FEFB.jpeg

There are options to go on guided mushroom identification and collecting walks on various parts of the mountain. But please beware of guides bringing large baskets and taking a whole lot of mushrooms at a time. The permit only allows 20 mushrooms a week so anyone taking a whole basket is not legal. Some of the guides take 2 tours a day, so you just imagine the number of mushrooms being taken in 1 day.

F83C2E4C-4C20-42D3-AF52-36CF6D76D79A.jpeg

On this particular Tuesday we walked up the mountain in a circular route then came back through the pine forest where “mushroom alley” is found.

0E614D6C-E759-43A9-B3FF-8555676637F2.jpeg

You can see the change in the density of the bush as it thins and the tall trees draw your eyes up!

3AD3A062-3653-4BBB-A2C9-5DD20149F421.jpeg

Pam immediately started spotting mushrooms, some edible and some not. We can see that either squirrels or a dog have also found the mushrooms because a few have been nibbles at or broken by heavy paws.

0B6E0957-A9FD-4D7A-8CFD-541D5D45B9CA.jpeg

Pam picks Bolle (Boletus Edulis) or also called porchini mushrooms. The ones we found were about as big as my hand and Pam mentioned that the stalk is the tastiest part.

EC7D7237-9A1A-4A0B-BCA5-E754EB5AFE34.jpeg

4C1B163C-A28A-4618-9101-9ACD1CCB69DD.jpeg

Then she found some Pine Rings which are orange on the gills! So pretty. Pine rings are usually found under pine trees amongst the pine needles.

B97E391D-1380-4919-9C11-1C17314B85EA.jpeg

57FFAD0B-408C-45CE-99D8-9AE0E1A1D151.jpeg

As we slowly made our way down the mountain side Shelly the sheepdog disappeared for a few minutes. As we all called for her some hikers ahead of us said she had run ahead and was down the path. To our disgust, a very stinky Shelly walked back to us covered in something smelly. It turned out she had found a spot of rotting mushrooms that she made a point of rolling in and was covered in slimy mushrooms. Did I tell you they smell like rotting meat?!? So gross.

157017E2-258D-4A11-9ADE-8E36BF41082D.jpeg

I guess I’ve never taken the time to think about mushrooms or fungi that much. My only exposure are the button mushrooms from the store that I use to make a mushroom sauce for a steak! And now I know that the 5 most poisonous mushrooms (3 are deadly) are all white underneath. So basically, don’t take a chance with any of those in the Western Cape.

I’m finding new friends with different interests and I feel like my life is fifar more interesting than before.

F4A512BA-B24A-48E6-8869-17F6AC0D6113.jpeg

We collected a couple on another walk that I was supposed to bring home to cook, but I sadly forget them in someone else’s bag. Oh well, we will walk again in a couple weeks.

Here’s to #fungifriday and learning new things about mushrooms!

8803D700-F4AA-41E2-9090-D67B7BDCCCC3.png

Sort:  

Hi zo3d,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiehive.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Wow! Thank you!

Did not know we required permits over here for mushroom collection, at least you are able to go out with guided tours, much safer.

Interesting hike and mushroom treasure hune @zo3d

Thanks! I think the permits are only for Table Mountain and specifically Cecelia and Newlands forest because it was becoming a problem. You probably won’t need a permit elsewhere. I can’t wait I go back next week!

Enjoy, yup and what is it about some dogs and anything smelly... yurgh! See you found some water too, not a bad idea quick bath in the stream to avoid the all day stench 😄

Oh by the way I went to another pub! It’s called The Toad in Noordhoek. Another one to add to your list. Really great food!

Another place to add to lifestyle in the Cape, yes somewhere I may eventually return to one day hopefully. Apprehensive in some ways to see all the change, with your hikes out reminds me the places are still there to enjoy not only over populated urban areas one can easily avoid.

Still rockin right along with that ambitious one a day mission Eh?

You do this Zoed!

😂 sometimes it’s hard!!! But you just gotta keep putting one foot in front of the other! Eating that elephant 1 bite at a time. 😉 9 months to go!

I loveeee mushrooms
Fried, in soup, burgers - everything

That's 1-month permit is kind of cute and practical
I like the idea of going on a hike and picking your own mushrooms... I guess you already know which ones are edible and which ones are not....

Hi! I don’t think I would trust myself to pick them on my own yet. But with the group is great. Pam knows all about them. You would love it!

That smily mushroom looked like it was from the boletus family. I m not sure but the ither one looked like a Lactarius deliciosus. Seems unlikely for the region.

Posted using Dapplr