What do you do with your leftover pieces? Find out how beauty eventually came out of ashes.

in NeedleWorkMondaylast year (edited)

IMG_20230130_165951.jpg

Leftover fabrics. (Pieces)

Do you trash them away, keep them in a bag, or what exactly do you even do with them?

Well for me, I keep them in a sack for future purposes.

Ha! I love to manage oh, plus it could be useful at any goddamn time.

Today's story is very interesting, you see that red leftover fabric in my hands?😃 it created magic!

I made a dress for my sister and had leftover fabrics from her outfit.
The red fabric is a lycra fabric, not light lycra anyways.

IMG_20230130_161936.jpg

I wouldn't talk much about the dress I made for my sister, because that's not why I am here.😄
Let's focus on the pieces (the leftover fabrics in my hand).

I wanted to make something nice to rock like I always do, this time I didn't search for a muse, I was just inspired by the sight of the beautiful fabrics.

The White fabric and the stripes were a very small portion of fabric left after making some dresses for my sister.

IMG_20230130_162112.jpg

Well, the white fabric is also a lycra fabric, and what was left was about 1 and a half yards and the striped fabric was half a yard.

The fact that I'm petite in stature makes me manipulate so many fabrics and even use lesser fabrics to make beautiful styles.

What will I make with these fabrics? I started to rack my brain, I sat down for about 30mins thinking of how to combine them and I came up with something beautiful in my head.

The problem was how to get a sleeve because the fabrics wouldn't be enough, that was when I remembered, "beauty can come out of ashes", my sack of pieces of course.

I emptied the sack on the floor and started my fabrics sourcing, this time not in the market, but on the floor😃.

I saw so many pieces on the floor but the red one caught my attention, like the adage says " many were called but few were chosen.". So, I picked it up, simply because red matches white and matches black too.

IMG_20230130_161906.jpg

The cutting part
I folded the upper bodice using my half-length and my bust measurement and then I added a sewing allowance. The striped fabrics were used just for the front upper bodice, while the white was for the full-back ( upper and lower) and the front lower bodice.

The style is just a pencil knee-length dress with a funnel sleeve.

How did I achieve the sleeve? I used whatever was left of the white fabrics to cut a regular sleeve and then my beautiful red fabrics complimented it, I used the little pieces to make two flares that were attached to the tip of the regular fabrics. (The white fabrics).

It was looking odd there, so I decided to fix it somewhere around the neckline too.

The neckline was a not-so-sharp vee, with the red fabric as a band on the neckline.

After sewing, the result was amazing!

I used the hand-stoning machine to attach stones to the red fabrics. ( neckline and sleeves).

IMG_20230130_161953.jpg

Next time, I'll show you how I used this hand-stoning machine but for now, the outcome of my outfit was beautiful.

IMG_20230130_162141.jpg

Style created and sewn by me. Beauty eventually came out of ashes.😁😍

Thankfully, I had some leftover pieces, I didn't want to spend so much on this one. Perks of being a tailor😁

Do you love the combination too? I'd love to know how you handle your pieces. (leftover fabrics)

All images used are mine

Sort:  

Such a nice blend. You have truly make very good use of this.
Well done dear @amiegeoffrey and thanks for sharing ❤

Yeah, thank you @monica-ene for coming around.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @amiegeoffrey ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.