Applique Experiment

in NeedleWorkMonday4 years ago

I have been working on my embroidery machine for a while now. While looking for some paper to write on, I came across the instruction booklet for my Brother Project Runway sewing machine. I found instructions for doing applique, overstitching, and darning among other things. I decided to try my luck at making an applique just by using the zigzag stitch. It took me a few tries to come up with a satin stitch for the outline that closely approximated the look that I wanted.

CC187CA7CC4F4B249EE91E31A9895972.jpeg

I started off by cutting out a J using a stencil that I had available. I then stitched it down to a piece of scrap denim. My first few stitches were way too narrow and spaced too far apart.

D7002CC71C124911B4CC6D43C2688157.jpeg

I kept adjusting the stitch length and the stitch width until I came up with a suitable satin stitch that looked close to what my embroidery machine would produce.

BA22F875E1FD40A9847A43B61BF1880C.jpeg

I discovered that my Brother machine is a viable option for producing a nice looking applique. All of these options require some practice as well as experimentation, but I learned a few things from my experiment.

7AFE91C75CAB49228F5800CA640A9AAB.jpeg

You don't have to own an expensive machine to duplicate the same look. If you practice with a regular sewing machine until you master the appropriate stitch lengths and widths, you can produce the similar if not the same results.

3D9936AFE4C54613A3F59743B7F348C4.jpeg

I'm learning to maximize the equipment that I already own so that I can utilize them to their full potential. Sometimes, it is not the equipment, but rather the user. You don't have to look that closely to see that my stitches are not lined up very well on some of the sides. It is important to use the stitching line as a guide for one side of the zigzag stitch. If I had line up my zig zag stitch with the stitching line, then I would have gotten a better result. The best look is on the right hand side of the J where you cannot see the straight stitched line. I still need more practice, but this is a good start. I have plenty of fabric scraps and miles of thread to work with before I finish my experiment.

Enjoy your day.

signature.jpg

Sort:  

Hello from a professional sewist :)
At first, I want to congratulate you that you move on despite the obstacles that found in your way.
Your Brother Project Runway machine is a great choice to start.
I started years ago with my Brother CS6000i and one of my first tries was the following image hive comment.jpg

That time, I was a teacher in a small island and I didnt have many materials and I used upcycled clothing (socks, and t-shirt). If you observe, I had some difficulties at the edges!
Keep on trying and experimenting!!
@puellacreativa

That looks great! Especially, the heart which is not easy to go around because of it's irregular shape.

Congratulations @jluvs2fly! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 49000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing the HiveBuzz API for applications and websites
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!