MacGyver of Needlework

1DAC8B47-E82E-4180-8EDE-4DFF5EB6B503.jpeg

In the morning I hastily packed my knit project to work with me so I can knit while I wait for the machine to do its thing.

I was happily knitting away, coming to the end of the front part when I realised I needed a darning needle if I want to keep going, and I didn’t remember to pack one. I had to finish the edge with the Italian cast off and then I could continue with the collar. I was only halfway through the day and I would have gotten really bored scrolling the web if I had to stop knitting at that point.

I asked around if by any chance there was a needle anywhere in the shop, but I had no luck. I poked around the random drawers and even considered that maybe someone could make me a needle, after all, we were in a metal working shop.

Then I came across a random piece of steel wire and figured I’m just gonna fashion it into a pokey thing with a loop in the other end. Twisty twisty and a little filing and I had a makeshift darning needle. It worked surpringly well when I payed attention to not get the yarn caught in the sharp double end. I don’t think you can even tell from my results that I did it with a janky needle.

39FB9D2D-46D9-4A70-BD3A-1903DE31C26B.jpeg

Insert your favourite MacGyver quote here.

Sort:  

"Well, when it comes down to me against a situation, I don't like the situation to win." - MacGyver

Truth.

That is a good one, what ever the situation might be you gotta stay on top of it.

Sometimes it's as easy as just seeing, acknowledging, the situation rather than proceeding blindly, but for sure being prepared and willing/able to act is preferable than not. 😊

Very nice! Your god daughter will LOVE this!

I do hope so, she is apparently as picky as me about how clothes feel so of it’s itchy or too tight or anything like that, she won’t be happy.

"A paperclip can be a wonderful thing" - MacGuyver

I definitely think that this quotes fits the occasion.

Why yes that is very suitable and would have worked for this, I even got a confirmation from a fellow knitter that she has used a paperclip for this exact purpose.

sometimes I have had to improvise and make some knitting tools because there are not many shops here 😅
the sweater is looking great

Here knitting is such a huge thing that almost every grocery store, even the small ones, has the basic knitting tools but of course you can’t just always go buy more 😅

I love this type of fabric, I have several garments with this fabric and they are my favorites. Your fabrics are very beautiful and the colors you use make them more vibrant.