Finding Solutions for My Singer XL100 Sewing Machine

in NeedleWorkMonday4 years ago

I have been really enjoying using my Singer Quantum XL 100 to personalize gifts with embroidery. My greatest challenge has been the lack of designs for my machine because it was made in 1994. Embroidery cards are rare and there are no new designs available.

38C68596D5C942A083683A6662E9A0D9.jpeg

That's what I thought. After a lot of research online, I kept seeing various people claiming to sell over one hundred thousand designs that were compatible with my machine. My machine does not have a USB port so I couldn't figure out how I would get the designs into my machine.

I kept reading about a product called the Amazing Box which could convert embroidery designs from one sewing machine format to another one. I spoke to one of my sons about it because I wondered if my embroidery card was just a compact flash card. As it turns out, it is. I counted the holes on my embroidery card and there are 40 holes. I have a compact flash card reader that I purchased for my camera. It actually came with several different formats. SD, micro SD and Compact flash.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/160-000-Singer-embroidery-pattern-design-files-XXX-on-USB-drive/254419099403?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649

I found a vendor on Ebay that was selling 160,000 designs that are formatted for my Singer xl100. The designs are sold on a USB stick. I just have to figure out how to transfer the designs to a re-writable 40 pin compact flash card so that my sewing machine can read it.

75F056B4FF2649499C163C3CA42209D0.jpeg

The stick is supposed to be delivered by July 31, since it is coming from the UK. If this works, then I will have successfully updated my old embroidery machine to a place that is competitive with the latest models. My machine works very well and has two available hoop sizes. The only downfall has been the lack of current designs.

I am so excited about the possibilities that will be available to me. I had actually pre-ordered a Brother PE 800 embroidery machine which was $700.00. I cancelled my order yesterday after receiving an email from the store saying that the machines were further delayed for another 6-8 weeks. I had decided that I would just work with the limited designs that I had available on my current machine and be satisfied.

I kept thinking to myself that the sewing machine is just an outdated computer. Surely, there are still some people in the world using old technology that still works. My machine was made in Japan originally and it was well made.

I hope that everything works out. If so, I will be posting a whold lot of sewing and embroidery projects in the future.

Enjoy your day.

signature.jpg

Sort:  

Hello, I came across your post as I too am looking for a way to add embroidery designs to the Singer XL 1000. Did your solution work??
Thanks