Making a Mess

in NeedleWorkMonday4 years ago

I made a mess by trying to embroider a design on a heavy duty T-shirt. I made several mistakes during the process. I used a ballpoint needle in my machine which is recommended for T-shirt knit.

3FEE8FE9AD99474EA69F77112B5A3509.jpeg

I also used cut-away stabilizer which is also the recommendation to supply more stability to the fabric.

7A93063AE6244B56B3B62DF79F027D1C.jpeg

My design was not looking good and I could tell that the bobbin thread was coming up to the surface. This usually indicates that the bobbin needs to be re-threaded because the tension is off. I was using white bobbin thread and the initial thread on top was an off-white or beige looking color. Instead of stopping the machine, I let it continue which was a mistake. I received a warning sign from the machine that said an error had been made and that the machine was stopped for safety.

FE8CFC59059C4A39804180C08FF3CAD1.jpeg

I could not even remove the shirt, needle, nor the hoop from the machine. I had to use a razor blade to cut the birds-nest of thread that was caught beneath the shirt. I had to also take a loose the needle plate to remove all of the thread that was bogged down into the machine where it could not be reached on the surface.

I thought that I had done permanent damage to my new embroidery machine. I was very careful as I disassembled the needle plate, the needle, and the wad of thread in the machine.

I will never do that again. When I can see that something is wrong with the process, I will stop the machine in the future to take care of the problem.

It was a total mess and the shirt looks crazy. Oh well, I am still learning and this was definitely a learning experience.
I will try to embroider something on the back of the shirt just to test out another design. I can always wear it around the house.

Enjoy your day.

17D0DFB6A6DB4789BBED7621750BC48B.jpeg

Sort:  

Great work! Your post was selected for curation by one of @curangel's dedicated curators for its contribution to quality!

...unfortunately, it had to be excluded from curation because of the use of a service (reward.app) to liquify rewards.Our upvotes are reserved for content which is created with a commitment to long term growth and decentralization of Hive Power.

This exclusion only applies to this and eventually other future liquified posts and not all your publications in general.

Take care and hive five!

Thank you for letting me know. I still appreciate the consideration.

Congratulations @jluvs2fly! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 53000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 54000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Introducing the Power Up Helper!
Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!