Crochet a lovely bookmark at home!

in NeedleWorkMonday2 years ago

Hi Hiveians! Today I would like to show you a new beautiful bookmark I made. I love to read, now I'm reading a book called "Fangirl" by Rainbow Rowell. I usually don't read multiple books at the same time because sometimes I get confused about what was said and what happened in which book. In this post, I'm going to talk and show you my new bookmark! :-D

Materials needed:

  • Normal yarn with the color of your choice

  • 3.50mm crochet hook

  • A pair of scissors

  • A sewing needle

  • A piece of cardboard or a mini box, or anything you can find about 8cm wide, to make the tassel

  • Four straight pins and..

  • Love!

If you already have a tassel, you can use that for your bookmark and you wont need the piece of cardboard I mentioned earlier. I used the cardboard because it's easier to make your own tassel with it. :)

20220815_110535.jpg

The Fangirl book is very interesting. The original book is written in English, but I read the one in Spanish so I can practice my Spanish a little more. For me it's a lot easier to learn languages by seeing the words and reading it like in a book. Have you ever read this book? If yes, do you like it? I'm happy to read your opinions in the comments below. :)

First, I crocheted the bookmark before I added the tassel. Yesterday, I was at the beach on a beautiful Sunday and when we came there, there was a tassel sitting on our table that someone had lost there. I don't know why there was a single tassle just sitting there but I didn't know that I'd need it today lol. My homemade tassel still turned out great though. 😁

20220815_113026.jpg

The photo above was taken by my papa while I was crocheting my project. Sorry if it's a bit blurry, maybe because he took it after his morning coffee haha. 😉

20220815_115923.jpg

The whole project took me about 15-20 minutes. When I was done crocheting the bookmark without the tassel, was the first time I've ever used the sewing needle so my mama gave me a little advice on that. I used it to tuck the remaining yarn into the back of the project. I was very careful since it was my first time. I thought it would be good to get better at it because I'm sure I'd do this more often in crochet. :-)

Time to add the tassel! 😀

20220815_122322.jpg

Here I took a leftover of cardboard and wrapped the yarn around it seven times until I tied a double knot to seal it. Then, I cut the yarn on the bottom so they are all single strands hanging out of the tassel, not a bunch of loops. After that, I trimmed the ends of the strands so they are even and slightly burned the ends. I asked my parents to help me with that part because I'm not allowed to use the lighter yet. 😅


Then I attached the tassel to the bookmark. When I did that, I noticed that the bookmark wasn't very straight the way I wanted it, so I used the straight pins to stretch it on the table. Then, I went to the sink to make my hands wet and make my bookmark slightly wet too. You can also use a spray bottle but I didn't have that. I put water on it so it forms easier so the straight pins can stretch it out making the bookmark straighter.

When it was dry, I put it in my book to test it out and now it's done!

Here are the results!

20220815_134855.jpg


20220815_134016.jpg

Thank you for viewing my post, I hope you enjoyed it and enjoy the rest of your day! :-D

needleworkmonday.jpeg

hr.png

Please like, share and comment below, let's make this world a better place! 😄😄😄

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

I really like that silver wool, it's very beautiful. And it's good that you learn languages ​​directly by reading from it, that sounds complicated but it is a more realistic way to learn.

Good for you and your new bookmark. It's great that you are improving your projects :)

Thank you @lauramica! I live in Mexico, so I should know a little Spanish hehe. Reading it in a book is very helpful, especially learning extra words that you don't learn in a class. Such as slang and other things. I mean, learning slang is not very important for me, but I'd still like to know what the person is saying if I hear someone talking like that. 😁

Thank you so much for your kind words. I truly enjoy doing this sort of thing and showing it to Hive.
Have a nice day! 😀 ~

😉👍 looks great! that book looks good too. again, the shiny bling yarn wins!! :P

Hehe, I like that shiny yarn too. The bling bling will always stay in style. Thank you for your kind words. 🤙😁

Congratulations @jadeaca! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 4750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Level up your NFTs and continue supporting the victims of war
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!