Trying out different types of yarn to make the same Macrame project. Which one is the best for Macrame?

in NeedleWorkMonday2 years ago

Hi Hiveians! Yesterday I tested out many different types of yarn to make the same Macrame project. The technique I'm using, was supposed to look like a DNA pattern. You can use it as a keychain, a bracelet, or you can even attach it to a zipper, for example: a backpack, a pencil case, or a jacket so it's easier to open the zipper.

Today I am trying to make them with a normal string, a thinner type of red string, wool, gift wrapping ribbon and a thin type of twine rope.
In the image below, you can tell the DNA pattern. This string was the best for this project. I'll give it the 1st place. :)

20220801_125658.jpg

My mama made the one for the 2nd place, for that one, she also used the same yarn in the image above, with a different and thinner type of red string. The DNA pattern isn't very noticeable, but it still turned out nice. To me, it also has a little Christmas vibe in it.. in August haha. What do you think? 😄

20220801_125913.jpg

My mama and I made the 3rd place together. Because I needed a little teamwork and girl power. 😊 For this one, we used gift wrapping ribbon, yes, that ribbon you use to wrap gifts for birthday parties. It wasn't the best, but I liked the bling bling it added. When the sun shined on it, it would look super shiny and sparkly. 😁

20220801_125324.jpg

This is the 4th place, in this one, I also needed a little girl power from my mama to make it. We made it out of twine rope. Here you can see the DNA pattern a little better. Though it was a little too big for a keychain or a zipper and it wasn't very comfortable to wear as a bracelet. My mama suggested it could be a handle for a handbag and my papa suggested it could be a tassle. What do you think we could make out of it? 😀

20220801_130610.jpg

The 5th place was one made out of wool. I often use this type of wool to do crochet, but for this project it wasn't the best. I tried about 3 times to make Macrame keychains with this wool, but with it, it is usually hard to see the knots and patterns you're trying to make.

20220801_130243.jpg

To make all of these, it took us about an hour, but it was a lot of fun and now I know what to use and I have a little more experience to make more. I learned this new technique just yesterday and I always learn more by tweaking and messing around with it. Like my papa always says: "Learning by doing!"

Thanks to my mama for helping me out because it was a lot of fun. My mama said that we try the different strings with this technique because it was pretty, but I told her that we did the DNA technique because my mama has the DNA of the best mama ever! 😊

Thank you for viewing my post, I hope you enjoyed it and enjoy the rest of your day!

4HFqJv9qRjVeVQzX3gvDHytNF793bg88B7fESPieLQ8dxJ4wFsG4h87wPThsAYPWQQG5Mp6ohvcJnAdTCW2XmJpX4hedRgyD8hk1EVH7AskWH6VKLkF95MiWEhst4efBoDyw2HvGpq6sGPhF1KSWtLPqNbBuAkiBfX4.jpeg

hr.png

Please like, share and comment below, let's make this world a better place! 😄😄😄

Sort:  

Nice! 😊 I like the bling one! :P

that's cool.. u say hiveans.. i always say hivers.. 😎🤙

Haha, very similar. I like the bling bling one too hehe. It looks very nice as a bracelet. I really like the gold color because it reminded me of New Years. 😁
Thank you! 😀

😊😉🎇🎆🌈