Craft Fair Tourists

E4C03234-1DC4-454F-8BF5-19C48C45F374.jpeg

Me and mama took a long planned daytrip to Oulu for a big handcraft fair. We’ve previously been several times to the biggest one in Tampere, and checked out the pathetic one in Jyväskylä, but this one was a first for us in Oulu. I’d say it falls between the two and is quite perfect to walk through in a few hours, not too much to see but also not so little it’s not worth the trip. Tampere is insane, you have to stand in line for everything and you can’t browse in peace because there is an old lady poking you at the ribs to move it along.

C71D40E2-97A6-4725-93E4-7DECC33ABEE1.jpeg

It’s basically an unwritten rule to wear something you made yourself when attending a handcraft related event, so I wore my new super long cardigan.

A97BA7D0-5973-46D2-AB01-19C1AA2ADEEB.jpeg

We suspected, as long time craft fair goers, that it’s best to be there early so we were already parked a few minutes before the doors opened. I snapped a fast pic on the parking lot, which was almost full already with more cars coming in and long lines at the door.

58D099D3-9104-4D85-843C-318B0A19574B.jpeg

Fuck off! I’m knitting.

Didn’t buy the mug, or anything actually because our approach is basically that we go to look for ideas, talk to other crafters and only maybe buy something. Mom managed to find some speciality needles she needed and that was enough.

These super colourful yarns are all the rage right now in the knitting world and while they are really pretty, I know I don’t really have use for them so I stayed (surprisingly) strong, even after the tenth stall selling them. There might be a package in the post office waiting for me with super special colourful tweed yarn so…

4EDB8654-2FD4-49CC-8519-AC93BC8239A5.jpeg

Natural dyed yarn is the craft technique of the year, so there was some showcases for that and I thought it was interesting to see this example of colours you get from onions different plants. I’ve tried hand dyeing yarn way back when but I’m not really that into the technique because it’s a lot of work and waiting for results that are often lackluster and not very lasting. The examples above are quite the extreme and it’s very hard, if not impossible, to get those kind of colours to last in a yarn with these methods.

03F55F1B-3E0B-4C1C-8003-8E41DD6CB76F.jpeg

Tufting has been pretty big for a while but I had never seen it in real life so we had a go at it at one of the stalls. Relaxing for sure but a bit too simple for us, maybe it’s better suited for kids or elderly people.

AA08476D-7FCD-46AB-97AD-3FC0D2B7CD40.jpeg

When we came upon a mother-daughter duo showcasing an old and excuisite technique of bobbin lace, mom was ecstatic. She does bobbin lace too so we spend quite a bit talking to the ladies. There was this gorgeous handheld fan behind them so of course I asked my mom if she can make me one if I buy the wood structure, and she said yes! I need to order that online and discuss patterns but I guess my next birthday gift is sorted.

16689DC2-DF71-46C9-8C93-2AB2F3EB6F19.jpeg

I didn’t take many photos at the fair because I was not that inspired, it’s starting to get a little too predictable after decades of combined crafting knowledge. We always hope for more demonstrations and special crafts and techiques,something we can’t see or do every day ourselves. It’s still nice to see crafts and touch all the yarns.

Overall, it was a great day spend with mom around handcrafts.

8BADF7C1-D569-4E0B-A628-77CA67664984.jpeg

Sort:  

Looks like a great time. .. and would you check out that grey blanket of dullness obstructing the sky.

Yeah well it is that time of the year, though now the sun just came out and it looks beautiful outside!

The cardigan you made really fit for the craft fair meeting. I always pray to be in such a wonderful meeting held by different crafters because I know that tacit and explicit knowledge will be flowing. Greetings.

It's a very inspiring and creative environment to be in, do look up if you have any annual craft meets near you.

I do so love that cardigan you knitted. I don't think I would have been able to resist the cup. It's just perfect.

Thank you! I hate mismatched cups so I didn't get it but otherwise it's pretty on point!

Oh that makes sense, I didn't even think about that (I have a lot of mismatched things in my life lol). Maybe you need to knit a jersey with that saying on it 😁