A Quilt for Thomas - Needlework Monday

in NeedleWorkMondaylast year (edited)

It's been a few days (or weeks) since I've posted! I have been a busy mama!! I finally found time to post about the quilt I started last month for my new nephew named Thomas.

Every time I have a new niece or nephew, I make them a quilt. Even though we don't live in the same country, I knew I had to make one for Thomas. It worked out that I could get one made for him and ship it to Texas with some people who were here visiting for a few weeks. I know it will be a surprise when the package lands at their house! They are definitely not expecting anything from me!

I decided on a herringbone pattern for the quilt, so I cut the fabric as it needed to be cut. It is vital to cut the squares facing in both directions so it makes a v shape when sewn together.

I began sewing them together in long lines. I was trying to figure out what size it should be and how many pieces I would need. It worked out that each row was 17 pieces long and there were 6 columns.

This part didn't take too long. It's vital to remember to overlap the pieces just a quarter of an inch so that they line up perfectly. It leaves a little tail on the side when they are sewn together.

All laid out, it looked pretty good! It's not my favorite quilt, but I wasn't making it for me. I know Thomas will love it and his parents will also like the muted colors. Time to sew all the strips together!

I decided to do something different with this quilt and leave the bottom of the arrows as they were. It made for an interesting shape for the quilt. Not sure I would do this again...after dealing with the binding at each point. Ha! I decided on a super soft fleece blanket for the back. It was the perfect size, so I went with it, even though it didn't match perfectly.

I also decided not to put batting in the middle. It's just the top and the soft blanket sewn together. It might for a nice weight - not too warm and not too cool.

I will update you on the finished product next week.

What do you think? Will they like it??

Sort:  

I love this herringbone pattern you did! I can imagine how much work or manipulation you had to do when it came to binding at the points. It’s good you did the muted colors as the parents would like . I’m with you, I love bright colors for babies but everyone has their own preference. Nice work on this so far, looking forward to seeing the final shots!!

I got the final photos including some with the baby and the quilt posted today. It worked out so that they received the quilt yesterday!

Congratulations @apanamamama! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 6500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 6750 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of the Final
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

That is absolutely beautiful, @apanamamama ! They will love it!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @apanamamama.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Well done dear, I know how difficult quilting can be and how you have to make all the pieces work and blend color wise and all that.

I love that you gift every baby something new, God bless your kind heart, well done dear @apanamamama 🎊💃🎉💖

Thanks for stopping by and leaving a message. They received it yesterday and I was able to make a post about it today including pictures with the baby!

I like this! I haven't seen a quilt with a chevron pattern before. Normally square ones. Looks great! Defo they will like it 😀👍

They did! They received it yesterday and sent me photos of Thomas with the quilt, so it's on my blog this morning!