Learning New Sewing Stuff

in NeedleWorkMonday2 years ago (edited)

This past week was my first complete week working mornings at a small manufacturing operation. It's a family business that makes accessories for wheelchairs, e.g. belts, harnesses, trays. I am in the sewing department, of course, and have learned to use some cool new machines such as:

  1. Industrial walking foot machine (a walking foot helps feed thick fabrics under the needle)
  2. Binder machine (feeds binding under the needle so it wraps around the edge of an item perfectly just as it passes under the needle) and
  3. Bar tack machine (set up to rapidly stitch forward and backwards several times, perfectly straight.)

While our trusty home machines are wonderful for household sewing or apparel sewing on a small scale, it is fun to be in a place where each machine is set up to do a single thing--and do it fast! Learning the new machines was a bit like switching from a car with an automatic transmission to a standard transmission. Some machines have a pedal that raises the presser foot if you press on the back part of the pedal (and cuts the bobbin thread if you push back even harder.) Unlike the industrial machines at the bridal shop, there is no knee pedal. I am gradually learning new motions that will become automatic with practice.

While I used to come home from the bridal shop with white fuzzies all over my clothes, I now have bits of black thread everywhere. Most of my work is done with black webbing (like backpack straps) and neoprene. It is so fun to still be learning new things after more than 50 years of sewing!

I'd love to hear from you all. What new sewing skills are you learning? What would you like to try next?

Sort:  

Good for you! I need to spend more time making clothes. I do like to wear aprons, so I might try a bunch of patterns to see which I like best.

Aprons are fun to sew. You can add pockets, ruffles, rick-rack, embroidery...and they are quick to make. !CTP

Exactly! And I have some friends I can make them for as gifts!

Ciao dear @fibrefrau! How fascinating, and I can imagine your joy at such a variety of machinery doing these perfect jobs: hehe - don't know if I ever sewed a straight line in my life, but I often try and fail!!!
I'm stumbling ahead with a few new directions: made my first wallet and love detailed fiddley work! I'll try to maje some underwear, as I've lots of nice fabrics, and am bored of cheap cotton knickers - it feels like an area that will be meaningful and open up my skills 💪🎨🙏🖌️ Enjoy your work and hapoy Sunday to you.

Sewing underwear is surprisingly easy after you spend some time practicing on scraps of stretchy fabric. Once you learn just how to hold the fabric to get the right amount of control and stretch, underwear is quick and so comfortable. !CTP

Keep up the good needle work. I'm not learning anything right now, but my wife has to patch up bits and pieces quite often.

!BEER

Thanks for the beer. !CTP !ALIVE


Hey @mypathtofire, here is a little bit of BEER from @fiberfrau for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

It is always good to learn new skills and new ways to do things.

Nice post, Kimberly.
!CTP


Hey @beststart, here is a little bit of BEER from @fiberfrau for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

!HBIT

Success! You mined 1.0 HBIT on Wusang: Isle of Blaq. Sorry, but you didn't find a bonus treasure token today. Try again tomorrow...they're out there! | tools | wallet | discord | community | daily <><

Check for bonus treasure tokens by entering your username at an H-E explorer or take a look at your wallet.

Read about Hivebits (HBIT) or read the story of Wusang: Isle of Blaq.

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @fiberfrau.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more