Why I love working with the Scuba fabrics.

in NeedleWorkMondaylast year (edited)

Some fabrics make sewing quite challenging, fabrics like laces with embellishment, very soft tulle, or very soft lycra, these fabrics will show you pepper🙄. Is it the way it breaks your needle or the way it slips off your hands while sewing, or how fragile the tulle fabrics can be?

But the scuba fabric is a very nice fabric to work with less stress, with no need for lining to turn, all you need is a very neat and straight stitch, then you could decide to use A zig-zag stitch as decor on your fabrics, the choice is yours.

The scuba fabrics are quite thick and stretch two ways.
The scuba fabric falls on polyester fabrics and has a very smooth texture. It requires just the H.A sewing machine needle for an enjoyable sewing experience.

There's this style I saw on my client's phone and I loved it, so I decided to make mine.

I couldn't tell if it was a dress or a skirt and top, however, I decided to make mine as a skirt and top.

For the upper part, I used the scuba fabrics while for the skirt I used a sample lace.

The style looked like a Chinese top😁😁, by now you should know I love my outfit unique and chicky.

In this image, you'll find the golden scuba cut already on my sewing machine, trying to make something beautiful.

IMG_20230124_143557.jpg

This outfit is about a year old, I didn't take many pictures of the process, because I wasn't on hive then😁😁.

The style is quite funny as you'll need maximum concentration to figure out how to do it.
I can't post my muse because I do not have a source for it, so I'll just post my handiwork, but trust me I did justice to the style.

It is just a vee neck top with a fine unique collar and then an A-line sleeve, the skirt is just a straight skirt, I used matching lace for it, and used dull face satin as lining for it.

IMG_20230124_143701.jpg
This is the sleeve view.

IMG_20230124_143613.jpg

Here is the back view after sewing, at the end of the top I gave a slant cut and cut about 4 inches band which I used to create that beautiful slanted band as seen in the picture.

The front view is everything😁😁

IMG_20230124_143630.jpg

Doesn't it look unique and fine? The sweetest part of every outfit I rock is the compliment that comes with it.

I got a lot of compliments on this outfit and I feel good about it.

What fabric do you enjoy working with and why? I'll be in the comment section if you care to share.

Thank you for reading.

All images used are mine.

Sort:  

It is very unique, such a sleek and beautiful design. I love the slant where it lays and how wide the sleeves are. It looks great on you too! That color is a bonus, one of my faves!!

I would share about the fabrics I love working with if only I actually worked with them lol. I only work with yarn atm. 😄

Thanks for sharing ~

Oh, thanks for the compliment, now I know one of your favorite colors, awesome!

Thanks for stopping by.

Absolutely ~ 😉


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @amiegeoffrey ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

It came out nice! I remember back in the early 90s I had a friend that always had really nutty hook-ups (That was the local teenage slang for cool outfits back then haha!) that I never saw in the stores anywhere. She always looked cooler than everyone else but no one knew where she got her clothes. They looked like a popular hip-hop brand back then (Cross Colours). Finally I asked her where she got them, and it turned out she was making them.

I am always impressed with people who can make clothes, because you can make whatever you want and you get to stand out as unique. Awesome!

I just learned a slang from you hehe,😁

That's the perk of being a designer, we look different and stylish.
Thank you @nuthman for visiting my blog, it's highly appreciated.

Well, I never heard people say nutty outside of my hometown (meaning cool), but I think a lot of people called outfits hookups in the early 90s (generally referring to matching tops and bottoms color-wise) but of course I hung out with a lot of kids who talked weird because it was fun!

Looking forward to seeing your next design!

The dress is very Beautiful ❤️

Thank you so much

You are highly welcome 😁

I admire the creativity of tailors because they can sew whatever they see or think about! You are one lucky bird! I'm sure this is one of the talents you have and you are killing it with styles. Keep doing you always!

The joy of making something beautiful for oneself is compared to none.

Thanks, @cescajove for coming around.

Here's another compliment, my friend @amiegeoffrey : It's beautiful and it looks great on you 😻

I haven't worked with scuba fabric, but it's a relief to know that it's easy to work with. I once sewed a fabric called Seoul and it was a test of patience 😂 it rolled a lot and the seam was wonky 😓 so, like you, I appreciate the goodness of a firmer fabric. I congratulate you on your work 💟

Thank you so much @purpleglitter for the kind comment.

This is gorgeous! I have one dress made out of scuba fabric (in the U.S. it's more commonly just labeled as neoprene). I love my dress - it's so comfortable.

Yeah, scuba is always comfortable to wear.

Thank you for visiting my blog.