Felting Mushrooms a few

in NeedleWorkMonday3 years ago

Hello community.
Today I present to you a few of the mushrooms that I have made before joining Hive. I hope you can let me have a pass on not having process pictures this time as I had not though to take any. But now that I am in a community that respects the process of work, tips, tricks and information into the knitty gritty softness of needle work I will defiantly be collecting more process oriented images to share. Please see my post here --->https://peakd.com/hive-127911/@an-man/how-to-make-a-felt-virus to see my first post that does have details on the process of my work so that you know the caliber of what I produce.

The original four that started felting for me.
IMG_9095.JPG

Here is the underside that shows the different colours that try to keep to how mushrooms look.
IMG_9101.JPG

A mushroom thought of in dreams. 6 hours.
IMG_9105.JPG

The last mushroom that I made while teaching a friend how to felt. Playful fun coloured project. 5.5 hours. The bright green cap, the spots and the beige stem were dyed by myself with food colouring and fixed with vinegar, the beige was dyed with coffee.
IMG_9110.JPG

The first mushroom that I made that helped me understand this wonderful art process. I carded leftover wool bits that was not long enough to knit. 3.5hours.
IMG_9112.JPG

A quick playful mushroom felted to try another shape. 2 hours. The inside is filled with various scraps of felt I had laying around as can be seen by the green felt tail.
IMG_9117.JPG

Another angle to get an idea of various shapes.
IMG_9122.JPG

The original four from the side.
IMG_9125.JPG

Each are made with 100% wool from Canada and New Zealand.
Thanks for stopping by to see that which i have made to accentuate my space of created pieces of wonder and fun. Let me know what you would like to see more of and if you have any questions i am more than happy to share my experience and techniques for any project. BE well.

Sort:  

Congratulations @an-man! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 300 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.
You received more than 400 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Financial stages

They are beautiful, really i like it¡ I would like to see the process, you are a very good hands

Why thank you. I will make more with the process in time. I just wanted to share these beauties for people to enjoy on needle work Monday.

How interesting that you yourself add colour to the materials. I like this technique very much. I'm still looking for that special needle. Good vibes!

I dye the wool before putting it onto the project. It take many days to dye but the nice colours are very worth it. Perhaps you can find them online to order, they are not heavy and they are good to buy 10 or 15 more then needed. They go by the name Felting Needles. They are triangle and have little barbs nicked out along the edges. They do break sometimes so it is good to have more then just one or two. Check out my other posts in Needle Work Monday for more information on how the technique is used. Thanks you for taking the time to see and read my post. Fell free to ask me more question if you need clarification.

Thank you very much for the guidance. I really didn't know that they can break frequently. When I get one I will definitely buy more than one.

I found a set with three different sizes, Sml, Med, Lrg. The small ones break more often but sometimes that is due to having a ball of scrap cloth on the inside of the project that does not accept needles as easily. Some times the Medium needles get bent and take time to break. It is all how you use them but the small will break more often then other sizes. Best of luck finding them. Do let me know when you make your first project. I am interested to see what your mind can produce. Regards.