What shall I knit with the yarn? / 靴下を編もうと思ったけれど・・・

in NeedleWorkMonday2 years ago

05A40651-8878-4B88-8DB5-9A22B0BDC4C7_1_105_c.jpeg

Hello Needle Work Monday friends! I want to ask your opinion.

I brought two stashes of yarn for the 14 days of looooooong self quarantine at hotel in Japan after arriving from outside of the country.

Initially I thought about knitting socks for my friends. I picked yarn without synthetic fiber (Cotton 72%, wool 17% and Alpaka 11%) since they are living close to nature.

The problem is, the yarn can be less stronger than those with synthetic fiber. Usually sock yarn contains 20-25% of them. I made a pure wool socks for my partner but the pair broke after one month or even less ...

I asked at the yarn store that it is fine to use it for sock knitting. "It could be more fragile than regular sock yarn but why not" was the answer.

Hmmmm, I wonder I shall knit socks as I planned or something alternative such as leg warmer. I would like to make something that help to keep my friends warm as they are living in mountain/forest region.

Do you have any idea?


ホテルでの14日間の長ーーーい自主隔離のために、毛糸をふたつ持ってきました。

当初友人二人のために靴下を編もうと思っていました。彼らは自然に近いところで生活していて、綿72%、ウール17%、アルパカ11%の自然素材の手染めの糸を買いました。

問題は化学繊維の入っている毛糸よりも強度が落ちることです。通常、靴下用の糸には20-25%の化学繊維が含まれています。数ヶ月前に相方のためにウール100%の毛糸で靴下を作ったら1ヶ月も経たないうちに破れてしまいました・・・。彼の履き方が激しかった可能性もありますが。

毛糸屋さんで靴下を編むのに使えるかたずねると、「普通の靴下用の毛糸よりも破れやすいかもしれないけど、大丈夫だと思う」という答えが返ってきました。

うーん、予定通り靴下を編むか、それともレッグウォーマーのような別のものを編むか悩むところです。友人は山や森の中で生活しているので何か冬を暖かくすごすのを助けられるものを作りたいです。

何かアイデアはありますか?

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

As you perhaps already anticipated: I looooove both yarns, the color fade is beautiful. If the yarn is soft enough to the skin I would contemplate to knit either a shawl collar or a balaclava - it seems both items are very trendy right now and it would be something most people do not have in their wardrobe and their are super helpful for cold weather. I think I stumbled about a free balaclava pattern on Ravelry.
https://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/bb-balaclava
Hope all is well in Japan und you will have a good journey <3

Thank you for the suggestions Nemannsalva!

I wish I had some more yarn ... I regret that I only brought sock amount, 50g, which can be also too less for socks (I heard their feet are small).

I think about knitting a balaclava for my daughter once I come back in Germany. She had one before but it's too small already. And I'm happy to know how it's called. I called it rotköppchen hat as it is red.

I will see shawl collar patterns that I can knit with the small amount of yarn on Ravely :)

 2 years ago  

Ohhh 50g, the skeins looked so big on the photo I guessed each was 100g. Sorry for tempting you to make a bigger project with not enough yarn in your bag.
I made a simple shawl collar for my mother las year for Christmas, but I cannot remember how much yarn I used. It was simply a small rectangle made from I think knit 2, purl 2 with buttonholes. I will search for the pattern and write you on discord.
And a balaclava is also on my to try list (not sure if my husband would like to have one)

I should have bought yarns in the same color way ...

I found a pattern inspired by your comment. I may need more yarn but for the worst case I bring them back and continue knitting in Germany 😉Learning by doing as always!

Great job

Thanks smilestitches!