Quilt in Progress - Fabric Selected and Cut

It's been a while since I've done a Needlework Monday post! I literally have been doing no sewing for a long time, but that changed today!

Last week my newest nephew was born. I make a quilt for each niece or nephew to have when they are babies. I usually pick out a fabric and pattern and get it made and delivered shortly after they are born. I am hoping it will work out for this baby as well.

A few weeks ago, a lady contacted me about coming to visit our part of Panama. She asked if I needed her to bring anything from the states, but I told her I didn't need anything. All I needed was for her to take the quilt back for me and mail it. She said she was happy to do that. Now I have a deadline and the quilt must be finished before then!

I sat down today with a quilt design in mind and found a good tutorial. I had my fabric already picked out, so it's already starting to come together.

The first thing I had to do was cut up the fat quarters into strips. It worked for me to get 6 3" strips out of each fabric with a piece left over that I'm hoping I can put on the back. Then I cut each strip in half which left me with 12 9" blocks in each fabric.

I found this fabric at our local amazon returns store. It was a great deal and cotton, so I decided to buy it even though it isn't something I would typically use. I think my SIL will love it though as she likes more muted colors!

Having taken so much time off of sewing, my rotary cutter blade had to be replaced before I could cut anything! Next, I'll have to dig out my sewing machine and knock the dust off of it.

I'm super excited to get to work on this and hopefully finish it before early December. I'll keep you guys posted on the progress and hopefully there will be some major developments in the next few weeks!

Sort:  

How nice to hear about and see you getting back into your sewing! Congratulations on your new nephew. I know you’re going to have fun making this quilt for him.

The fabric and color selection go so well together. It’s something how you chose this fabric because lately I’ve been seeing more and more neutral warm colors for baby items. I’m used to seeing bright and cheery colors but it’s catching my eye seeing things toned down. I know baby’s like seeing bright colors but these will definitely help keep a baby mellowed out. 😁

I’m excited to see this progress. Thanks for sharing with us ~

This was a pre-selected bundle of fat quarters. It's not something I would normally pick for a baby. I love bright colors and had one picked out for him that was super bright, but then my SIL send me a photo of his nursery and it would have looked bad in there. My mom said they'd use the bright one as a play mat. No thanks!! So I totally changed direction color-wise.

Oh wow so that turned out great then. It’s good she sent you the photo. Hahaha I hear ya on the No thanks to a play mat. 😅

Oooh I'm looking forward to see the end result. What a great idea of getting the fabric from an Amazon return store. Can't wait for the updates.

Hi dear! glad to see you here again. It will be interesting to see the finished blanket! 😀

Thanks! I can't wait to have it finished!

Congratulations @apanamamama! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 2000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 3000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Recap of Day 9
Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2022
HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Check your ranking
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!