You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Egg Pockets - WIP Continued…

I love it! So cute! My mom recently sewed me one, buy there was no elastic in the top of the pockets for the eggs, so the eggs would literally just fall out if I bent over while using it. I'm going to have to do some extra work on it...although my chickens are basically welfare chickens now. I only get 2 eggs a day... Boo!! (I have about 30 chickens at the moment. Yikes!)

Sort:  

Thank you! I knew you would know about the eggprons 😄.

Ahhh 😯!! I'm glad you mentioned that. I wasn't planning on putting elastic in this but that makes so much sense.

So are you going to just string some elastic through the top of the pockets and then sew it down? Is that the best way to do it? It’s great hearing from someone who has actually used one and who actually has chickens. I don’t even know if I will ever have any but I’m making these anyway and staying hopeful. 😂

I read a meme yesterday that chickens are the gateway animal to...ducks. Ha! It's true for me. I have three ducks now, but they love this wet, cool weather we have around here!
Yes, I will probably just string some elastic through or sew it on each pocket. The pockets she made are pleated, so there is a lot of extra fabric at the top. Try yours out. Your egg pockets look cozy and the perfect size for an egg. If you can stick an egg in it and it doesn't fall out when you walk around, I think it would be great. Just even an elastic cord along the top part might work if the holes need to be a little smaller.

Lol that’s funny. Wow so 30 chickens and 3 ducks. Once we get the land we’ve been dreaming of we plan on building a chicken coop and maybe starting out with just a few to see how it goes.

Thanks so much for those tips. I have some really thin elastic I think would work well for it. I will test it out first by putting some eggs in and bending down to see if they stay in. The pockets might already be deep enough but it’s good to have a solution ready just in case ;)

Sadly I think most of my chickens hate me. 30 chickens would be awesome if I got 30 eggs, but I get nowhere near that. Ha! Some are bantum chickens and fly out of the area the others are in - no idea where they lay...if they do! Getting chickens is pretty fun and relatively easy if you start off small. I should do a better job with mine!!

Oh no! I'm sure they don't hate you 😯. I wonder where they lay though, that's quite interesting that they fly off like that.

Yea we would definitely start out small.