Sock Fashion Show

in NeedleWorkMonday3 years ago (edited)

This week has been all about socks for me. They are a much better hot weather project than a blanket! First, the finished green lace socks, complete with ribbon garters, done in sockweight merino wool:

greensockribbon.jpg

Next comes progress on my colorful fishnet stockings in sockweight acrylic, with the photo from the pattern I'm using.

sitiosockprogress.jpg

And finally, my trachtensocken/kilt hose hybrid socks I'm designing as I go in sport weight acrylic:

cuffdown.jpg

Here is how they look with the cuff turned up to show the garter portion (1x1 rib) and the back of the leg with decreases to shape the calf.

cuffup.jpg

And finally a close-up of the decreases, made to coordinate with the pattern stitch I used for the cuff. It is hard to see with the white on white:

hoseseam.jpg

I am aiming to get heels done by next week. Short row heels for the fishnets and Dutch heels for the white socks.
Stay tuned, NeedleworkMonday fans!

Properly hand knit socks put the store bought ones to shame when it comes to comfort and durability.

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

I love the green socks with the ribbon, this is so lovely ☺️ And you are really prolific with the sock knitting (shame on me, my husband is still waiting for the second soccer sock :-DD)

Thank you. I got to the heel of one of my white socks yesterday. The way I finish socks in pairs is to have both socks on needles at once. I own lots of sock needles. This way when I finish the first sock, the second is already started. Works for me.

Shop bought socks get holes in after a few months, I have some handknitted socks that are coming up to their 6th birthday and still as thick and comfy as they were when they were fresh off my needles. :)

That is the truth! !BBH

Because this is such an awesome post, here is a BBH Tip for you. . Keep up the fantastic work

you have so much imagination with knitting socks! it's just amazing! I really like both green and white socks, and I can't choose which one I like better 😀

Love the fishnet stockings - lovely colour and lovely pattern. How is the cuff finished?

The pattern calls for an inch of k1p1 ribbing for the top band, but I might add eyelets so I can insert garters like those in my green lace socks.

Ah yes, I wondered about garters - good idea!


Hey @shanibeer, here is a little bit of BEER from @fiberfrau for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Nice designs. Ideal for cold climates. Your stitches are very neat. Beautiful work.

Thank you! I have been knitting for about 45 years, so my stitches are pretty consistent. It was not always, so, however.

wow 45 years knitting, you are a master! I only have been knitting for about 7 years. I an learning every day.

There is always more to learn in knitting. That keeps it fresh and interesting.

I am in love with all!😍 the yarn, the colors the stitches... all... awesome!
Thank you for share!


Hey @tahiaarq, here is a little bit of BEER from @fiberfrau for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.